We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Ranked #130 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We love this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just arrived from Malaysia to Singapore and go directly to Fragrance Hotel Emerald. We booked for an overnight for 2 rooms and we were upgraded to Deluxe Room. When we reached our room, it was nice big and with complete amenities. I never expected that this hotel was very nice. My parents loves it too...highly recommended...definitely, we will check in again.,.no negative feedback...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Josh_Yzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    385
    321
    76
    42
See reviews for
136
187
82
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is good for its price. Very small rooms, not much space for bags around the bed. The room is clean and the bathroom is fresh.

This hotel fits anyone on a tight budget wanting to experience the city. Me and my wife took a cab each day to different parts of the city (cabs are incredibly cheap in Singapore). It's about a 10 minute walk to the subway.

During the evenings/nights we saw some girl-escorts a block away.

Room Tip: No restaurant and no swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

One word 'dump ' clean enough but rooms are so small and as for the bed, well the floor would be more comfortable. For a pricy 90 quid a night i would stay away. It us in the red light area but not a problem, only a 10 min walk to Kallang Mrt is a major plus and cheaper than taxis

Helpful?
1 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent one week staying here. Was on a tight budget so was looking for a budget hotel. It fitted the bill perfectly for what we paid and expected. The room was very small with not much room for bags on the floor around the bed. The room and bathroom were clean. Yes, there was no breakfast or any other facilities offered other than the room. The hotel was quiet and we slept well. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful with their directions and recommendations. We travelled using the bus mostly into the city centre area as this was a few minutes down the road and used the MRT which is further away 10 minutes approx only if going further such as to the Night Safari etc. The bus was regular and efficient as was everything in Singapore. I didnt realise before booking this was in the red light area. It was also not obvious to me immediately either. I only realised after many days when I saw a few ladies hanging around. It is not overtly in your face at all so don't let that put you off and I always felt very safe walking around at night. I would stay again if on a budget visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in August and found it to be very good value compared to other hotels in Singapore which were more expensive! It is by no means an amazing hotel if youre planning a two week holiday but is a perfect base from which to travel in to explore the city for a good price and get a good nights sleep. The rooms were very clean and modern and I must say that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amywebs185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hi,
The hotel is located in Geylang Singapore. I usually go to Bugis area, but for once decided to change to see a different side of the country/city .

Kallang MRT station is about 13 minutes walk from the hotel, so if you need to get from there with your small children and bags, please take a taxi as it is tiring for kids.

In this part of the city you get more blue collars around, many foreigners but it is a safe place to walk, so nothing to worry about. There is plenty of various type of food which is ok. There are also many convenience stores at less than five minutes walk from the hotel.
I have heard about the place being a red lights district, but really you do no see much but can tell that they do not advertize or force people, there are a few of them around but would not bother you unless you show interest I guess.

As for the hotel itself, just think of it as a place to return back to take a shower and sleep. There is NO fridge, NO safe, NO FREE internet on the rooms (you can take your own device and browse at the lobby), using their computers for browsing is not free as well.

You need to fight for the iron as they are limited and must pay SGD10.00 for the load which is refundable upon return.

The surroundings of the hotel are quiet at night, however during my last night there where a couple of people who came back late at night and were speaking very loud then left very early in the morning with the same loud sounds.... so it depends on who is your neighbor really.

The bus stop would be a much better choice then the MRT if you stay there. I have been taking bus#2 to go to Bugis to have my coffee there (the nearest Starbucks according to my GPS is about 1 km distance form the hotel). It takes about 15 minutes or less to reach. You can also take bus#80 if you would like to go to Santosa island or Marina Bay.

Room is too basic, I would go to this hotel as a last option.

Overall I am giving it one star as all hotels who do not provide free internet in the rooms should not operate really.

I hope this would help.
Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Emerald, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us!

For your information, we are currently running a promotional offer and you will enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi acesss if you book your hotel room through our own hotel website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's a small room but enough for my size. They attended to my requests like room with window and 2 single beds. The bed sheets making noise enough to wake up light sleepers. They have complimentary bottled water, coffee and tea every morning with electric kettle. They have makeup table with hair dryer. Bring your adaptors. Toilet has no bidet and exhaust fan. In a very small room, exhaust fan is very needed. No closet but has hangers. They clean the room every day as per your request. Staff generally nice and you can ask for mrt/lrt map and tour packages. Seems old hotel but cleanliness wise it's good. Elevator working, premises smell nice and clean. It's in Geylang area, a red light district so be sure not to get back hotel so late. I didnt find the area a threat lol but just an advise especially if u r a woman travelling alone. Maybe not ideal place for kids too. But if you're in a budget, this is a good option. Vendo outside hotel not working. No breakfast being served, they don't have restaurant. Nearest MRT is Kallang station about 7-10mins walking. Many convenience stores and restaurant nearby. There are many buses and taxis passing by. Singapore is a nice country and people learning English. Enjoy discovering Singapura, a small country that has a lot to offer especially to kids and young at heart people. :) It's true, it's a fine city! Double-meaning! :)

Room Tip: You can ask them to place you in a room with window. Ours on 5th floor, not noisy area but toilet ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rizarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#111 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#143 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#148 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#175 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#136 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#151 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Address: 20 Lorong 6 Geylang, Singapore 399174, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Emerald 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Emerald Singapore
Fragrance Emerald Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing