We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COOL place to Hangout in HOT happening Singapore”
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Ranked #25 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Location: 12 mins walk to Little India MRT station and about 30 mins walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station. The only issue is that as the name suggests, this hotel is located on top of Mount Emily (more like a hill). You need to walk down steps to get to the city and up again on your way back. Not recommended if you have bad knees or hips, but there is always the option of taking a taxi. For those who are game, it is great exercise to work off the yummy food during your Singapore stay.

Rooms: Variety of rooms to suite every budget available including dorm rooms with shared facilities. I stayed in a double room with ensuite. Basic room with comfortable bed, aircon, hot shower, sofa, reading table and great views of Emily Hill Park. There are no in room safe box, no TV and no fridge, as this is afterall a no frills backpacker style hotel. Also, when you are in Singapore, you will out the whole day doing stuff and the cool aircon room is a welcome relief after a day of exploring/partying. Breakfast is included with the room and it consists of toast, cereals, mini buffet of sausages, egg and fried noodles. Room is secure with key card entry. There is an elevator to access higher floors.

Facilities: There are no pool nor gym but there is a tanning/viewing deck on the roof with shower for sunseekers. There is free wifi in every room and free use of communal computers on level 2. On level 2, there is also a big screen TV, a pool table, magazines, books with free coffee/tea for you to chill and mingle with other guests.

Pros:
-Friendly reception with quick check in/out. Compliments to Farah for a great job!
-Secure, clean, free wifi, free coffee/tea, simple but delicious breakfast and free exercise with the hill walks.
-Reasonable rate as hotels in Singapore are very expensive. Book directly at their website for the best rates. You may find cheaper hotels elsewhere but some are located in dodgy areas.
- Close to Little India and its MRT station which can take you all over the island as the whole island is linked up with the new MRT lines in operation.

Cons
-The daily trek up and down the hill....if you are not a fan of walking in humidity. Otherwise, this place is great!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabaiwanderer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
There are newer reviews for hangout@mt.emily
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 711 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at this place during the Formula One Grand Prix in late September.I chose it as it appeared to be in a relatively quiet area but still close enough by MRT to the middle of town. Both of these expectations were met. Very quiet and only 15 minutes to the city centre. Its a bit of a steep walk up to the hostel if you have any heavy bags to carry but otherwise no problem.
I stayed in an ensuite room which was clean, had a comfortable bed and had a great shower. Air conditioning was a bit noisy but you get used to it.TV in common room only.Breakfast[included in price] was just the usual Asian affair but passable. Great rooftop for relaxing at night,top views. Free Internet and wifi. front desk staff quite helpful.
All considering,and especially value for money, this is a place I would stay in if I ever came back to Singapore.

Room Tip: After talking to someone who stayed in one of the shared rooms it would probably be worthwhile to pa...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiflyer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Singapore hotels are very expensive and it's hard to find a private room outside of a 3-star type place located outside central areas or very very tiny. Hangout was a surprising good compromise. Facilities were clean and staff helpful. If you like a quiet environment, then its rather isolated location is a plus. Food in the restaurant is good but very expensive. Basic breakfast. Not bad value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent forever trying to find affordable accommodation in Singapore that was also in a good location. I eventually settled on the Hangout at Mt Emily and am very pleased with my choice.
Views from the top of the building are very cool as is the setting up there of flowers, trees and sun loungers.
The private ensuite room we had was simple and clean, very comfortable and everything we needed for 2 nights.
A 5 minute walk down the hill takes you into Little India (restaurants/shops) and the MRT station which makes getting around very convenient.
Breakfast is included and has more than enough options for most people. I struggled a bit but then I'm one of those annoying folk with allergies etc.
Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly Dani who we met on arrival and departure.
We did eat at the hotel restaurant our first night and blew a big portion of our budget! Meals are very expensive as are drinks!! But we were tired from the long flight so decided to stay in. It was only the next day we found a vending machine with pot noodles etc in the chill out room. The chill out room is also where about 6 computers and free internet access are located.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Singapore hotel accomodation is a total rip off but we were still hesitant about staying in a hostel, but the Hangout was a real surprise. It was clean and modern and the staff friendly and helpful.
Stayed in a private room without window, and another with. There is plenty to see and do in Singapore and this place is great to come back to after a long day/night out.
It's within walking distance to Little India MRT. Not all taxi drivers know how to get to it as yet, so take a walk around and get familar with the area first. Breakfast is basic and the common area with tv/computers is well done but basic.

If your expectations aren't over the top, then this is a perfect place for a traveller on a budget.

Pros:
Security - cameras on every turn, no one can access a floor unless they are staying on it.
Roof top - nice roof top area to relax, with a view
Price - totally affordable compared to hotels
Cons:
Window - should open in bathroom for ventilation - simple 'fly screens' would keep any insects out. (some rooms open, others didn't)
Air con - while we could simply press the power button to switch it off, we couldn't adjust the temperature, bit too cold.
Stereotypical budget travellers - unfortunatley being a hostel, it attacts young males who came back late at night noisey banging on doors and swearing. Shame to say they were australians on their way to thailand. In this regard I would not bring children here.

Room Tip: window doesn't really make a difference. single beds are tiny so get a double for leg room. room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiggoandPiggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Good place to stay, Same good hostel as those i stayed around UL, even better. They serve continental breakfast, not many choices, but good value since they are coverred in the room rate. My friend and i stayed in ensuit in May for 4 nites, and they have promptions. Even for the shared bath room, they are clean. But a tip, turn on the heater 15mins before you want to have shower to go. Yes, you have to walk about 8 mins after metro, but i would definitely stay there. It is convenient, you can take the bus to go to botanic garden, walk to bugis junction... Love Emily so much!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

the rooms are tidy and clean, althought depending on which one you'll get relatively small. A big disadvantage though is the AC that you can't fully turn off. Also there are no windows (which isn't too bad after all, since this keeps mosquitos from coming in)

On the second floor, there is a big lounge with 6 computers, a pooltable and a TV. free wifi is also available in everz room.

You can enjoy a decent breakfast here, allthough the coffee is terrible (but to be fair, i've been to asia for a whole month and never have I tasted good coffee outside of starbucks)

The reason why I rated "average" instead of "very good" is the fact that breakfast and checkout times are too early. (last serve at 9 o'clock, checkout at 11) It wouldn't hurt to add an hour since the majority is on holyday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fisher BnB
#2 of 234 in Singapore
417 reviews
YMCA One Orchard
#21 of 234 in Singapore
943 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#13 of 234 in Singapore
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 234 in Singapore
611 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#23 of 234 in Singapore
499 reviews
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#15 of 234 in Singapore
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road Mount Emily Hotel, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $31 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing