We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Park View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park View Hotel
Ranked #227 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in a room without windows, paying about £60 for the room. Singapore is an expensive city, so this is in the lower end of the spectrum, but I don't feel like I got good value or was the hotel of a level I would expect.

The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, so may get better if they refurbish the rooms as well as the reception and lifts, but at the moment and for the foreseeable future it is not a hotel I would recommend.

Our room was dirty and dusty, the walls even were dirty (how a wall can get dirty I don't know!). The TV was old, and didn't have any English speaking channels. The bathroom was ok, but a bit mouldy around the bath.

Wifi was not included in the room rate, and the charge was incredibly high. There is a computer for use downstairs, but they charge 1SGD for 15 minutes, at the end of which the computer freezes and you have finished what you were doing. The computer is also very slow (it slows down even more in the final minute when it starts flashing). In a country like Singapore it is not what I would imagine is acceptable.

Breakfast is very poor, a little watered down orange juice, some toast and jam and a little bit of cooked food.

The location is a saving grace, just round the corner from Bugis station and within walking distance of most of the sights of the city.

Overall not a place I would recommend, although not the end of the world if you do end up staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    73
    81
    34
    22
See reviews for
39
66
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is centrally located with easy access to many parts of Singapore. The front office staff is polite unlike most of the other budget hotels. The price paid is far above the value but the Hotel and the rooms are clean although the rooms are very small and hardly 02 people can move about.. Clean beds, old towels and a clean bathroom. The TV has a few more channels than the other hotels do. The breakfast is awful. Nothing much to eat. Singapore Hotels are so very expensive. compared with other hotels of similar standard still this hotel is over priced. Lots of restaurants around the hotel area.Not a bad place for a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I first stayed here last March 2011. Since I'm petite and was used to having an average bedroom, I don't demand large and spacious room on hotel accommodation specially if I'm just staying for a few days. In short, in my opinion Park View Hotel povides a comfy room and just a right amount of space for asians. (but I think western people prefer a bigger room). They are also lenient on reservations, they allowed us to reserve the rooms without a deposit since our case was special, we were booking quite a sum of rooms, and the set up for the rest of our stay was complicated. Nevertheless they were accommodating and have adjusted to our every request. And for that thumbs up! Because some hotels are not really that accommodating on request specially changing rooms and payment options. The only con is, hotel is quite old and for the past 2 yrs I have booked and stayed there for 3x, they don't seem to have done any major upgrades nor renovations yet. But I hope they do soon. I love the idea of walking to places instead of riding a cab.

Location: Parkview hotel is just 30mins from the airport via mrt or 20mins by taxi, 3 mins away from MRT, a minute away from Bus stop, and a minute away from sumptuous great singaporean foods! I specially love the idea of being able to have access to both affordable and fine dining meals easily.

Food: The best thing about this hotel is how it is located to Bugis, I love the foods in here! Although breakfast is served in the hotel, lunch and dinner is not (which is a norm) but you can still get your choices of food from cheap street foods/hawkers or you can go to pricey restau instead. Well for easy, fast and ready to eat foods. There is a food stall below Park View just besides it. For as low as 3SGD, you get a delicious chicken rice, or specialty duck rice, there is a hawker 5mins away which is Albert Complex, they have less than 5sgd foods here and they taste great. Or you can grab your comfort foods nearby, they have neighboring starbucks, mcdonalds, subway within the area. At night, you can enjoy unlimited steamboat dinner (its where you cook ur own food, like throw veggies, meat in, fry them or boil them).

Malls: There are plenty of malls in a 5mins walk, moreso on a 20mins walk but I would like to focus on the 5mins only, you can go to the Bugis Junction, Bugis + and Suntec Mall. If you wish to eat on the comfort of a mall, they have a choices of food on the lowerground foodcourt in Bugis Junction or on the 3rd flr level foodcourt. As well as in Suntec's food republic and SkyGarden.

NightLife and Restau: Chijmes is within a 15mins walk, it's a good place to chill at night..

And since its far away from busy and noisy nightlife of Clarkey, you can rest quiet at night but still enjoy the perks of being within the city center, whether it be for business trip, vacation or both. I think you could consider this hotel, given it's affordable price. Not bad for it's location :)

Room Tip: When making reservations, make sure u get a room with window specially when its triple sharing, coz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rhemabethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Park View Hotel during a three-week trip to South East Asia. We decided to choose at relatively cheap hotel in Singapore. Compared to most other hotels in Singapore, the Park View was reasonably priced.

The best thing to say about the hotel is that is has a great location. It is within walking distance to most attractions, like the Marina Bay, Financial District, Boat Quay, Clarke Quay, Orchard Road, Chinatown and Little India. We did not need to use taxis or the metro during our visit (except from the airport and to the railway station).

We had a "superior room", and the superior feature is that is has a window. The room was tiny, and it did not have a view to any park. The mattress was terribly hard.

The breakfast was ok - but nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sraLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location for the price.

It is very old and outdated. Perhaps too old to function as a hotel. This is one of the worst hotels that I have had. The standard room is small. Since it doesn't have windows, it has a unpleasant smell. The hotel offers limited hot water: You need to keep a button on the wall on in order to have hot water! However, this button is not labelled on the wall. So if you turned it off by accident, you don't get hot water! Once you turn it on, you need to wait for 15 minutes for the water to become hot. It is really non-sense! This is the most backward hotel facility that I have had. The breakfast is ok, not great, but can fill up your belly. The air conditioner has problems. I was asked to move to a different room because the air-conditioner needed to be fixed. The bed is hard and bed sheets are not clean. The room cannot be made very clean because it is too old. Overall, it is not worth your money and time. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you must choose this hotel, book a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btf009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

New Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staff is very rude. Rooms are terrible. Breakfast is Awefull. Simply the worst experience after travelling and staying in hotel from the past 7 years. A family owned hotel which does not care about business, forget the customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for more than 5 times (5 years in a row since 2007). The first 3 years, it was a great stay because the quality of rooms, services and staffs were good. But after that, all that I mentioned were drop. The room is to old fashion, not so hygiene, very cold and ignorance staffs, also quite average service. One thing I love from this hotel is the location. You can walk to Suntec, Bugis Junction and MRT Station in 5-10 minutes. If you a food lover, there are a lot of choices of restaurant near the hotel. Even they open until midnight. So you don't have to worry about lack of food. This December I will stay there again. Let's see how things will be done.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adhy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Kai
#105 of 312 in Singapore
232 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#172 of 312 in Singapore
434 reviews
Marrison Hotel
#248 of 312 in Singapore
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#206 of 312 in Singapore
149 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#237 of 312 in Singapore
212 reviews
Strand Hotel
#139 of 312 in Singapore
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Hotel

Property: Park View Hotel
Address: 81 Beach Road, Singapore 189692, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Downtown Core
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Singapore
Park View Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing