We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to imporve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Venue Hotel The Lily
Ranked #133 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs to imporve”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Cleanliness of the room needs to improve especially the atmosphere (smoking smell still around ), i found the pluck-point of the room is abit lose when you pluck in socket Overall , service is average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank tljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    149
    87
    34
    11
See reviews for
95
108
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aasiaat, Greenland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

So, we decided to head to Singapore to meet some friends coming in from Germany . . . it was going to be a month-long vacation so cost was going to have to be spread out . . . Singapore hotels are a killer when the company isn't paying so we decided on Hotel 81 Opera.

we'd lived in Singapore for six years previously and knew this part of Geyland was quite acceptable, in terms of environment . . . as long as the panhandlers, hookers and a bit of noise is ok with you . . . no worries.

Plenty of food choices around (though none at the hotel), in every direction - relatively close to the MRT.

The rooms are small but comfortable = functional
Staff were fine.
Cleanliness was very good

Basically an honest little hotel when you don't want to stay at the Shang!

Room Tip: Just ask the people at reception to place you away from where there are lots of aircons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

with so many hotel choices in joo Chiat road and many price ranges, i been in hotel81 tristar last month ( july 2012 ) and we stayed in 3rd floor disabled room but we are disappointed the room tidy and you need to tell them to clean the room and change the towel. it was hard to decide which hotel81 to stay. i choose hotel81 opera and i stayed 4 nights ( october 2012 ) the hotel is clean and my room is clean every day and the friendliness of the staff is worth it. the only thing i don't like is the mold on the tiles of bathtub. and the wifi password and user id changed every day you need to get down and ask other wifi password but its not a big deal. this hotel is near to chiangi airport the cost of taxi from airport to hotel is around sg $ 12 or $15. restaurant every where and walking distance to food mall. but bit far to mrt paja lebar station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The adage you get what you pay for has never been truer. Whilst not completely unhappy with our time here, we were all pleased that we were only here for 3 nights.

Our room had no windows. Even though we expecting this, it nonetheless was difficult to spend too much time in the room. Consequently, there could be no ventilation other than via the AC. Whilst not unusual in a hotel, its location meant we struggled with temperature control a little.

On 2 of our 3 nights, our bed was made with sheets which were too small. That required a remake by us. By this stage, we were more amused than anything.

Wifi was only really available in the foyer - leastwise, we couldn't pick it up from our room. That proved no problem and should not be an impediment to booking here.

The staff were efficient but indifferent. Nothing to write home about.

Cleanliness was not an issue. The bathroom was large; very large. Our 10 year old suggested trading bathroom size for a window.

In spite of the above, I would book with this chain again as their prices are good and we were staying in a part of Singapore that gave us great access to hawkers markets. In future, I would ensure I booked a room with a view, any view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a correct option for 1 night in singapore.
But the rooms are not that good and confortable as they looklike in the pictures.
We stayed at the room 107. The reception did not wanted to close the music and TV shows and the volume was so high an theroom door so bad that we could not sleep. You can add the street noise to this if your room is on the street side.

But the Positive thing is that the rooms are very clean and we alqays appreciate this. With a room in the other side if the hotel it would have been maybe better.

The reception accepted us to check in at 7:00 am, which is good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien3184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I would rate this hotel as average. Had a last minute plan to visit singapore with family, so this hotel could fit in the budget. i would rate all services as average.
Location was Good. Around 10min walk to the nearest MRT or 3 min walk to the Bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrAseemArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My cousin and I have stayed there for 4 nights. The price of the hotel is certainly among the cheapest but the experience was terrible. Hence, if you are not that on budget, please choose some other hotel. Seriously!! Let me elaborate that:
1. The TV is those antique bulky kind and I often need to give it a hit to make the screen display images if not it will just stay black and play sound only,
2. The windows were sealed so we cannot open them and the air ventilation in the toilet is bad. So, if someone passes gas or takes a number one, then we have to open the room to ventilate the air.
3. The hotel is very stingy. There is some kind of chemical liquid in a container in the toilet that is for handwash, bodywash as well as hairwash. I really wonder what that is! Anyway, It is terrible. so if you are planning to stay there, please bring your toiletries.
4. Do not be fooled by the free internet access. it is only free for one person per room. how hilarious! they will give you a set of username and password that can be only used by one person for real.
5. The aircon is pretty old and it does not sync with the remote control well so the temperature always changes for some reason. I have caught a flu after a stay. so be careful if you are staying there.

I hope this is useful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank llhsgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#129 of 314 in Singapore
466 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#101 of 314 in Singapore
380 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#122 of 314 in Singapore
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#148 of 314 in Singapore
368 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#142 of 314 in Singapore
552 reviews
Hotel YAN
#53 of 314 in Singapore
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venue Hotel The Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venue Hotel The Lily

Property: Venue Hotel The Lily
Address: 238 Joo Chiat Road Venue Hotel the Lily, Singapore 427495, Singapore (Formerly Hotel 81 - Opera)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Venue Hotel The Lily 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venue Hotel the Lily is a excellent choice for tourists and travelers who like to stay slightly away from the city centre to savour a taste of the Singaporean lifestyle. The hotel is priced very attractively although it is newly renovated, with most of the little indulgence one may not expect from a hotel in its priced category. All rooms are served with (complimentary) high speed wifi, with in room mini-fridge/safe etc. Just a few doors away, we have bakeries, local delicacies, Vietnamese restaurants, 24hrs convenient stores and supermarkets. The beach (East Coast Park) is just 10 mins by taxi, if the sun and sea could add to the joy of the stay. East Coast Park also offers seafood & other gourmet restaurants and other recreation activities (bicycle, roller blade rentals etc) Thus for a short relaxing holiday or an escape from the cold, Venue Hotel the Lily may just be your perfect hideout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venue Hotel The Lily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Opera
Venue Hotel The Lily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing