We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design hotel!”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #102 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed February 21, 2013

At the New Majestic rooms are designed by various artists. We get Room 309, which is brilliant. The pool in the courtyard of this great design hotel provides welcome relief from the humid weather. At breakfast, we can watch the occasional swimming hotel guest from below – the pool was built right above the breakfast room with a giant glass floor ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AORTICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear AORTICA,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are happy that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. We hope to welcome you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for New Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 708 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the premier garden room for 3 nights. Rooms were unique, clean and the outdoor bathtub was brilliant. Khiels products were a lovely touch. Our room was quiet with no noise from the street.
The pool and gym were compact and great to have available.
The service was great especially one of the ladies on reception, Xin who was very helpful.
Our only issue was due to Chinese New Year our breakfast was served at a restaurant a few minutes away. The walk was not a problem however, the breakfast was no where near the standard we were expecting .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006Taylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear 2006Taylors,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you had a good stay with us, and that the team was hospitable and helpful to you.

With regards to your breakfast experience, Majestic Restaurant was closed for breakfast during the Chinese New Year period. As a result, there was a change in the breakfast venue, and a change in the type of breakfast served. We do regret the inconvenience caused to you by this change, and we hope that this does not mar your impression of the hotel.

We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning (plane arrived at around 6am) and went straight to the hotel. We have told the hotel on our booking that we would arrive very early and requested an early check-in. When we came, it turned out that they had registered our check-in date wrong (they had us for the next day) but luckily they said the room is available but not ready for us yet. They gave us a temporary room to shower and freshen up before we were moved to our actual room (which would be ready by 2pm) Nice gesture because I have double checked my booking confirmation and we didn't give them the wrong arrival date and time - staff handled everything well and we left our luggage with the receptionist so we can explore the city while waiting for the room.

Came back and we found that we were placed in an awesome themed room called The Pssy Parlour. Spent the first hour 'exploring' the room - loved the bed and the big armchair! The neon was a nice touch but it hurt my eyes after a while so we left it off for the rest of the stay in that room.

Since it's a boutique hotel and each room was different, we decided to try a different room on our second night. We picked Fluid and we looooved this room. So cozy and comfortable, soft carpet made me wanna roll around on the floor.. Too bad the shower leaked :( The room to the shower room does not keep the water from going outside, so we had a mini flood in front of the sink! Someone please have a look at this, this was the only downside of our stay in the hotel.

The breakfast was not special but I always find breakfast in hotels more convenient than tasty, so no biggie here.

Loved the mini bar and the fact they gave us 2 international adaptors to use on each room we stayed in - convenient!

On our first night in Pssy Parlour, the traffic outside was a bit loud, but earplugs were handily provided :)

Would definitely come back and try your other rooms!

Room Tip: If you want a good and noiseless sleep, get the rooms at the back and not the ones facing the street...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xandiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear xandiee,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your feedback about the leak in the Fluid room, and rest assure that the relevant departments are currently looking into rectifying the issue.

Do request for a different room when you are next with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here as this was highly recommended by our hostel as we wanted to stay in a nice room on the last day of our stay. The place is phenomenal. The rooms are very well themed and tastefully decorated. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good as well. We really enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Wendy P,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you had a wonderful time staying with us. We hope to have you again when you are next in Singapore.

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for one night, an excellent Hotel in a great location, in Chinatown, also less than 5 minutes walk to MRT station
Funky Hotel, with themed rooms, which are excellent,
Very quiet location
Staff very obliging, and helpfull, breakfast, was good, as well as the facilities
Would highly reccommend this property to anyone who does not want to stay in an expensive high rise Hotel

Room Tip: The loft suites , although very very nice, would probably not suit the elderly
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear JIM T,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation.

We are glad that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel, and we are also pleased to note that the team was welcoming and helpful during your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during Chinese New Year. We both love hotels that are a bit different and New Majestic is one of the places that jump out with the design of their rooms. We did very much enjoy the stay here. Their service is good (up to a certain level, more about that below), staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms are clean and come with everything you require during your stay.

So why a 3 and not a 5? It's really all about small things, the experience. This hotel has the potential to be a fantastic hotel given it's location, design and ammenities.

When we arrived we were informed that due to Chinese New Year the restaurant would be closed and our breakfast was held at a different location. The next morning we were escorted from the hotel to the breakfast place, a restaurant about 5 min. walking from the hotel. We were not too bothered with the walk, the hotel is situated in a beautiful location.
The breakfast however was very basic and continental not american as advertised. There was coffee, tea, eggs, toast, ham, cheese and cereals. Our expectation was to find at least a few warm items.When we got back we mentioned our dissatisfaction. It would be taken to management according to the staff. For me the big disappointment in this is that the staff never came back on the issue we raised. When we raised it again upon checking out the staff were not aware of the complaint and the only thing that came out was a 'we're sorry' and the excuse that the restaurant was late in informing them they would be closed.

A few other small things which to my opinion could be improved to make this an experience worth while:
- Whatever is advertised in the room should be in the fridge (including the free coke, which wasn't available)
- Do not replace the towels when I indicate it doesn't need cleaning (this happened twice even after verbally requesting the towels not to be changed).

All together we had a great experience here, but for the price I expect a 'majestic' experience, something that we didn't feel we received due to small details that were missed out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Maarten76,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that you had an otherwise experience staying with us. We sincerely apologise for the situation regarding breakfast. It is a temporary measure taken as Majestic Restaurant is closed during the Chinese New Year period. The staff indeed informed the management of your feedback and it has been raised to the breakfast team. Rest assured that we are working on improving the quality of breakfast served.

As for the refreshments in the mini-bar, we were in the midst of changing the mini-bars' contents and the complimentary coke has since been replenished.

We sincerely hope that your recent experience does not mar your impression of the hotel, and that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to continual improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

You'll never run short of hotel options when staying in Singapore, from local icons such as Raffles and the Fullerton, to well known venues such as Four Seasons, the Regent and Intercontinental. And truth be told if you step into the lobby in one of these latter Singapore locations and you may as well be in any one of dozens of their namesakes the world over.
However for a unique and personal slice of Singapore, you can't go past the delightful New Majestic Hotel.
The delightful little hotel wins out on three counts.
Value: Price wise the rooms are comparable with Singapore prices; yet the rooms are provided with complimentary non - alcoholic drinks in the mini-bar. Furthermore the included breakfast while not spectacular is more than sufficient.
Location: located on the outskirts of Chinatown, the hotel is 100 metres from the nearest MRT station and just two stops from Clarke Quay.
Kitchiness: this is where the hotel comes into its own. Every room is individually designed and decorated. From memory ours was the 'Blank Canvas' and it was spacious, comfortable and offered everything we needed, though we were a little curious to get a peak inside the 'P***y Parlour'. Furthermore we found the staff friendly, courteous and only too happy to help with our few admittedly minor requests.
One thing that really made our stay was the offer by our hosts of use of a shower in an unattended room the night of our check-out. Our flight had us leaving Singapore at midnight, some 12 hours after we checked out, so the opportunity to get to the airport clean and refreshed ahead of an 8 hour flight was a fantastic gesture.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Andrew M,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are pleased that you had such a fantastic experience staying with us. We are also glad to hear that the team was hospitable and helpful throughout your stay.

We hope to have you with us again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#132 of 316 in Singapore
580 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,562 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 316 in Singapore
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#106 of 316 in Singapore
883 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#127 of 316 in Singapore
251 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#93 of 316 in Singapore
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $150 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing