We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #126 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I found this hotel comfortable to stay. The room was clean. It also provided room facilities: hair dryer, water heater, tea and sugar, glasses, soap, shampoo and shower cap in the bathroom. More than enough for me! I was happy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your valuable compliments.
We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    563
    247
    70
    28
See reviews for
202
236
212
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

rooms are small but clean. beds are comfortable enough for a good nights rest. the washroom/showers also small but modern. there's a divider between the shower and toilet too. my only real complaint was the toilet door couldn't lock(probably spoilt) but its no big issue

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cryspower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team! As regards of toilet door, we appreciate your feedback and will look into it.

Once again, thank you forr sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found this hotel while researching online for Singapore accomodations and looking at trip advisor reviews. Since it was our second time to go to Singapore we wanted to try another hotel and we finally chose Victoria. The hotel may look nondescript from the outside but inside (we booked a family room) we did enjoy and felt very comfortable. The family room was spacious and always clean after we came back at night, aircon was quiet and not smelly, having a ref was a nice touch to store our food and drinks, our toiletries were always promptly replenished, and even the hairdryer was not noisy when we used it. The lady from housekeeping was nice and smiled a lot, and the concierge was always ready to help and always greeted us when we passed the lobby. Although our room was in front of Victoria St., and we could hear all the passing vehicles and even the sound of the traffic light (when pedestrians cross the street) it was not really bothersome when we slept.
In terms of transportation, it was easy to move around since there was a bus stop in front of the hotel, and 3 mrt stations - Bras Basah, Bugis, City Hall, all within walking distance of the hotel. It was also near places of interest such as Kampong Glam,Bugis, Little India, Chinatown, etc.) Though there was no breakfast provided it was very ok with us because we then could try hawker foods around the area.
Security was also a non issue to us even if the lift was outside the main lobby. It's Singapore so we feel safe.
However, we would like to suggest if the hotel can also provide handsoap aside from the other toiletries.
To sum it up, I think we found the perfect hotel to stay in again when we go back to Singapore.

Room Tip: the family room is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nolsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us such a wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Besides Victoria Hotel, we do have other hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown to meet the diverse need of guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to have you with us again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace del Mela, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After our previous horrible experience in another Singapore hotel, we were rather scared by the chance of another rip-off. We were happy, though, when we found out that Victoria Hotel is both in a perfect position (in the very middle of the city) and cheap. We were given a room which was in the highest floor and that was very nice, since the noise of the street was softened. The bathroom was nice, clean and larger than expected.

Room Tip: Asking for a higher-floor room will add value to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is perfect for both business and leisure traveller, everything are just within walking distance.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

All you need is in the tiny double room:
big and comfortable bed
functional bathroom
air con

Very silent and not smelly. Great choice for some nights as it's not really cosy and staff is professional but not more.

Of course it's not the cheapest accommodation in Singapore but it does the job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to have you with us again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

you wouldn't think much of this place when you first see it, but over all it was pretty good. hotel was in a decent location: right outside was a bus stop. hailing a taxi was pretty easy. mrt, hawker and market were walking distance. the room was excellent, spacious and with a king size bed

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mithrandir2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

One of the cutest hotel i've been in the world. small room, small beds.. small everything. but the cleanliness is superb. our room was located beside the ac exaust so the bathroom tends to be warm and noisy but closing the door will fix the noise. all the things you need in a hotel room is available from water heater to free water. no elevator thou so we have to carry our big bags. :) beast steak downstairs. 7-eleven beside the hotel and 5 mins walk to the mtr. very affordable and comfy hotel. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Victoria Hotel is centrally located within the historic Bras Basah neighborhood and easily accessible with the MRT stations, the historic Bugis Street and shopping malls just a stone throw away.

Besides Victoria Hotel, we do have other hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown to meet the diverse need of guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAvisor. We look forward to wlcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#91 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#152 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Hotel
#164 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
BIG Hotel Singapore
#114 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
#173 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 87 Victoria Street Victoria Hotel | South, Singapore 188016, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victoria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Hotel is centrally located within the historic Bras Basah neighborhood, with colourful and multi-racial cultures, and interesting shopping explorations. The hotel provides modern facilities and opens a window to multi-cultural Singapore. Victoria Hotel is convenient for getting to the heart of the city, with notable landmarks in the vicinity. Nearby are the historic Bugis Street, modern Bugis Junction, National Library Building and Bras Brasah Complex ideal for the leisure traveler seeking a cultural experience that is right in the centre of the action. Food stalls and eateries abound to entice the visitors as soon as they step out the front door of the hotel. Furthermore, Victoria Hotel is within walking distance of Raffles place, SMU and Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre at Suntec City, Mass Rapid Transit stations (MRT- Bugis and City Hall stations), Raffles City and Marina Square Shopping Centre and the Singapore Art Museum. Victoria offers a mid-range accommodation compared to the costly city-centre hotels to business travelers, SMU visitors and lecturers, and show or convention exhibitors and visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing