We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South East Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South East Asia Hotel
Ranked #247 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

En route to Thailand, once again, we stayed for one night in the SEA hotel.
For us that have used this hotel four or five times in the past, SEA has been always the right choice due to its location in Bugis (5 minutes walking from MTR station), one of Singapore's most exciting neighbourhoods.
For Singapore standards the hotel's price is fairly cheap, although for the same money you could stay in a 4 stars hotel in Thailand...
The rooms are simple but spacious and clean and the breakfast, since you like the Chinese option, is acceptable...
In short, you pay what you get and certainly we will stay there on our next trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    78
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
64
57
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Budaors, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The location is perfect, 1 minute walk the taxistand and 300-400 m is the Bugis metrostation. The chinese vegetarian breakfast is better choice than the continental breakfast. The room was o.k., just it looks a little bit old. The staff at reception was helpful. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Márton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, PH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's our first time as a family to visit Singapore. We were looking for good accommodations but the really good ones are expensive. I came across South East Asia Hotel here in TripAdvisor. They are located in Bugis, where I stayed before when I was traveling solo, so I emailed them. They replied promptly.

The location is brilliant - 5mins to Bugis MRT, Bras Basah MRT and several bus stops. It's right in the middle of the city and really close to great shopping and eating locations like Bugis Street and Bugis Junction. Waterloo street is super charming in the day, very colorful. There are many flower stands because of the Chinese and Indian temples. The path is also shaded by trees, allowing for a nice morning walk. Farther down, you'll find the Singapore Art Museum. From there you can go anywhere in the city either by foot or bus or MRT.

The interior/lobby is simple and small. The lift can probably fit only 5 people but it's fast. The front desk people were pleasant, and unlike some of the reviews, we didn't meet anyone who was less than friendly.

We booked 2 rooms - 1 double and 1 twin. Both rooms were adequate, really clean and spacious enough for 2 people in each room. Both ACs worked fine. There was a TV and a water heater with coffee and tea in each room.

The bathrooms were small and basic but very clean. As for the heater, it takes a while to get the prefect temperature, but it becomes easier every time you use it. It was kind of weird, though, that there's no division between the toilet and the shower and that the sink in the double room was outside the bathroom. I also wished they had a hair dryer.

The rooms are cleaned EVERYDAY. Everyday, there were fresh, new and clean towels and the beds are always made up, the carpets cleaned. Every night, the bathroom floors are dry and clean, which is a plus for me as I hate wet bathroom floors. Kudos to the staff!

The rooms are secure and our things stayed safe inside.

The rates include either continental or buffet vegetarian breakfast. We called the veggie breakfast "the magic breakfast" since we noticed that we stayed full until 2pm. It tasted good, too.

Great value for your money! You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Twin rooms have bigger bathrooms. Choose the buffet vegetarian breakfast, you won't be hungry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Princess_Kat_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

a budget friendly hotel in the posh island state. Nice communication during the booking. They did not even required us to pay for room deposits. Just call them at the airport when you arrive and everything is ok.

Rooms are clean and maintained i guess. Breakfast was not that good. Internet rate was expensive though

Room Tip: Do not break anything from coffee cup to anything else. They will charge you triple the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simply_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed with my wife for 3 nights at this place. Rooms were clean, shower with hot and cold was also available. Free tea and coffee also in the room. Breakfast was vegetarian but food was okay. Hotel operates on a cash basis. Front desk staff were helpful and when you send them emails, they respond in a timely manner - unlike other hotels. No wifi but location of this hotel is really good. There's a hawker place nearby and also near to Bugis station.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo_Rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a budget hotel with a business feel. The rooms have air con, hot water, comfy beds and tea and coffee making facilities. Decent breakfast and nice location. Stay here, not Waterloo Hostel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Everything that's great about this hotel has been mentioned already — location is tops on the list being a stone's throw away from a large Hawker center, 2 blocks away from the famed Bugis Junction and just a few walks away from the MRT. The free breakfast also beats the complimentary meals provided by competing shacks. The rooms have a very strange number pattern but are generally clean and well-stocked in amenities with the exception of one room that has a gigantic splotch on its wall reminiscent of a victim by a point blank shotgun blast. Sad to say there is no wi-fi in this place and you will have to stock up on a lot of $1 coins should you wish to use their coin-operated 15-minute (yes, 15 minutes for $1!) kiosks at the lobby. The front desk attendants were typically pleasing — particularly the 20-something girl who works the mid shift who was very accommodating and giving us helpful tips and the middle-aged man on the late night shift who was also nice and answered all of our questions as affably as he can. The worst was the old lady who can be best described as a cross between Miss Minchin and Leona Helmsley with a bad case of PMS and diarrhea — she spoke unintelligible angry English and was just hysterical, aggressive and disrespectful to her guests. I would say that she's the primary reason why our rating for this hotel went down several places. But all in all a great hotel for those who prefer to stay away from hostels and want a convenient location.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 906 (iirc) which has the gigantic stain on the wall, bring a laptop with an ethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Summer View Hotel
#109 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#162 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Downtown Core
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#207 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South East Asia Hotel

Property: South East Asia Hotel
Address: 190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
South East Asia Singapore
Hotel South East Asia
South East Asia Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing