We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venue Hotel The Lily

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Venue Hotel The Lily to your Saves list
Venue Hotel The Lily
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   238 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427495, Singapore (Formerly Hotel 81 - Opera) (Joo Chiat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“small and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel, while not in the best area was fairly clean, slightly run-down with extremely small rooms and very cheap in price. We checked in at 9 AM and were told if we wanted to get into the room, it would cost another $20 Sing. There is no place for suitcases or clothes. The AC worked well and the room was soon very cool. The bus stop was only 1 block away and after a 10 minute ride passed a MRT station that connects with "everything". We stayed one night before our flight out in the morning and for this the hotel was fine. I would not want to deal with the extremely tiny room or location for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyawayAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Poor location. You have to walk 1km from mrt, narrow street with so many cars parking, or have to wait for 30 - 40 mins for the bus. It will slow you down and cause a lot of annoying . You can see a lot of girls on the street. This hotel is not so near Geylang when you see on the map, but this is the place. You know what I mean. Poor staff. Even not try to be friendly. After being disappointed about the location of the hotel, I asked him if there was any other way to go to any mrt station. He said there were bus stations around but refused to showed me where they were and which direction/ station I should choose to reach mrt. I mean, for local people, need not to mention the Hotel staff, it would not take long, see the map, suff the internet and done ! He said it was not his job, that was ridiculous. We ended up walking like ghost around streets, and was helped by locals. The map printed in the Hotel card was wrong. The bus was on the 1 way street and it was hard to find. You will see. Never be a recommendation. Not even a thing to be remembered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaspoon_annguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel is located 1.3Km away from Paya Lebar MRT. Rooms were clean and comfortable but very small. Windows are sealed from inside and fitted with lattice panel from outside blocking direct sunlight into the room. No locker or even a small cupboard. TV with few international channels are available. There are plenty of choices for food around hotel in every direction. Good choice to stay at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClassicHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

There is a weird smell in this hotel, its more so outside the rooms but it takes at least 15 minutes to get use to it.
Rooms very basic and the smell is a little inside the room, I think they have some sewerage OR mould issue, the furniture is comfortable enough, the best bit is the bathroom - It is designed in such a luxurious way that it makes you feel like your in an exotic hotel UNTIL you try to have a shower as there wasn’t any hot water just mildly warm.
Pros are that you get free internet, staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. You get what you paid for I guess but hot water and clean air indoors are basic things to be expected for any hotel - Meh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a really bad experience staying at this hotel. First of all the only reason why we booked this hotel was that there was three of us travelling together and they had a family room available. Also we had a lot of luggage with us (six big bags), so we needed a lot of space, which the family room had. When we arrived at the hotel in the morning they said that the previous family had not checked out of the room so we checked in and left our luggage to the staff, while we went to explore the city. When we came back in the evening our luggage was still in the same place lying on the floor, none of the staff seemed to pay any attention to it and all our valuables were in the bags!! Then we were told that the family room wasn't in fact available and we would have to settle for two rooms (despite us booking the hotel one month in advance.) We never got any explanation why this was and the staff member was extremely rude and started getting angry with us when we didn't accept the two small rooms. In the end he angrily upgraded us to two separate "deluxe rooms", even though there is no deluxe room option on their website so they were probably just standard rooms. When we then asked if they could help us with our luggage the staff ignored us. I have never received such bad customer service in my life! The rooms were small and smelled bad. The only positive thing is that when we asked they did give us free internet and late check-in. Still, do not stay at this hotel! There are better once just down the road!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Needed a "cheap" hotel in Singapore for three nights and did the usual search, with the usual one we stay in fully booked. Hotel 81 Opera came up and as my Filipina wife knew the area had Filipino shops and restaurants it was a fair choice. No real facilities but the room was clean and big enough for wife and daughter in a double bed.
Check in was quick and easy. Around midnight a crowd of Chinese girls were yammering away in the corridor outside the room and banging on someone else's door instead of using the bell or whatever, on each of the three nights of the stay.
The room was supposed to be no smoking, but you could smell cigarette smoke just about everywhere. There were cigarette burns on the toilet cistern as well.
Lots of restaurants, clubs and bars in Joo Chiat, but a lot of drunks and too much cigarette smoke around. The seafood crab restaurant was pricey by Sing standards, but the crab was excellent. Can't remember the name but you can't miss it half way down Joo Chiat on a corner plot. Most of the pubs/clubs had the usual "working girls" hovering outside, but they don't trouble you unless you want to be troubled...
Our first choice was Le Peranakan but it was fully booked, and this one was nowhere nearl as good.

Room Tip: the room we booked had no window (despite the voucher saying it had) so if this troubles you, better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#82 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#121 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Value Hotel Nice
#152 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#98 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venue Hotel The Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venue Hotel The Lily

Address: 238 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427495, Singapore (Formerly Hotel 81 - Opera)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Venue Hotel The Lily 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venue Hotel the Lily is a excellent choice for tourists and travelers who like to stay slightly away from the city centre to savour a taste of the Singaporean lifestyle. The hotel is priced very attractively although it is newly renovated, with most of the little indulgence one may not expect from a hotel in its priced category. All rooms are served with (complimentary) high speed wifi, with in room mini-fridge/safe etc. Just a few doors away, we have bakeries, local delicacies, Vietnamese restaurants, 24hrs convenient stores and supermarkets. The beach (East Coast Park) is just 10 mins by taxi, if the sun and sea could add to the joy of the stay. East Coast Park also offers seafood & other gourmet restaurants and other recreation activities (bicycle, roller blade rentals etc) Thus for a short relaxing holiday or an escape from the cold, Venue Hotel the Lily may just be your perfect hideout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Venue Hotel The Lily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Opera
Venue Hotel The Lily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing