We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #165 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Located in the middle of 2 SMRT stations that are close to the centre and touristy stops (Little India and Bugis). Both stations are within walkable distance (15-20mins). Got plenty of shops and eateries in the neighbourhood, and they are cheap.

The room is compact but it has everything you need for its worth. No bugs spotted but there are stains on some walls, corners and ceiling. The room smelt a little stuffy, properly no one has ever opened the windows. The quality of the bed (mattress and overused bedsheets) gives you a feeling that they are not ideal for your romantic getaways, or perhaps they do for 'that' particular purpose.

Staff responded to our requests accurately. Overall satisfied with the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Heard from a taxi driver that they dont tend to pick up customers who go to Little India due to its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    522
    335
    82
    47
See reviews for
148
293
85
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location is convenient - about 10 minutes by foot to MRT station Bugis. There is a big cinema Iluma near Bugis. Worth to visit.

The price is competitive for Singapore. Rooms are very small but one can survive if you plan to stay outside the most of the time. Wifi was fine.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ju_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a pleasant stay at Hotel81 dickson situated in little india.
We took 4 days stay. Rooms were little small however very clean and tidy.
only deluxe rooms has bath tub.
mustaffa shopping centre is at walkable distance and the little india MRT too.
Good restaurants nearby for indian cuisine.
Airport at 20 mins way.
We used MRT for all our transportations.
Overall pretty good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel itself is basic, with not big rooms, not very good isolation from noise - so it's OK if you are looking not expensive place not far from Marina Bay - main place in Singapore, I think.
It's 10-15 minutes by foot from subway (Bugis), and 30 minutes to Marine Bay - it's important if you come back late evening, when subway is already closed (taxi is expensive here, especially in night time they multiple the rate 1.5 times).
Around hotel there is some not good atmosphere - too many strange-looking hindu people, who are sitting around and stare at you. But I thing it's safe and no reason for fear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a small room with no window, but it was very clean and modern and good value for money. The walls were a bit thin and also you could hear everything in the corridor and people waiting for the lifts. Great location near Sim Lim Square and MRT. Love the smells and the eating places around Little India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just been there with a friend and it is for sure a great deal in Singapore.
The rooms are clean and the staff very attentive.
Location is also very good with a lot of places to eat around little India.

Personally I will not go back because there is no window in the room and this is for me unacceptable.
I usually stay in much higher price in Singapore and of course I get much more.
But if you are willing to save money and you do not care of a window in the room then it is for sure a good place.

Room Tip: If they have a room with a window try to get it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danidive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'd been warned by other tripadvisor reviewers that cheap hotels in Singapore usually mean miniature rooms and no windows. I booked a standard room at this hotel for my four day stay but was upgraded, without extra charge, to a room with window, and while it wasn't exactly large - two would have been a crush - it was fine for one person. And the shower coming out of the wall is odd but you get used to it. It was clean and quiet despite being near the heart of Little India, which is lively and crowded any time of the day or night. The reception staff were really helpful and even refused a (small) tip for helping with my luggage at the end of my stay. 10/15 mins to Little India MRT station and I never felt unsafe walking around at night .Free internet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you book a basic standard room ask if you can have an upgrade to one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#143 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#144 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#198 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,790 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#151 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#120 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Property: Hotel 81 Dickson
Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing