We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Ranked #146 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money it is”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights beginning of this month..and found it exactly as we expected for the price we paid. We paid quite a reasonable price of approx$55usd per nyt and it was a good value. Only thing is the location is a bit out n away frm the nearest mrt and it's a good 5-10 min walk. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Although we heard alot of bad things about the geyleng area being a red light area we did find e few fishy n cheeky activities happening only in the evening hours.. But nothing that actually affected our stay.! So we will reccomend this hotel to people looking for a good accomodation at a cheaper price :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivaniaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    399
    327
    77
    43
See reviews for
139
197
84
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed just one night as part of a longer trip. For £30 a night cant really be too critical. Most importantly room was clean. Twin room was small but not bad. For short stays that are not too expensive you would do well to find a better place. Is located fairly far from main tourist attractions but MRT is about 15min walk away so location isn't too much of an issue. Lots of good local food places nearby...we had the best food of our whole trip at one of the nearby local restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajHUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights with husband and 5 years old daughter. Arrived at hotel around 8.30 am and was able to leave luggage at the hotel's storage room (which is locked) before heading off to Universal Studios. No luck with early check-in.

The room was small, simple but clean. We were given room 203, near to the lift and facing the back alley. Although Geylang is known as the red light district, we didn’t see anything disturbing, even when we arrived at night. The room only had two pillows. Didn’t get an extra pillow after we requested for it cause the hotel didn’t have extra to spare. The room had hot water, a flat screen tv, aircond, electric cattle and the hotel provided basic toiletries. WIFI was available for $5 for 2 hours. They also provided two computers at the lobby for surfing, $1 for 15 mins. Convenience shops were nearby, on Geylang Road.

The location of the hotel was quite a distance from the Kallang MRT station but near two bus stops: 80071 SIMS AVE - YI XIU FTY BLDG and 80069 GEYLANG ROAD – OPP MOHD SALLEH MSQ. Instead of taking the MRT, we travelled by bus and it was a great experience, especially for kids because they are able to look out and see the city. We took bus 80 from Opps Mohd Salleh Msq bus stop to USS and Arab Street. If we took the MRT to go back to the hotel, we would stop at Kallang Stn, take bus 13 and stop at Sims Ave – Yi Xiu Fty Bldg. Then just walk about 5 minutes to reach hotel.

Overall, we were satisfied with our 3d2n stay except the extra pillow part. This hotel is definitely for those looking for a budget hotel to just sleep and freshen up before exploring the city again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WANhazira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Emerald, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I thank you for taking time to write a review of your hotel stay!

I see that you had provided detailed information such as the bus stop numbers to advise the travellers on getting to the USS by bus from the hotel. I also appreciate you for submitting your traveller photos of the room and premise. They looked great!

I am sorry that due to heavy ocupancy situation, you were not able to check in earlier than the intended check in time (3pm). All our extra pillows had also been given out in view of this high occupancy.

I am glad that you had a satsifying stay at our hotel and I hoped to see you returning to stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I found stay at Hotel Fragrance, better than expected. I read Geyland is a red light area of Singapore, but I found nothing disturbing .The hotel is conveniently located,the staff is cooperative, rooms big enough. I reached early and they allowed me check in about 2 hrs earlier than the check in time The Hotel is a bit away from MRT but local bus service is efficient and all route buses are available just on the main road outside hotel. AC , hot & cold water and Wi Fi was avaible at the hotel. Overall a good stay and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Cheap budget motel, decent stay for 1 or 2 nights. Location not too bad, quite a walk to MRT station, and had to pass a frog restaurant with glass aquarium with live frogs. Quite gross. The place does have a dodgy red light district feel. Wifi was quite useless in the room, had to walk to the lift area. Overall ok for super-budget traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Located close to MRT stations. Staff is helpful and nice. 3person rooms was ok and very clean, as other parts of hotel. Wifi is only 2h and up and you cant save your time so you have to use it all at once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anssitanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked a room with a double bed and bathtub. On arrival we were shown to a room with two single beds and a shower only. After we complained we were given what we paid for. The hotel also advertised wireless in the room for $18 a day BUT this is only for one device! The connection was almost unusable as it was so slow. The hot water was luke warm, there were no tea bags and two tiny bottles of water. The place was clean but the dishonest advertising was upsetting. I had searched for hours to find the right place. We had a further booking which we cancelled.

Room Tip: You have to demand what you paid for or you will be given a second rate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#124 of 312 in Singapore
810 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#147 of 312 in Singapore
279 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#143 of 312 in Singapore
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#150 of 312 in Singapore
367 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#156 of 312 in Singapore
316 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#179 of 312 in Singapore
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Emerald

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Address: 20 Lorong 6 Geylang, Singapore 399174, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Emerald 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Emerald Singapore
Fragrance Emerald Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing