We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price”
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #185 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'd been warned by other tripadvisor reviewers that cheap hotels in Singapore usually mean miniature rooms and no windows. I booked a standard room at this hotel for my four day stay but was upgraded, without extra charge, to a room with window, and while it wasn't exactly large - two would have been a crush - it was fine for one person. And the shower coming out of the wall is odd but you get used to it. It was clean and quiet despite being near the heart of Little India, which is lively and crowded any time of the day or night. The reception staff were really helpful and even refused a (small) tip for helping with my luggage at the end of my stay. 10/15 mins to Little India MRT station and I never felt unsafe walking around at night .Free internet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you book a basic standard room ask if you can have an upgrade to one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 2 friends and I transferred to this hotel after a horrible night at Hotel 81 Lucky. The location is good, near to Bugis MRT. The reception was horrible, no proper greeting when we arrived. The overall customer service of this hotel chain leaves much to be desired as we had the same issues at their other one. The rooms were decent and the bathroom as ok. Basic amenities were provided. The wifi was paid so we didnt use it. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel chain to anyone. It's better to pay a little more for better service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a standard double room. It was cramped, but the bed was cozy and the AC worked fine. There's a small dresser beside the bed with an electric kettle, and a small cabinet adjacent to the bathroom door. Bathroom was small with just enough space to shower. Caucasians will definitely find it hard to move around in there, though. One side of the bathroom had a frosted glass wall, which was weird. You could see the silhouette of whoever's in there.

The sheets and towels were all clean. Wi-fi worked great in our room on the 5th floor. It was kind of annoying to have to log in to their hotspot everytime you had to connect to the Internet, though, but at least it was fast and I was able to get work done. Front desk staff were nice and accommodating.

Great location. A bit of a walk from Little India MRT, but it's in the quiet part of the area. There are hawkers and cafes just beside the hotel. A food garden opens up at night as well. There's a 711 branch on Dunlop St. and a lot of Indian stalls around in case you need to buy anything. However, this branch is not exempted from Hotel 81's "short time motel" reputation. Had trouble sleeping on our second night because of it. All in all, cheap and clean hotel with basic amenities in an expensive country.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

There is no room service or laundry service but in such a great location, who cares? The front desk will help you find whatever you need. The neighborhood shops and cafes are open around the clock. The MRT at Little India or Bugis is short walk away.
The rooms are very compact but they are clean and comfortable. And the bathrooms are also small but in good working order. When I needed help from housekeeping, they sent someone immediately.The in-room wifi worked perfectly and there are even computers in the lobby available for general use.
In Singapore, 5-star hotels often cost upwards of 400sgd per night, but few of them can match the convenience and efficiency of this 3-star gem which costs a fraction of that. Highly recommended if you dont mind small rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skegness1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

so i and my partner stayed here and we got a room with no window, the room's smell is not good. the toilet is small and the bed is alright , no decoration made us feel like it's a prison not a hotel. i mean i think they should put a window so we traveller can feel more comfortable. i know it's a budget hotel but i think putting a window is not bad idea. overall, its average i think, the hot shower works fine , the tv cable is fine, but unfortunately no window so the next day we moved out .

Room Tip: if you want to have good room make sure you ask the receptionist( i and partner booked online ) so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inkedblood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is quite busy so very noisy late at night and early in morning. Rooms are not clean- there are stains on things. Also the shower and the toilet are in one room. Ok for one night as cheap but nothing longer. Do have storage luggage facility and it is in quite a good location, ten min walk from little india metro station.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sazhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stopped there for two nights,moden hotel in my opinion a good location,walkable to the city,lots of road works in the area so getting to town is a bit of a challenge but its only 10/15 mins away.Basic clean room with no window.Staff were very nice and helpfull.Try eating at Dunlop Street (one street away) fantastic Indian food.

Room Tip: Walkable to the City.Lots of Indian eating places one street away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim-on-the-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#205 of 319 in Singapore
198 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#148 of 319 in Singapore
282 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#113 of 319 in Singapore
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#184 of 319 in Singapore
321 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#172 of 319 in Singapore
339 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#153 of 319 in Singapore
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing