We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asean hotel standards are higher than anywhere else”
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Ranked #23 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Asean hotel standards are higher than anywhere else”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Singapore is a lovely, modern city but very expensive in comparison to other cheaper countries in Asia and what you pay for a high end hotel in Malaysia, Indonesia,etc, you would pay for a simple midrange hotel in S'pore. We found this hotel through the lonely planet (mostly our bible) and we chosed it because it was in a nice neighbourhood, nearby the centre (and a very nice food court) I was very pleased with this hotel, it was very modern, everything was very clean, sheets, toilet, shower. The breakfast has a lot choice and the ambiance in general was very nice. I would certainy come back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamossella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, Lamossella.

We really appreciate your positive affirmation of our service and facilities. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    325
    71
    15
    9
See reviews for
137
207
121
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on january 2013. My husband and kids loved it very much. The long stairs was paid by a homy environment. I love the view to the park and the surrounding. My husband and kids love the entertainment room. The staffs were friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was ok. Halal foods can be found near mrt little india or walk to bencoolen street for more choices. Things that should be improved may be just the beds. The beds were a little bit hard for us. Others were just excellent. We definitely come back to HO w/Emily..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mt emily park have pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgustinaJakarta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, AgustinaJakarta D.

We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities. We are concerned to learn about your feedback on our beds and would like to request for more information. We have sent you a private message and look forward to hearing from you.

Otherwise, we are happy that you had a good time hanging out with us and hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

For my first time in Singapore, it was relatively easy to get to, super friendly and helpful staff.
Was very clean and comfortable- I am very bug- phobic and I didn't see one for the 4 days I was here. Deffinately would come back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, Samf01.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our mission is to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience without compromising the quality of service and we believe that was delivered!

We look forward to you hanging out with us at hangout@mt.emily soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here last August 2012 for 3 days and 2 nights.

We availed one of their bundled promotion back then (LovingSG I think) which is roughly 200-220SGD all-in (inclusive of daily buffet breakfast, tax, GST etc. for the 3D/2N stay) The said promotion also came with a free entrance to the National botanical and orchids garden.

Overall our stay was great, the place was squeaky clean and the rooms were always well maintained and you get your own private bathroom in your own room.The buffet breakfast was also scrumptious specially the unlimited hashbrowns. Proximity to the nearest MRT which is Little India is a good 5-minute hike if passing through Mt Emily park.

Our only quibble during our stay was that they only provide 2 bottles of drinking water per day. would've been nice if they can provide free drinking water since going back and forth to the hotel is like hiking since you have to go up/down a small hill. Also it would be great if they offered their Double room w/ window at a minimal difference to their double w/o room.

Anyway having that said I still highly recommend this place to anyone travelling to SG on a budget. Always check out their website for promotions as they offer great deals :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, James T.

We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and service experience. We have take note of your feedback and will review. We treasure each and every of our guest experience with us and it is through communication such as yours that we are better able to monitor and improve! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As soon as we stepped inside the hotel, we were greeted with a smile. The check in was hassle free. The receptionist were very accomodating, very helpful and very friendly. The rooms are clean. From our room, a great view of the park and the lush greenery added to the peaceful ambiance of the hotel. The hotel is nestled on a hill. It's 10 minutes walk from Little India MRT station with food courts, ice cream house within the vicinity and on the other side (lower Wilkie), it's walking distance to Selegie bus station and near Peace Center, you can find food court, convinience stores, 24-hr bakery. It's also walking distance to Bugis towards Middle Rd, and to Dhoby Ghaut Station where you can either take the bus or metro. We were not able to explore the roof deck since it was raining when we were there. The hotel's 2nd floor served as a family bonding room where we played billiards, surfed the net, watched movies and enjoyed the bottomless coffee and tea. The feeling of being home away from home with my family is the best thing I like about this hotel. It has a homey feeling and serene ambiance of a family abode. Since it's a budget hotel, bring your extra towel for personal use. Towels are changed every 3 days ( as notified beforehand in their website). This hotel is highly recommended for budget conscious, not compromising the fun and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Request rooms with windows. In the morning you will wake up with lush greenery and chirping of birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_pj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, dr_pj18.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are delighted to learn of the positive review on your recent stay at hangout@mt.emily. Thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hangout is clean, efficient with super friendly staff. The roof terrace on top floor is fab, great place to relax and read a book with great city views. You can alk to Little India in 10mins and Orchard Road in 10mins. If you have kids, there is a small park across the road with swings and climbing frame. The breakfast is not great....best to head out and eat. I have stayed here many times and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window if you are claustrophobic like me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaMango_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, MandaMango_12.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to hangout@mt.emily and very rewarding for our team to realise that their level of service highlighted your experience with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to you hanging out with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean and spacious for a "hostel." The staff was extremely friendly and helped book cabs, provide directions, and recommendations for their city. The hangout's top floor has a lovely floral rooftop deck with a shade providing trellis, a BBQ pit, and a shallow (6" deep) shower pool. Our room was clean with a decent view of the city skyline. Our only real commentary on the facility was the temperature in the room. Our thermostat did not work and cold air kept the room at a brisk 18 oC, even with a 28 oC set point on the display. No one could fix it and we were freezing.

Well located in the city, if you're looking for a nice place to stay in Singapore while on a budget, we would recommend the Hangout.

PS - for a splurge check out the fantastic restaurant Wild Rocket in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, pgswim.

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. However, I regret to learn about the air-condition situation you encountered during your stay.

I have send you a private message to request for more information from you for us to review and I look forward to hearing back from you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#15 of 227 in Singapore
485 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 227 in Singapore
676 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 227 in Singapore
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 227 in Singapore
594 reviews
YMCA One Orchard
#21 of 227 in Singapore
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Property: hangout@mt.emily
Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road Mount Emily Hotel, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing