We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just alrite!!”
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
Ranked #165 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 1, 2011

we had been to Singapore this month and stayed there for just more than a week...there we were at the hotel 81 Dixon...our stay there was okay...the first day we were in the standard room, which was terribly small...!!! we barely had any space to walk with our luggage coming in the way...there wasn't any window in the room and ofcourse no sunlight....it felt as if the walls were closing in on us...
the next day we changed to a superior room, which thanks God was much better...it was bigger, with a window in it..well u dont expect a good view but then u have the blessing of little sunlight.
if u are stayin in this hotel, believe me a standard room is one u dont want to be in..!!!
one uncomfortable experience in both the rooms was that our bedsheets and hung clothes constantly smelled of absorbed moisture. Just like clothes do wen they have not been properly dried but folded...well i do not knw that was because of excess humidity or the hotel's closed space..but the feeling was not very good...
but anyways the service was fine and so was the cleanliness...
the hotel's location was good and u could easily get a taxi in less than a minutes walk...

Room Tip: please choose a superior room over a standard room and u wont regret!!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alishey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 81 Dickson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

I paid 109 SGD$/night using their own website for a superior room (with window),
Good Points;
The staff seemed attentive, polite,cheerful.
The room has good lighting
Free internet,reasonable speed 2 of the 3 days
Comfortable bed, good pillows
Great location.10 minute walk to Little India metro station.
Bad Points
Rooms are so small, and not that functional,nowhere to open your bag, except the floor.I just cannot see 2 people staying in the room.
Only one electrical outlet.
No bedside table to put your alarm clock.
The room was not cleaned well at all, floor was never swept, crumbs and hair(not mine) all over the floor including bathroom (daily).Take a look under the bed.
Hot water was running low at 1130am.
For the internet you have to go downstairs everyday to get new passwords.
The air-con is set at 22C, which is too cold, had to get extra blankets. Setting at a higher temperature would cause the room to become humid, and mirrors to fog up.
The internet was terribly slow 1 of the days.
Everything in the bathroom gets wet, and they do not supply a bathroom towel mat, you have to use one of your allotted towels.
The window you pay extra for, does not open, even a crack, for fresh air.
Safety boxes are downstairs behind reception counter, but they keep both keys???
No small refrigerator.
The Hotel entrance was always littered with cigarette butts, and the lobby windows and entrance door, were filthy.

I realize that hotel rooms are small and expensive in Singapore, but taking that into account, I could not recommend this hotel, as the negatives outweigh the positives greatly, and I'm usually not that picky.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is located near the famous electronics market of Singapore in the Little India area. The hotel staff is very helpful and the rooms are equiped with Tea Coffee maker, but the size of room and the attached toilet is small. The tea coffee sugar etc sachets are limited and the additionals should be available. This hotel does not have any room service or attached resturant. Since the staff was courtious the stay was thus pleasent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a nice hotel located in Little India in Singapore. It has no restaurant, and room size is very small and to that washrooms are really smaller....but compared to room prices in Singapore, it seems okay..No restaurant so that's one more negative point...Not recommended if you are travelling with kids, as they will not get space in the room to walk properly..

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishikochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

i had not been to singapore since 1988 so booking this hotel was a gamble, i was pleasantly surprized, ideal for a short stay although the lack of a window may have been a problem for a longer stay, the rooms are basic, but spotless. the glass wall to the shower caused hilarity for us, but i suppose could cause embarrassment, so best friends or couples will be ok, but others be warned. breakfast is not provided, but fast food in singapore is readily available and cheap. little india is full of restaurants and there is a fresh food market nearby. all of singapore is easy to get to by the mrt or bus. the nearest stations are a brisk ten minute walk away on the safe pavements and roads. no dodging of motorbikes here. the staff were particular helpful, i was asking for directions to the jurong birdpark and within seconds they had printed a google map for us without charge. if you an inexperienced travellers this is a good place to stay in a very safe environment.

Room Tip: ask for a window or pay the extra if required, have a stock of coffee and or tea, as they only suppl...
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I have stayed at Hotel 81 Dickson three times now for two to three nights at a time as an affordable stopover on the way from Australia to Europe. I booked a deluxe room with a window each time as I hate not being able to see out. It was clean and comfortable apart from the one thing that all Hotel 81 seem to share, ie the bottom sheet is not big enough and during the night it comes out and my feet touch the mattress that another reviewer accurately describes as "some sort of plastic/vinyl material that felt gross on my skin". I fixed this a bit last time by wearing socks to bed. They should get someone to sew an extra piece on all their sheets. I like the fact that there is a kettle supplied and drinking water. The packet tea and coffee mixes do not look drinkable but I always carry my own coffee anyway. It is really good that the room price includes internet and there is a little round thing to sit on. The shower/toilet is small but not as small as some I encountered in Europe. It is possible to manage the hand piece to make the water go where you need it. It is in walking distance to the Little India MRT and the 24 hour Mustafa Emporium and there is lots of wonderful food all around. I like lots of kinds of curry including the special Indian Vegetarian restaurants in the area even though I am not a vegetarian. Last time I realised that a very good Thai place appears in the evenings in the alley across the road. The staff are pleasant and helpful. I like the Little India area as it has lots of "Old Singapore" around. You can get the MRT or the bus to the modern Singapore if you wish. For me Hotel 81 Dickson is a good compromise between the rock bottom cheapest and a more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room with a window if you don't like windowless rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nambijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just stayed for 2 nights, primarily just was looking for an affordable and decent place to sleep at night in an otherwise expensive place, Singapore. Checkin was smooth, staff was very friendly, professional and seemed very approachable. Rooms were neat but small, but manageable if you do not have too much of luggage to spread around. Hotel is halfway between Bugis and Little India metro station, and both of them are 10-15 mins walking distance from the hotel. Only downside is the bathroom. The partition is made of "translucent" glass, and hence you can see through them from outside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShijitMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#198 of 316 in Singapore
197 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#107 of 316 in Singapore
508 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#156 of 316 in Singapore
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#153 of 316 in Singapore
558 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 316 in Singapore
336 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#181 of 316 in Singapore
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $54 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing