We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic and cheep hotel near Marina Bay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #151 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Basic and cheep hotel near Marina Bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel itself is basic, with not big rooms, not very good isolation from noise - so it's OK if you are looking not expensive place not far from Marina Bay - main place in Singapore, I think.
It's 10-15 minutes by foot from subway (Bugis), and 30 minutes to Marine Bay - it's important if you come back late evening, when subway is already closed (taxi is expensive here, especially in night time they multiple the rate 1.5 times).
Around hotel there is some not good atmosphere - too many strange-looking hindu people, who are sitting around and stare at you. But I thing it's safe and no reason for fear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    541
    347
    89
    54
See reviews for
157
315
89
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a small room with no window, but it was very clean and modern and good value for money. The walls were a bit thin and also you could hear everything in the corridor and people waiting for the lifts. Great location near Sim Lim Square and MRT. Love the smells and the eating places around Little India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just been there with a friend and it is for sure a great deal in Singapore.
The rooms are clean and the staff very attentive.
Location is also very good with a lot of places to eat around little India.

Personally I will not go back because there is no window in the room and this is for me unacceptable.
I usually stay in much higher price in Singapore and of course I get much more.
But if you are willing to save money and you do not care of a window in the room then it is for sure a good place.

Room Tip: If they have a room with a window try to get it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danidive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'd been warned by other tripadvisor reviewers that cheap hotels in Singapore usually mean miniature rooms and no windows. I booked a standard room at this hotel for my four day stay but was upgraded, without extra charge, to a room with window, and while it wasn't exactly large - two would have been a crush - it was fine for one person. And the shower coming out of the wall is odd but you get used to it. It was clean and quiet despite being near the heart of Little India, which is lively and crowded any time of the day or night. The reception staff were really helpful and even refused a (small) tip for helping with my luggage at the end of my stay. 10/15 mins to Little India MRT station and I never felt unsafe walking around at night .Free internet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you book a basic standard room ask if you can have an upgrade to one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai-shi, Miyagi, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 2 friends and I transferred to this hotel after a horrible night at Hotel 81 Lucky. The location is good, near to Bugis MRT. The reception was horrible, no proper greeting when we arrived. The overall customer service of this hotel chain leaves much to be desired as we had the same issues at their other one. The rooms were decent and the bathroom as ok. Basic amenities were provided. The wifi was paid so we didnt use it. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel chain to anyone. It's better to pay a little more for better service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a standard double room. It was cramped, but the bed was cozy and the AC worked fine. There's a small dresser beside the bed with an electric kettle, and a small cabinet adjacent to the bathroom door. Bathroom was small with just enough space to shower. Caucasians will definitely find it hard to move around in there, though. One side of the bathroom had a frosted glass wall, which was weird. You could see the silhouette of whoever's in there.

The sheets and towels were all clean. Wi-fi worked great in our room on the 5th floor. It was kind of annoying to have to log in to their hotspot everytime you had to connect to the Internet, though, but at least it was fast and I was able to get work done. Front desk staff were nice and accommodating.

Great location. A bit of a walk from Little India MRT, but it's in the quiet part of the area. There are hawkers and cafes just beside the hotel. A food garden opens up at night as well. There's a 711 branch on Dunlop St. and a lot of Indian stalls around in case you need to buy anything. However, this branch is not exempted from Hotel 81's "short time motel" reputation. Had trouble sleeping on our second night because of it. All in all, cheap and clean hotel with basic amenities in an expensive country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

There is no room service or laundry service but in such a great location, who cares? The front desk will help you find whatever you need. The neighborhood shops and cafes are open around the clock. The MRT at Little India or Bugis is short walk away.
The rooms are very compact but they are clean and comfortable. And the bathrooms are also small but in good working order. When I needed help from housekeeping, they sent someone immediately.The in-room wifi worked perfectly and there are even computers in the lobby available for general use.
In Singapore, 5-star hotels often cost upwards of 400sgd per night, but few of them can match the convenience and efficiency of this 3-star gem which costs a fraction of that. Highly recommended if you dont mind small rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skegness1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#121 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#130 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#188 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#150 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#178 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Property: Hotel 81 Dickson
Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing