We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleeping and eating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Ranked #129 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“sleeping and eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

stay here with my family in the heart of singapore 'red-light district' for 3 nites.
you may forget about the red district and enjoy culinary adventure.
surrounding by plenty restaurant (china, indian, malay, western food) so this will be perfect location for gain some weights.
kallang MRT station around 500-600m, but bus stop just nearby hotel.
hotel staff very helpfull. at the busy / peak time they always prepare 2 staffs (1 indian + 1 chinese) so they will be able to communicate with india, china, malay and english speaking guests.

Room Tip: higher floor will be better, hotel occupation always high what you pay is what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okie_baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    394
    324
    76
    42
See reviews for
139
193
83
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was one of the only hotels we could afford in Singapore, so we didn't have high expectations. However when we arrived with heavy luggages no-one offered to help us so we had to find a trolley by ourselves and drag the luggage to our room. The whole hotel was full so we got upgraded to a better room, but I have no idea how bad the original room was since our upgraded room was really not that good. The worst thing was that the room was really smelly and you couldn't open the windows so the air was extremely stuffy. Someone who had stayed in the room before had used strong after shave and the smell didn't go away, and when we told the staff about it they came to spray the whole room with air freshner which didn't help at all. The internet was really slow and didn't work at all. The only good thing about this place was the location which was close to the airport and the area has lots of shops and good restaurants. Also metro is only 15 min walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled to Singapore many times for business, but since this was a personal trip, I thought I'd try some budget hotel for 3 nights in late June.
Though the area is considered the red light district, it looked like any other older residential area of town (the orchard hotel down the street of the Shangri La was more red light compared to this place). So walking back to the hotel at 11pm was not scary at all.
The staff are responsive to questions and requests, but don't expect big smiles and happy greetings from them... They are all business.
The room is a little bigger than the size of the bed and along the wall at the other side of room is a bench to put luggage and stuff on. There is no in room safe, so be prepared to not leave valuables behind. There is no enclosed closet, but 2 hangers are available.
The TV stations... Well, don't expect much, for English, there is one movie channel (not hbo), one news channel, and 2 sports channel, and a few english programs sprinkled among the chinese programs on some other channels, and after midnight, there are only 4 channels left and only the news channel is in English. So be prepared to bring your own movies if you need to. I think there may be some false advertisement (or at the very best, misleading) if they claim to have cable.

Cleanliness, well, the bed sheets were clean, but they have issues cleaning my bathroom. When I first got to my room, there were an assortment of hairs around the sink area (I wiped it down with the Wet Ones wipes to kill 99.9% of the germs) and hair on floor (the shower is not an enclosed shower so the draining water would fill the bathroom floor, where the hairs would be left). It seems like they don't clean the bathroom floor since the few indicator-hairs did not move from day to day.

Oh, the hot water. Well, some of us spoiled by the American suburban living did not know that we needed to flip the switch next to the red light to turn on the water heater. So after a morning of cool water shower, I had hot water BUT that hot water only lasted for 3minutes of the shower (this may be a combination that my shower head was gushing water from the sides and not making it out the shower nozzles, so if there is a limited amount of hot water we get to have, it got used up quickly). I wish there was labeling for some of us who are hesitant to flip the switch next to a red light.

I did not use the Internet service so no comments about that.

Anyways, the place is ok as long as you know what you are getting upfront. It is adequate for a place to sleep and to get clean, but since I spend most of my time Not In The Room, it is ok. I had expected more since this was not the cheapest Fragrance hotels.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A good hotel in an area that opened ones eyes, although did not in any way detract from our visit. The hotel was good and very close to the MRT and exceptional eating experiences within easy walking distance from the hotel. Very good staff especially Francis who helped us out when we arrived late in the evening and a "day early" for our booking. Lots of things to see and do in Singapore although somewhat expensive, it's a place not to miss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brothers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotels is situated in Geylang and in this area there is an abundance of hotels all with a similar rates and reviews. It is for this reason that I expected a little bit more for value than we actually received. With so much competition I expected an excellent level of customer service as this would have been one of the prime distinguishers between the hotels.

What we actually received was dissapointment after dissapointment. Firstly with regards to the staff. They were just simply not helpful! They wern't rude however when you asked them for help they were somewhat demeening and condescending. They assumed that you knew where everything was and were not prepared to give you any time on helping you get to places. They just simply couldn't be bothered.

The room we were in was advertised as superior. This room was anything but superior. It was more like a shoe box. The bed wasn't much bigger than a single and it barely fitted in the room. The bed was rock hard and the best way to describe the sheets would be the horrible cotton kind you get in a hospital. Not very pleasant at all. Room service was done everyday however they refused to clean the mugs in the room. Satellite TV was advertised however we must have had about 4 working channels.

Internet was charged at $5 for 2 hours, $10 for 10 hours and $18 for 24 hours. I would have to say tho if you stay here don't bother with it. The paid internet is completely rubbish and continually dropped out when we purchased it.

The location of the hotel is a 15 minute walk from an MRT station and then 3/4 stops into the city centre. We were generally happy with the location and walking in both light and dark was ok. The area of Geylang was very busy and I have seen previous reviews and reports saying it is a bit dodgy. We found it completely fine and a real insight into local Singapore cultures! We loved our stay in Singapore however the hotel just about scraped a 2 out of 5. If your are staying in the Geylang area, don't bother with this hotel, the area has many more of similar price and I don't suspect you could do worse than this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGKOK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in that hotel. hotel is good value for money easy to get the MRT to go any where in Singapore.I took this hotel online SGD 70 per night.Room service was good.but the area is little bit
!!!!! after 7pm for family stay.

Room Tip: nice view on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dptailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for five days in this hotel. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. They even help you plan your tours. The corridors smells very fragrant the name of the hotel is very fit for it. Hotel is in red light district. But it was okay. No noise during the day and night. This hotel is near mrt station. If you are in for food adventure there are many restaurants that sell cheap but delicious food just around the corner. however, this hotel is far from the center of the city. nearest shopping mall is bugis junction.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is good. it has tv, water heater, air condition, mugs and coffee, changes tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilliesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#116 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#137 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#143 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#145 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#128 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
#184 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Address: 20 Lorong 6 Geylang, Singapore 399174, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Emerald 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Emerald Singapore
Fragrance Emerald Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing