We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great stay at the new majestic”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #102 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We were very happy with our recent stay at the new majestic. despite arriving at 2am there were 2 friendly and efficient reception staff at the desk and a porter happy to take our luggage to the room. we stayed in one of the aquarium rooms. we loved it. good size, great bed and well appointed with all the room features advertised on their website. particularly appreciated the in room espresso maker. and loved the free in room wi fi. breakfast was fine too - small buffet selection with all the usual items and you are also offered a cooked breakfast when you first sit down in the restaurant. fast and efficient service. the restaurant is transformed in the evenings into a slick, modern cantonese restaurant where we had a brilliant meal. pool area is small but perfectly adequate and very refreshing to be able to take a dip in the heat and humidity of singapore. overall, a good small boutique hotel. location wise, in the middle of china town so lots of small streets full of old tea houses to go exploring. and only a S$6 taxi ride to orchard road or a S$10 taxi ride to the botanic gardens. and the hotel bar spread over three differently themed floors in an old house right next door to the hotel is great too - try the ginger martini!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank horhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for New Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 708 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2008

The New Majestic proved to be a good choice for our four day fun trip to Singapore. Located in Chinatown right next to the Outram Park subway station (which also offers easy access to the airport), it is in a good spot with lots of atmosphere and food options away from the somewhat "heartless" business district.

The hotel's design is unique and fresh, rooms are small but clean and bright and cheery and very well equipped. Some details are not very functional and sub-standard for an upscale hotel, such as hot water boilers that need to be turned on half an hour before taking a shower (and have a pretty small capacity). Switching lights on and off is a science in itself. But those problems seem to be common among designy hotels.

The staff tries hard but overall seems somewhat helpless and unprofessional. Obviously not recruited and trained to standard. Breakfast is limited and nothing to write home about, but also not essential in a large city with tropical climate.

Despite those drawbacks, the New Majestic offers excellent value for money by Singapore standards and has much more personality than the big chain hotels in the business district. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 10179k79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Stayed there for 2 nights..

Rooms: Really love the design, there is different themes for each rooms. They are clean. Last but not least, I love their loft rooms the most!

Location: Within walking distance from Outram Park MRT.

Selection for breakfast buffet is extremely limited but it has quality.

Customer Service: No complains.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I stay in big chain hotels on my business trips a lot.
I must say that I really enjoyed the New Majestic for being a smaller, boutique style hotel.

My room had really cool design, a great bed as well as a docking station for my Ipod, perfect.

The gym was on the 2nd floor with glass walls on 4 sides, so that did not make it very inviting to me. I did enjoyed the swimming pool a lot in the morning, with birds welcoming the new day around you!

The staff was really friendly and tried to be helpful. I did not experience any problems with hot water after I turned on the hot water button.

Breakfast was ok, lunch hower, is fantastic! Wonderful chinese food.

I would recommend this hotel if you are fed up with standard business style hotels and would like a hotel a little of the beaten path.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaisyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I got a room with 2 bathtubs for S$450++ just to spend the evening soaking in a hot tub next to my husband. It was a marvellous idea, having 2 bathtubs side by side so a couple can enjoy each others company while having a tub filled with water at their own preferred temperature.
Unfortunately, there was not enough hot water to fill one tub, much less 2. We spoke to reception on the phone who told us to switch on the heater and wait.
After a long dinner, we returned to our room and there was no change in water temperature. Another trip to the front desk resulted in a nonchalant staff telling us that they just don't have enough hot water.
We tried to make the most of our stay and asked to see rooms that were not occupied as we've heard so much of the design. Was told to come back in the morning. When we did, we were told there was not enough service staff to bring us around.
The room was nice... pillows comfortable. Lighting was well done.
Still... not having enough hot water in a 4/5 star hotel is bizarre. It was a wasted stay which left a bad impression.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globalAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We arrived on a late flight and found we had to wait over an hour for hot water for a shower, after which it was too late for us to go out.

Despite being an international city, none of the staff seemed to understand English OR Chinese! When we complained, it was explained to us that a lot of the staff came from outside Singapore. Service was incredibly bad and the staff weren't knowledgeable about sights or restaurants. We ended up making all our own bookings as they didn't even know some of the most famous restaurants in Singapore!

Despite good reviews for the restaurant, the breakfast spread was one of the worst that I have seen, croissants were burnt, and they didn't even know what a soft boiled egg was!

It was a complete waste of money and I would definitely not recommend anyone to stay there!

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank HongKongFreeasabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank MassiLond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#131 of 316 in Singapore
580 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 316 in Singapore
939 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#106 of 316 in Singapore
886 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#127 of 316 in Singapore
251 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#94 of 316 in Singapore
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $150 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing