We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price!!”
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Ranked #28 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good for the price!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great value for your money; clean beds, clean bathrooms, efficient check-in, friendly & helpful staff. Downside being the breakfast :-( So, if you wanto start your day with a good & nutritious brkfast, pls make your own arrangements :-((

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kn0wledgeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, kn0wledgeseeker.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback on our breakfast and you may be pleased to know that we are currently reviewing our breakfast menu for improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back to hangout@mt.emily in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    326
    72
    15
    9
See reviews for
138
207
121
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location and area is better than what I had expected. Fairly scenic, the entrance and dinning area were well designed. But once in the lift to the guest room floors one realize it is indeed a no frills budget hotel. I had to try more than three times to gain access to corridors, the guest room lock also seem to be not that fluent. Carpets were fairly run down with a slight odor.

Once inside the room it resembles budget hotels like those in Tokyo, room is very small, no table, no TV just a steel rod acting as a cloth hanger. Bed is mall but clean and comfortable. The bathroom compared to the bed area is proportionally bigger and has the standard amenities.

Internet and AC worked fine.

All in all fair value with ok access to the town and residential area.

Do take a walk up the 7th floor and chill and enjoy a panoramic view of th city.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank btakhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, btakhel.

We apologise for the challenge you faced accessing our keycard lock and have since did a check on all our doors. Other than that, we are delighted to learn that your stay was a pleasant one.

We hope to welcome you back and try our other room categories where the room configurations are different which may better suit you need(s).

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is my third time staying in Hangout Hotel Mt Emily. First time with my mum and younger brother. We stayed in a corner bedroom. We had a pleasant stay here with quite and homely environment. The hotel is clean and tidy too with friendly staffs. That's why I suggested my husband to stay here when we came to Singapore for holiday with my baby. Then after that my husband decided to come back again for our second holiday trip in Singapore because we think this hotel is very affordable. We can park our car here for free and also we have free wifi to access to the Internet. We also get to enjoy free coffee at their second floor entertainment room. Overall we like this hotel very much and we will definitely come back to stay again for our future holiday trip to Singapore.:)

Room Tip: Request a room with window city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, Madeleine1618.

Third time, still a charm huh? We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed staying with us at hangout@mt.emily again and again!

We are dedicated to continue do what we are doing now, if not better and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience more of what we has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Last time we reviewed this property was when my wife was pregnant, we revisited Hangout @ Mt Emily again this year but now with our 11 month old in tow.

As usual, check in was smooth and efficient and we were in our room in no time, as with previous stays the room was spotless and comfortable.

We had never been to the look out upstairs previously, but found it this time around. It's a great area on the roof to relax and take in the skyline.

Now I hear some folk whining about the distance of this hotel to train lines etc, it isn't that far. A 5-1o minute walk to both little India and Dhoby Ghout at a decent pace. My pregnant wife had no dramas with the walk back up the hill last year and we certainly had no dramas this year with an 11 month old in a baby carrier.

This place is really great value considering the price of other accommodation in Singapore, if you want to be in the middle of the action feel free to pay a lot more, personally I enjoy having a place to relax away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bass_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, Bass_ke.

We are thrilled that you selected hangout@mt.emily as your preferred accomodation for your stay in Singapore again. There is no greater satisfaction than having our returning guest enjoy their stay with us again and again!

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not easily accessible by foot as there are limited access points due to its location ont Emily. It's near the little India station. A good breakfast is included. The rooms are clean but small and many have no windows which leaves one feeling a little claustrophobic. Thete is a nice lounge arra on second floor. Staff is friendly and hotel will do for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, Matthew922.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and our staff service standards matched your expectations. We hope to welcome you back and try our other room categories where there are windows.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Singapore is a lovely, modern city but very expensive in comparison to other cheaper countries in Asia and what you pay for a high end hotel in Malaysia, Indonesia,etc, you would pay for a simple midrange hotel in S'pore. We found this hotel through the lonely planet (mostly our bible) and we chosed it because it was in a nice neighbourhood, nearby the centre (and a very nice food court) I was very pleased with this hotel, it was very modern, everything was very clean, sheets, toilet, shower. The breakfast has a lot choice and the ambiance in general was very nice. I would certainy come back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamossella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, Lamossella.

We really appreciate your positive affirmation of our service and facilities. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on january 2013. My husband and kids loved it very much. The long stairs was paid by a homy environment. I love the view to the park and the surrounding. My husband and kids love the entertainment room. The staffs were friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was ok. Halal foods can be found near mrt little india or walk to bencoolen street for more choices. Things that should be improved may be just the beds. The beds were a little bit hard for us. Others were just excellent. We definitely come back to HO w/Emily..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mt emily park have pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgustinaJakarta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, AgustinaJakarta D.

We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities. We are concerned to learn about your feedback on our beds and would like to request for more information. We have sent you a private message and look forward to hearing from you.

Otherwise, we are happy that you had a good time hanging out with us and hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 231 in Singapore
680 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 231 in Singapore
602 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 231 in Singapore
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#20 of 231 in Singapore
491 reviews
YMCA One Orchard
#22 of 231 in Singapore
928 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Property: hangout@mt.emily
Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road Mount Emily Hotel, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing