We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Chain View Hotel
Ranked #252 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 22, 2013

- Great location.
- Near fast foods
- Kind and polite staff.
- Very near Paya Lebar MRT Station and bus stop in front of the hotel.
- Needs improvement on the bathroom, moulds are everywhere.
- Furniture smells bad when you open the drawers

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pholet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Small room. Cleanliness level not really good, towels and bed linen had stains. The small bathtub was dirty and rusty. The carpets looks like it was never washed before. Noisy surrounding at night as there were a few pubs just opposite the road. Good thing was that there are many good eateries nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aceyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I could not stay at my preferred hotel, so stayed here planning to stay for a week or two. I usually only book one night if I don't know the hotel, and this strategy paid dividends. After looking at the digusting standard room for $60, I chose to stay in the deluxe room for $70. The room was much better and quite big with desks and chairs and a nice TV. However, I soon found out that the old window could not be closed which was a real problem because the room overlooked a busy and noisy 24hr restaurant on a main road. I managed to get about 2 hours sleep and left in the morning. Other problems were that the room smelt strongly of smoke and there was no complimentary water as there is with most hotels in Geylang. Also, no interenet and the"mini bar" was a dirty empty fridge. There are better hotels in Geylang for the same price.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank chimpunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I am a business traveller who looks for value, as the business i work in is my own. In Singapore the best value Hotels are those a stones throw from MRT stations that can get you into the CBD within minutes. One are I often stay in is Paya Lebar. This suburb is on the right end of the redlight fringe that stretches through Geylang.

This visit I could not get into the Gateway Hotel so looked for, and found, an acceptable alternative in The four Chain. I took a Suite room at Sing$80 which proved to be huge. I thinkthe Suite was a wise choice as it had three large windows and was spacious.

The pluses about this Hotel:
- less than 5 minutes walk to Paya Lebar MRT Station (with the Circle line opening in a week, will be even closer with a new MRT Station entrance)
- Big room
- Good facilites in room including Hari dryer, 50 inch flatscreen TV, DVD player, Cable News and Sports
- Fairly friendly Staff

Minuses:
- Can be loud, it is just on Geylang Road, traffic is heavy all night!
- No WIFI access (although it can be accessed from the cafes nearby)
- Hourly rates for smaller rooms- although Hotel is clean you cant blame them for offering this option to pay the bills. A Suite Room keeps you well away from the Hanky Pany on other floors!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JavaJiveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Call me spoilt but the image conjured up in my mind by the description 'boutique hotel' does not encompass cigarette burns in the bedroom carpet or a look of complete scorn on the receptionist's face when I enquire about laundry facilities. What do you think this is: a hotel? Take the iron and dodgy ironing board and think yourself lucky.

Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
4  Thank nicall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kibira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pilih kamar yang jendela berhadapan langsung dengan matahari
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smangantjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
BudgetOne Hotel
#242 of 319 in Singapore
8 reviews
Geylang
Home Suite View Hotel
Home Suite View Hotel
#288 of 319 in Singapore
22 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#193 of 319 in Singapore
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Amrise Hotel
Amrise Hotel
#291 of 319 in Singapore
216 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#209 of 319 in Singapore
149 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#279 of 319 in Singapore
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Chain View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Chain View Hotel

Address: 757 Geylang Road Lorong 39, Singapore 389659, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $48 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Chain View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Chain View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Chain Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing