We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY VERY VERY Nice Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Ranked #15 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY VERY VERY Nice Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Everything is fine if compare with budget hotel only.
BTW the room is clean, but why is it quite smelly?
We do ask for the air fresher but sadly it was OOS.

I like every staff in the hotel. They are casual and friendly.
The receptionists are very helpful and always with a sincere smile.

Room Tip: Request for window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LISAotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, LISAotz.

We are glad that you have selected hangout@mt.emily as your preferred accomodation for your stay in Singapore. We are extremely encouraged to learn that our friendly staff contributed to making your stay a warm and comfortable one. We would like to find out more about the smell that you mentioned and also the OOS air freshener which should not happen and have since send you a private message.

We treasure each and every of our guest experience with us and it is through communication such as yours that we are better able to monitor and improve. Thank you.

Regards
Steven L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    317
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
137
200
119
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Frill-free room, three clean beds and a clean bathroom. Wifi worked well during the stay and the rooftop was chill enough to hangout after the whole day of exploring Singapore.

Easy access to the hotel. The breakfast buffet despite minimal spread was good and replenished quickly.

Advisable to take the taxi to the hotel/hostel on the first day of arrival if unfamiliar and have a few luggages as one was climbing stairs uphill to the hotel (from Little India) and another is a bit of a walk to the hotel (from Dhoby Ghaut).

Overall a decent place when on a budget!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank XynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, XynT.

We are glad that you have selected hangout@mt.emily again as your preferred hotel for your stay in Singapore. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Steven L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotels in Singapore do not come cheap compared to similar ones in other countries. This is where Hangout is different. They provide basic service with no add-ons (no TV, no daily changing of sheets etc.). What they do provide is clean rooms, proper security, nice breakfast, attentive and cheerful service. Wi-fi is provided but connectivity was a problem inside the room. They compensate for it by providing computers in common area. 24 hour tea/coffee is also worth mentioning. You get to choose from many options available in terms of room size. We got a big room as we were a group of 4. Suggest booking directly from their website as that provides more options compared to what sites like agoda offers. Location wise, it is equidistant from Little India and Dhobi Ghaut MRTs but if you are too old or not into walking, you may not like 5 minutes walk plus a steep climb up a row of stairs. Otherwise the area is pleasant and far removed from chaos and noise being located near a park in a residential area. In our room, AC was a little problematic and controls were not working properly. But we did not complain as we had used the room sparingly, after a long and tiresome exploration of the city.

Room Tip: Try to book through their website as it gives lots of options to select from depending on your group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_fulfilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, wanderlust_fulfilled.

We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and service experience. Please accept our apology for the challenge you encountered with our WIFI and you may be pleased to know that our network facility will be upgraded when we undergo a refurbishment from late-March through June 2014 and it will include a complete refresh of all our rooms and infrastructure upgrades on the property.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!

Regards
Steven L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay at whilst in Singapore then this is probably it!

We booked to stay here for two nights at the end of our holiday so we didn't simply fly in and out of Singapore.

The biggest positive of the place is the staff. There was nothing too big for them to deal with. Really friendly on the check in and, despite us having to check out in the morning of our day of departure (our departure being 3AM the following morning), they allowed us access to the shower facilities and chill out room for the whole day without a second thought.

The rooms were very basic and felt cramped at times but they were only used at night for sleeping in so we didn't need anything else. The cleanliness was good and the wi-fi was accessible although quite slow.

Breakfast was the only let down for this place as it was a bit of a free for all. Lots of people trying to access one toaster and coffee machine at the same time with limited crockery and cutlery (I had cereal out of a cup one morning). But this was included in the price so can't really complain too much.

All in all, if you are looking for a cheap place to stay for a short trip then this is it. If you are staying in Singapore for a long time and looking to relax I would probably want to stay somewhere a bit more upmarket.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayney8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, wayney8046.

We are thrilled that you have selected hangout@mt.emily as your preferred hotel for your stay in Singapore. We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities.

We hope to have you hangout with us again when your travels bring you back to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at hangout@mt.emily a couple of days before the F1. The hostel is nice, cozy and the staff very attentive. Buffet breakfast is included, the internet is included too, however it didnt work well in the room.
It is located closed to the MRT station (Little India) the only problem is that you have to go up and down a little hill, it doesnt matter when is in the morning, but at night when you have walked all the day long it is exhausted.Also, if you need to make laundry, they offer you coins for the machine and soap. Nice area the 7th floor, where you can enjoy the city, take sun and relax.
Good value and it looks like everybody their best to offer a good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecinaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, Cecinaka.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and our staff service standards matched your expectations. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stay there for 3 days. The room was clean and very comfortable. Free coffee and tea at 2nd floor. Bathroom got hot water. Breakfast from 7.30- 9.30 and it was good. You can try to ask room with window too , i got mine with windows . ;)

Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, Jessica G.

We are glad that you have selected hangout@mt.emily as your preferred hotel for your stay in Singapore and believe that you have made the right choice from your recommendation!

We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities and hope to have you hangout with us again when your travels bring you back to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything u need the view from our room, were gorgeous as being on the hill, room was small but cosy, internet and lounge for tv and smokers out area and also a top lounge open up. Breakfast was yummy too, buffet and as much u wanna eat. Located close to orchard road about 10 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tab459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, Tab459.

We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities and extremely glad that it contributed to making your stay a great one.

Thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,217 reviews
Hotel YAN
#52 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#12 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#7 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Fisher BnB
#4 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Property: hangout@mt.emily
Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing