We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #153 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I chose this hotel because of it is one of the cheapest. But didn't think I would be staying in a dirty, shabby room. When we joined the two beds we were shocked to see a lot of trash underneath. The room given to us was at the ground floor and when we asked for another room they turned us down w/o checking first. Staff are rude and insensitive. If if room rate was cheap, we were definitely shortchanged. My stay was last July 2012. I hope this hotel will be suspended by Singapore Tourism Board.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilamcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    552
    359
    91
    56
See reviews for
163
327
96
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had one night in a standard room and overall I found it good value for money. Unfortunately my room didn't have a window & my A/C didn't work so well, but I had a comfortable stay here. The reception staff were very efficient & friendly, and the hotel's location makes it easy to get anywhere in the city easy. You do hear the call to pray from a nearby mosque in your room, but its not loud enough to be disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I spent 1 night at the hotel (superior room) - 2nd floor. the bed is average but the pillow not good. I booked the room online and entitle for free wireless. I forgot to ask for the password during check in. After got into the room, I call the reception using the hotel phone to request for the wireless password but the reception refused to give the password and made me go down the reception counter to get my password.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is located in Little India and there are plenty of nice quaint Restaurants nearby. The Mustafa store is also walking distance for those who want to go shopping.

The standard rooms are very spartan and windowless but clean nevertheless.
A good hotel for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhireshsampat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I would suggest this hotel if you are travelling on a budget. The rooms and bathrooms are quite small. The location is quite good, very near to the metro station and little India, so plenty of restaurants. It can be quite crowded and I made the mistake of taking this hotel during Diwali, the place was crowded and noisy. So please ensure you are not travelling during any of the Indian festivals.The streets right outside the hotel were quite dirty, something you wouldn't expect in Singapore if you are travelling for the first time. I wouldn't suggest this place if you are travelling with a family you may come across some surprises at night in the hotel lobby (If you know what I mean). Try taking hotels in the top floors, its quite noisy in the lower ones, we had to shift our rooms to a top floor. The desk service was good,ready to help with any issues you may come across. wi fi was good, rooms were clean.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank navyamariam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for one night stopover. The hotel is in a good location close to MRT, shops and Little India. We were able to get public transport easily too and from the hotel. Room was very small but nice and clean. Bed was comfortable and staff we nice. Hot water and wifi were good. Not sure what breakfast was like as we had to leave really early in the morning for our flight. Would stay again if it was just for a few nights :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

location is about 5mins from little india station. price is not bad for a relatively new building. walking distance to stores and food shops. area is generally safe at night. we entered a bar that looks like a house but everything is different on the rooftop. it is sort of like a sports bar. great thing about this is there is a projector showing the game which uses the wall of a neighbor as a screen!

Room Tip: book online. you may also make specific requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#193 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#107 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#169 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#143 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#162 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Property: Hotel 81 Dickson
Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing