We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap but decent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Chain View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Chain View Hotel
Ranked #207 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap but decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

- Great location.
- Near fast foods
- Kind and polite staff.
- Very near Paya Lebar MRT Station and bus stop in front of the hotel.
- Needs improvement on the bathroom, moulds are everywhere.
- Furniture smells bad when you open the drawers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pholet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
23
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Small room. Cleanliness level not really good, towels and bed linen had stains. The small bathtub was dirty and rusty. The carpets looks like it was never washed before. Noisy surrounding at night as there were a few pubs just opposite the road. Good thing was that there are many good eateries nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I could not stay at my preferred hotel, so stayed here planning to stay for a week or two. I usually only book one night if I don't know the hotel, and this strategy paid dividends. After looking at the digusting standard room for $60, I chose to stay in the deluxe room for $70. The room was much better and quite big with desks and chairs and a nice TV. However, I soon found out that the old window could not be closed which was a real problem because the room overlooked a busy and noisy 24hr restaurant on a main road. I managed to get about 2 hours sleep and left in the morning. Other problems were that the room smelt strongly of smoke and there was no complimentary water as there is with most hotels in Geylang. Also, no interenet and the"mini bar" was a dirty empty fridge. There are better hotels in Geylang for the same price.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank chimpunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

I am a business traveller who looks for value, as the business i work in is my own. In Singapore the best value Hotels are those a stones throw from MRT stations that can get you into the CBD within minutes. One are I often stay in is Paya Lebar. This suburb is on the right end of the redlight fringe that stretches through Geylang.

This visit I could not get into the Gateway Hotel so looked for, and found, an acceptable alternative in The four Chain. I took a Suite room at Sing$80 which proved to be huge. I thinkthe Suite was a wise choice as it had three large windows and was spacious.

The pluses about this Hotel:
- less than 5 minutes walk to Paya Lebar MRT Station (with the Circle line opening in a week, will be even closer with a new MRT Station entrance)
- Big room
- Good facilites in room including Hari dryer, 50 inch flatscreen TV, DVD player, Cable News and Sports
- Fairly friendly Staff

Minuses:
- Can be loud, it is just on Geylang Road, traffic is heavy all night!
- No WIFI access (although it can be accessed from the cafes nearby)
- Hourly rates for smaller rooms- although Hotel is clean you cant blame them for offering this option to pay the bills. A Suite Room keeps you well away from the Hanky Pany on other floors!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JavaJiveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Call me spoilt but the image conjured up in my mind by the description 'boutique hotel' does not encompass cigarette burns in the bedroom carpet or a look of complete scorn on the receptionist's face when I enquire about laundry facilities. What do you think this is: a hotel? Take the iron and dodgy ironing board and think yourself lucky.

Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank nicall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 34
Hotel 34
#183 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#159 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#178 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#130 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#173 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#257 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Chain View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Chain View Hotel

Property: Four Chain View Hotel
Address: 757 Geylang Road Lorong 39, Singapore 389659, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Four Chain View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Four Chain View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Chain Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing