We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Fine for A Night or Two even for Sole Female Traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Ranked #121 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
424 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“It's Fine for A Night or Two even for Sole Female Traveller”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I alone stayed 2 nights here during weekend. Yes, this is in red light zone and there were many low-cut girls standing along the street and many other people at night (I checked in at 12:30 night). I was not that afraid as THIS IS SINGAPORE! what a safe and well disciplined country. No one bothered me when I walked to the Indian stall around the corner to take away some food back to my room. But I do agree that this hotel is more suitable for adult single/couple. Don't go there with kids.

Room small, acceptably clean, everything functional especially the air con is very efficient. Bathroom tiny. Shower area no curtains and water splashed over the toilet seat. No toothpaste but tooth brush, a shower cap and two towels, that's all for the toilet. There is a smell of sewage in the toilet. But that's not a big problem for me as I put down the toilet cover each time after use, and closed the toilet door before sleep. In the room there is hair dryer, mugs with instant coffee, kettle, two small bottles water. No wardrobe but a few hangers.

I slept very well and peacefully as I was so tired, though on the first night for a few times I had been awaken by some noise from guests outside my room. I am not too sure as I fell asleep again at the next second.

Location not that convenient, 7 min walk to nearest MTR station Aljunied. As many other places in Singapore, there are many food stalls around. Not quiet day and night.

Overall, it is still an acceptable choice for me. Good budget hotels are rare, if it exist at all, in Singapore!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    353
    250
    37
    29
See reviews for
126
306
146
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for 2 nights and cannot fault the hotel or staff. We had a double room with ensuite, which was small but did the job. The hotel was well equipt providing toothbrushes, slippers, fridge, water etc. The decor is lovely throughout and cleanliness was to a high standard.The only downfall was its location, just metres away from the hookers of the red light district. We felt a little unsafe at night and did not venture out. However all in all for the price the hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As an introduction this hotel is located at the red light district. I won't recommended to those families with children or your old folks. Pimp and prostitutes are just stone's throw away from the hotel entrance.
I'm staying in their Executive & Premier room located at level 8. My room has a smartTV, air condition, hot shower, hair dryer, free wifi service and mini fridge. The room and the toilet is small which is not unusual in this limited space country but still it is comfortable to move around (try imagine a 90kg Asian guy moving about in the small room without bumping into anything) and most important the bed sheet and pillows are clean and fresh. Is 10mins walk to nearest MRT station (Aljunied). Eateries is almost located in every corner of the place, 7-11 just round the corner and come night time, just open up your eyes and enjoy what Geylang had to offer beside foods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Fragrance Ruby Hotel is close to the MTR and the area has many restaurant options. The room was very small, but had most of the ammenties you expect. The shower was the open type with only a curtain so the whole floor gets wet, but it is a small space and they provide shower slippers. The front desk staff was courteous and prompt when I made a couple of requests regarding a light bulb change and a clean towel. Since this property is at least half of the cost of closer in-city hotels, I think it is a good value for those who don't need to be in the center of things. The "red-light" district atmosphere was noticeable but certainly not intimidating as it might be in other cities....this is Singapore after all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel hotel has to be considered as a good value for the price.

Ideally located in a popular area, close to a subway station, you can find hundreds of good restaurants around. As a popular area you can find some funny stuff: crazy shops, and prostitutes... )))) but the area is nothing but nasty... this is even rather pleasant !

About rooms, they are very tiny but comfortable !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Me and my friends have stayed just for 1 night. Check in was a bit slow ( could be because of 6 of us ). We have been upgraded to premium rooms without additional charge :) Rooms were only small,but we did not expect much for the money we paid. Beds were nice and comfy and bedding fresh and clean (MOST IMPORTANT!!!) Maybe re-decorating would be essential as there were patches on walls here and there. To be honest I've stayed in 3-4 star hotels which were not as nice as 1-2star Ruby. We did not find area as dodgy. Even walking around in the middle of the night did not make us feel unsafe. We did not feel hassled from others at all. Its only about 15 minutes away from city center by MRT. Last 1 from the city goes back to "Aljuned" (the 1 near to hotel) around 00.30 (weekends) otherwise 11.30. Hotel Ruby is very easy to reach from the airport. It only takes about 15 minutes by MRT. We all had a great experience and peaceful sleep. Will be back again if staying in Singapore in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a Budget hotel so don't expect the trimmings. It's conveniently located near MRT (and red light district if thats of interest). The room is small, in fact the bathroom is the size of my shower at home! The 'cupboard' is a coat hanger rack above the bed!! All I need is a bed in a clean room, that is easily accessible and that's what I got. It's not nearly as noisy as some hotels in the area since the passages are carpeted. Bonus there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#148 of 312 in Singapore
278 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#149 of 312 in Singapore
924 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 312 in Singapore
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#136 of 312 in Singapore
362 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 312 in Singapore
459 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#176 of 312 in Singapore
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Ruby

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Address: 10 Lorong 20, Singapore 398730, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#75 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Ruby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Ruby Singapore
Fragrance Ruby Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing