We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #85 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Classical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

An elegant hotel located 5-10 minute walk from Chinatown. Check in was very good and the staff made you feel welcome. The hotel has been renovated substantially from its previous use, it has a classical charm about it, very different to staying in a traditional hotel.

Our room was located on the second floor, it was spacious with a comfortable bed. Included in the room was a free mini bar, however, this is really just small serves of juice and coffee. The fitness center was good, with several treadmills. The gym overlooks the pool.

We had breakfast included in our stay, this is pretty basic but does the job. Overall we had enjoyable stay at the New Majestic. Would recommend it to people looking for a different hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear MrPeters,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!

We appreciate your generous compliments, and we are pleased that you had a great time staying with us.

We hope to welcome you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    288
    73
    27
    18
See reviews for
44
402
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want to stay in a hotel which belongs to a chain then don't stay here! If you want to stay in a hotel which is quirky, has great customer service and is not full to overflowing in every area of the hotel - then stay here! It is just off China Town, within walking distance of all the touristy areas such as Little India and Arab Street and all those restaurants and bars. It houses a fantastic restaurant which is well respected in Singapore and just up the road is a wonderful German bar called Magman - try it as they have great wines, it is quiet and friendly. We have stayed in Singapore many times and always opted for the well known large hotels, I am going back in April and I will be staying at the New Majestic Hotel..... it feels like home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are differently designed - we liked the gardenview room as it has a quaint old fashion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndallaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear lyndylouDubai,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your compliments.

We are pleased that we were able to create a home away from home for you. We hope to continue impressing you with our commitment to service excellence, and we look forward to seeing you again in April.

Take care, and safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a few days here with our children on the way home from Vietnam. We loved the design elements in the rooms, the swimming pool with windows through to the restaurant below and all the nice touches (coffee machine, luxury toiletries). Breakfast was wonderful (unexpectedly good since it was included in the tariff!) and all the staff were warm and helpful. The location was great, being a short walk to the Outram Park MRT station and close to Chinatown. We loved this hotel's individuality and value-for-money. We'll definitely go back when we return to Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dashworth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear dashworth27,

Greetings from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for the wonderful review.

We are happy to have been able to make your time in Singapore more memorable and enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The New Majestic is in an old colonial building in the heart of Singapore's Chinatown and is only a few minutes walk from Outram Park metro station. However, even a short wander from the hotel will take you to some of Singapore's significant tourist sites. Each room has been decorated by a different artist and some of the decorative schemes are definitely more successful than others. For the business traveller it is worth noting that there is very little in the way of closet and drawer space but it is manageable if you are happy to leave some items in your suitcase. The restaurant serves fantastic food and it is always busy so you may need to book. I didn't have any problems with the breakfast being offered as there was a decent buffet as well as eggs that could be cooked to order and steamed pork buns. The staff were highly professional, very friendly and incredibly helpful. All in all I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimlico4A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Pimlico4A,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you found the hotel’s central location to be of great convenience to your travels about Singapore. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast served.

Thank you once again for the positive comments, and we most definitely look forward to having you with us again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were at the end of a 5 week trip to Asia, and our first to Singapore. We searched high and low for the perfect fit for us, and decided to splurge on our last 4 nights. We understand Singapore is expensive, but did not get the bang for our buck we were looking for. We had high expectations which could have been met, but were not. First, when we arrived, we were asked are you ok with stairs? We said maybe, and were given a room that was small and dark and required going up almost a ladder to get to the bed. One look at my husbands white hair should have been a clue to not offer this room to us! To her credit, when we rapidly came back to reception, she gave us a brighter and larger room on a single level. It was a weird start to our stay. It was like they were trying to fob off their least nice room on us.
What really ticked us off though, was that because it was the Chinese New Year, they were not offering breakfast. Now, their hotel is famous for their restaurant. I was really looking forward to eating there. Instead we were told to go down the street, which someone pointed out where to go but did not accompany us, I suspect because they didn't want to be there when we saw what was on offer. We went toddling along ok fine, and get to this zero atmosphere hole in the wall with prepackaged fried rice in plastic on offer, no one there except one lady looking at us like she is wondering what we are doing there. Really?? For breakfast at a place we are spending the most at of our entire trip??? We were floored. We went across the street to a great local coffee house and paid for coffee and eggs. We went back to the hotel and expressed politely but firmly our disappointment. They then offered oh, ok you can go to our sister hotel down the street for breakfast. Why didn't they offer that first? Except, breakfast there was also so mediocre, that the next morning we did not bother to go back, and just paid for our own breakfast again at a nice little cafe down the street. We would have rather been given the explanation of hey its Chinese New Year, sorry for the inconvenience, here is a $20 credit on your room, go have breakfast out, heres a few local suggestions, and we would have been fine. It just made me feel like they were squeezing pennies at a high end place, and that is disheartening. On the positive side, the location was awesome, and our (second) room was reasonably nice. If we had been paying half of what we did, it would have been in line for what we got.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear sgj,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We truly are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our Junior Lifestyle rooms are our mini-loft rooms; they feature the sleeping area on a separate upper deck. With 30 individually designed rooms in the hotel, we do have more conventional rooms available.

Majestic Restaurant was closed for breakfast during the Chinese New Year period. As a result, there was a temporary change in the breakfast venue and menu. We apologise for the inconvenience caused, and appreciate your feedback on the matter. We will continue to make improvements to ensure the utmost quality of our guests’ stay.

We sincerely hope that your recent stay with us does not mar your impression of the hotel, and we also hope that you will allow us another opportunity to host you when you are next in town.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the New Majestic during our Honeymoon in January 2013. It's a very nicely appointed hotel in a beautiful heritage building and only a short 5min walk from the local metro station. It's also close to some major bus routes and there is a taxi rank less than 50m away.

We stayed in a "Singapore Suite" room, which was fairly compact, but had some cool stylings about it, including a vibrant art piece painted straight on the wall and a suspended bed. The bathroom was very modern and had some nice amenities, and the hotel also provides free water and soft drinks (as well as tea and coffee). It also gives you free WIFI, which is a big plus, as a lot of the major hotel chains these days like to charge huge amounts. Other reviews have mentioned construction and lots of noise, but we found our room very peaceful (we were however in one of the more inward facing rooms) and didn't have any such issues.

There is a small courtyard in the middle of the hotel with a pool and deck area. Was particularly nice to use after a long, hot day at Universal Studios, and we could relax in the there as the sun went down. We weren't given any pool towels though, so assumed we just had to use our bathroom towels??

Breakfast is also included in your room rate and is in the restaurant next to the lobby. A fairly simple breakfast offering, but tasty and the waitress/chef will also come around and offer you cooked eggs however you like them done.

Overall though, a clean and fresh room, which modern facilities, and most importantly only a very short walk to the metro station, which connects to two different lines taking you to most places you need to go in Singapore. It's a short walk to parts of Chinatown, but probably a good 15-20mins+ if you want to head to the CBD. The rooms are a little bit on the pricey side of things for what you get, but sometimes it can be refreshing not staying in the major chain hotels. Just wish we got to spend more time in the pool with a Singapore Sling!

Room Tip: Some rooms appeared to have their own courtyards and overlooked the pool - if you can find out what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear TravelGod82,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic time staying with us, and that you thought the rooms were well-provided for.

We look forward to having you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is very nice and close to a lot of charming streets in China town. It has a very cool and cosy interior design where each room is different and unique. But it is too expensive compared to what you get. The rooms facing the street where very noisy at night time and the breakfast was too poor and simple compared to what you can expect at this rate level.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manilababy_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Manilababy_2012,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed to learn that you had a less than satisfactory experience staying with us. We recognise that the streets can be rather alive in the evenings, and we would be happy to arrange for a room change to a quieter room, should there be availability.

We regret that breakfast was not up to your expectations; we had a temporary change in breakfast venue and menu in February, as our in-house restaurant was closed during the Chinese New Year period. Rest assured that we have taken the necessary measures to ensure the improvement of the quality of breakfast.

We hope that your recent experience will not mar your impression of the hotel, and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our continual strive for improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#94 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#126 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#75 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing