We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm with funky design.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #76 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm with funky design.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Max and I spent four nights at the New Majestic in June after a leisurely two weeks on Pulau Tioman in Malaysia. As always I'd done a bit of pre-trip research and neither of us was disappointed when we arrived. The staff was most welcoming (thanks Nicole) and responded to our every (though occasional) request with friendliness and a professional attitude.
From the first sight it looked good. (Check out the lawn sculpture!). It was beautifully lit and inviting at night.
A spacious lobby with all sorts of interesting arty bits and bobs and mags said Yes, this looks good. A Hollywood staircase up to the pool and gym topped it off. A barista who made great coffee was situated there also. So far, what's not to like!
Our room was spacious enough for our needs and was cleverly designed, as most seem to be from our quick peeks into some of the others. Our room motif was a play on the Hey Diddle Diddle, the Cat & the Fiddle etc. Sensational shower & toiletries and a super comfortable bed, TV at the end. And coffee and water and juice provided.
The pool was a welcome relief from the humidity. Who needs big when there's no-one else in it? Spa jets at two ends.
A big plus is that it's situated a two minute walk from Outram station...you can get anywhere from there. And it's located in old Chinatown...cheap and tasty eats abound five minutes away. Apart from that, the New Majestic is right in the middle of a thriving funky bar, restaurant and arts scene. Recommended...Provence Le Restaurant, one street across.
We stayed during the Sumatran forest fires that blew east which smothered Singapore for the last two days of our stay and the smoke pollution was close to unbearable. The staff offered us face masks...thoughtfulness much appreciated.
On our last day our flight didn't leave until near midnight so the reception stored our luggage and after returning after a movie (out of the smog) offered us a room for showering and a change of clothes. Excellent service.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_Hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Jeremy_Hooper,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your awesome review!

It was our pleasure to have had you with us, and we are delighted to hear that you had a terrific stay with us despite the haze! It’s great that you enjoyed the amenities provided in the rooms and that you found the hotel’s central location convenient for your travels about Singapore.

Thank you for the recommendation, and we look forward to having you again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    280
    70
    24
    17
See reviews for
42
391
68
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This has a very big cool factor going on.Check in smooth and very well prepared,the rooms are not very large,i guess depends on which one they put you,if you travelling single or double i guess. I looked at a few others when i was walking around, and there is larger ones.Loved mine,funky red and awesome to sleep in.

Was 5 mins late for breakfast and was cut off so could not tell you if food was any good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bank1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bank1972,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are glad that you found the hotel cool and that you loved the quirky design of the room you stayed in. We hope to have you again when you are next in Singapore!

Till then, we wish you safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the first time I've stayed in such art-inspired boutique hotel, where all the rooms have "themes" and are different to one another. It's quite an interesting concept, actually. I got the "Liquid" room, which is spacious and has a really futuristic design. I suppose it was an upgrade from the "Aqua" room I originally booked. The room faces the small pool, which I think is more for decoration than for swimming. Insulation could've been better, because I could hear clearly any sound from the pool (lucky it was not facing the street).

The official check-in time is rather stingy at 4 pm, and really my room was not ready until very close to 4 pm. I just arrived in Singapore after a long flight from Paris, so the first thing I wanted to do was to get a refreshing shower. The reception staff did not ask anything (e.g. how was your journey?), nor did they made suggestions to wait in the lounge or have lunch at the restaurant (which I probably would have done, rather than walking around in the heat). I did not feel the welcome was good enough. Furthermore, I had to fly out early the next day (even no time for breakfast), so in the end I felt that I did not get enough value for the money. That said, the evening and night/morning staff were great - helpful and all smiles.

I like the location of this hotel, away from the hectic atmosphere of shopping malls (there's a different feeling of hectic at the Chinatown nearby, but that's OK). It is close to the Outram Park MRT, which is quite handy. Also, this hotel is exactly next door to the highly acclaimed Restaurant Andre, which I did not have the opportunity to try this time, but may consider if I visit Singapore next time. When I do, I wouldn't mind staying at New Majestic again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SpiceNSpruce,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. As you rightly mentioned, our rooms are unique and unconventional, each individually designed by a different local artist. On your return, do try out a different room to further explore the artistic quirkiness of the hotel.

We were a little concerned to learn of your less than satisfactory check-in experience, as it is our aim here at New Majestic Hotel to provide a ‘home away from home’ for all our guests. Rest assured that your feedback has been related to the relevant department and will be addressed accordingly.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just checked out of this hotel and it was absolutely fabulous. If you're after somewhere where you'll experience a more authentic stay in Singapore away from the overly commercial Orchard Road then this place is perfect. We stayed 3 nights and the first night we were booked into a room with a loft bed. This wasn't ideal for us as we are in our mid 50s and coming down the ladder in the middle of the night wasn't ideal. When we told the staff they moved us to another room without hesitation.

The staff were faultless and the hotel very funky and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any age group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear dbucko,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your splendid compliments.

We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us was nothing short of perfect. The team strives to ensure that all our guests have a great time staying at New Majestic Hotel, and we are happy that you were impressed with the team’s dedication to service excellence.

Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We sty here two nights in transit to Europe from Australia. This is a lovely, cool and funky kettle hotel not far from the markets and great eating in Chinatown .

Positives...
Very friendly staff,
Cool, chic modern rooms, visually pleasing and nice ambience.
Close to tourist transport, markets, great food.

Negatives...
Our room was great for a short stay (not much luggage space). We would pay extra for a higher level room for a longer stay.
Breakfast was nice but a bit too western for us (when in Rome:)

We checked out other rooms that we being vacate cleaned and the lifestyle rooms with balconies were amazing!

Great stay, would stay here again!

Room Tip: Go the lifestyle rooms if you can afford them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear LuckyLeigh,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your terrific compliments!

It’s truly wonderful to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that you loved the quirky designs of the hotel.

We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

That's “unusual” good … not bad!

We stayed in a garden room … definitely different from your normal hotel room, with mirrored walls and an outdoor bathtub.

All of the rooms are themed differently, and ours was most comfortable with a huge bed, fluffy robes, high pressure hot water, and good adjustable air conditioning.

A small but adequate outdoor pool was great for a quick dip to cool off from the humidity, and our included breakfast - full cooked plus a choice of juice, fruit and pastries etc (although identical each day), was very tasty and filling.

They even supplied earplugs in case the background noise bothered you (it didn't), along with free Wi-Fi, a free adaptor plug, and free water and softdrink in the mini-bar … most thoughful.

Just a couple of minutes from Outram Park MRT station and right on the edge of Chinatown, it's ideally situated with a couple of small restaurants just a few steps down the road.

A worthwhile experience with fantastic service from each and every staff member we came into contact with.

PS. And they allowed us a late check-out to 3pm without charge :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear jjumpstart,

Greetings from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for your fabulous review!

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you loved the amenities that were stocked in the rooms. Here at New Majestic Hotel, we are dedicated to providing tiptop service with a personal touch; so it is truly great to hear that you were impressed with the team’s commitment to service excellence.

Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, Enbgland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June and whilst the rooms were small, they were certainly quirky. The only minor issue was the lack of wardrobe space but other than that, they were very comfortable. The other big plus is the staff, they were extremely welcoming and a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulus382012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Paulus382012,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your positive review.

We are happy that you had a great time staying with us, and that you were impressed with the team’s dedication to service excellence.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#79 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#85 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#118 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#93 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing