We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good if you know what to expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #166 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“good if you know what to expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just been there with a friend and it is for sure a great deal in Singapore.
The rooms are clean and the staff very attentive.
Location is also very good with a lot of places to eat around little India.

Personally I will not go back because there is no window in the room and this is for me unacceptable.
I usually stay in much higher price in Singapore and of course I get much more.
But if you are willing to save money and you do not care of a window in the room then it is for sure a good place.

Room Tip: If they have a room with a window try to get it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danidive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    515
    329
    77
    47
See reviews for
145
286
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'd been warned by other tripadvisor reviewers that cheap hotels in Singapore usually mean miniature rooms and no windows. I booked a standard room at this hotel for my four day stay but was upgraded, without extra charge, to a room with window, and while it wasn't exactly large - two would have been a crush - it was fine for one person. And the shower coming out of the wall is odd but you get used to it. It was clean and quiet despite being near the heart of Little India, which is lively and crowded any time of the day or night. The reception staff were really helpful and even refused a (small) tip for helping with my luggage at the end of my stay. 10/15 mins to Little India MRT station and I never felt unsafe walking around at night .Free internet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you book a basic standard room ask if you can have an upgrade to one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai-shi, Miyagi, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 2 friends and I transferred to this hotel after a horrible night at Hotel 81 Lucky. The location is good, near to Bugis MRT. The reception was horrible, no proper greeting when we arrived. The overall customer service of this hotel chain leaves much to be desired as we had the same issues at their other one. The rooms were decent and the bathroom as ok. Basic amenities were provided. The wifi was paid so we didnt use it. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel chain to anyone. It's better to pay a little more for better service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a standard double room. It was cramped, but the bed was cozy and the AC worked fine. There's a small dresser beside the bed with an electric kettle, and a small cabinet adjacent to the bathroom door. Bathroom was small with just enough space to shower. Caucasians will definitely find it hard to move around in there, though. One side of the bathroom had a frosted glass wall, which was weird. You could see the silhouette of whoever's in there.

The sheets and towels were all clean. Wi-fi worked great in our room on the 5th floor. It was kind of annoying to have to log in to their hotspot everytime you had to connect to the Internet, though, but at least it was fast and I was able to get work done. Front desk staff were nice and accommodating.

Great location. A bit of a walk from Little India MRT, but it's in the quiet part of the area. There are hawkers and cafes just beside the hotel. A food garden opens up at night as well. There's a 711 branch on Dunlop St. and a lot of Indian stalls around in case you need to buy anything. However, this branch is not exempted from Hotel 81's "short time motel" reputation. Had trouble sleeping on our second night because of it. All in all, cheap and clean hotel with basic amenities in an expensive country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

There is no room service or laundry service but in such a great location, who cares? The front desk will help you find whatever you need. The neighborhood shops and cafes are open around the clock. The MRT at Little India or Bugis is short walk away.
The rooms are very compact but they are clean and comfortable. And the bathrooms are also small but in good working order. When I needed help from housekeeping, they sent someone immediately.The in-room wifi worked perfectly and there are even computers in the lobby available for general use.
In Singapore, 5-star hotels often cost upwards of 400sgd per night, but few of them can match the convenience and efficiency of this 3-star gem which costs a fraction of that. Highly recommended if you dont mind small rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skegness1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

so i and my partner stayed here and we got a room with no window, the room's smell is not good. the toilet is small and the bed is alright , no decoration made us feel like it's a prison not a hotel. i mean i think they should put a window so we traveller can feel more comfortable. i know it's a budget hotel but i think putting a window is not bad idea. overall, its average i think, the hot shower works fine , the tv cable is fine, but unfortunately no window so the next day we moved out .

Room Tip: if you want to have good room make sure you ask the receptionist( i and partner booked online ) so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkedblood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is quite busy so very noisy late at night and early in morning. Rooms are not clean- there are stains on things. Also the shower and the toilet are in one room. Ok for one night as cheap but nothing longer. Do have storage luggage facility and it is in quite a good location, ten min walk from little india metro station.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#151 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#156 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#197 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,734 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#147 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#92 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Property: Hotel 81 Dickson
Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing