We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist
Ranked #19 of 139 Fun & Games in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Welcome to TheEscapeArtist TheEscapeArtist or T.E.A in short, is founded by 3 friends who share a love for deciphering clues and codes to solve challenging puzzles. A combination of these clues and puzzles embedded in a locked up scenario similar to that in movies or video games give birth to the real life escape game. The origins of such reality escape games actually began in Japan and have now gained fans across many different countries such as US, China & HK before coming to Singapore. Motivated by the lack of alternative entertainment and a stressful environment in Singapore, T.E.A is created to give players the chance to relieve stress by escaping from reality and immersing themselves in this refreshingly new-age entertainment experience. Rekaerbedoc Noos Su Nioj Have you solved the code?
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went to three room escape places in Singapore and loved them, but this was by far the worst. We did two rooms - some kind of zen room (terrible) and then the davinci room.
The zen room was a collection of cheezy quizzes that you would find in the saturday paper. It didn't make logical sense, and the only reason we were supposed to know what to do first was because there were locked boxes labelled #1, #2, etc. Other businesses arranged their rooms better. There was even a mistake in one of the puzzles, making it impossible, and some of them just didn't make sense.

The Davinci room was better, but still a few of the puzzles were based on sudoku-style games. All in all, we prefer the escape-rooms with more variety of puzzles and a more logical approach.

The staff were nice enough, and friendly, but the rooms were less exciting than the others we've tried.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    6
    2
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Escaped!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first experience and we were all scared and jittery before we even went in! Staff were wonderful and super helpful (Because we were so lost and stuck and our brain cells were pretty much dead). The set was really good and it took awhile for our eyes to adjust to the darkness. Once we got the hang of it we could progress and the process of getting the clues and breaking the puzzles was really fun! Enjoyed almost every moment of it (except when we were stuck and hopeless at some part hehe). Good challenge to the brain! Even got a super extension because we couldn't escape within the stipulated time! Would definitely come back here again to try the other rooms. Great job guys!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“good activity to do!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Went Singapore 3 weeks ago and visited The Escape Artist with my friends.

We have played escape hunt before and was expecting something similar. It turns out even better! The stories, clues are well thought of and the experience was great.

Would recommend everyone to try out this activity if they have the time on their itinerary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LWL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mind boggling”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a great concept and game. If you and a few mates are wanting to get together and have a blast for an hour, this is a great way to do it. You have never seen an hour pass so quickly.

Staff are excellent and very helpful, but bribery will not get you any clues :-) well worth locating them...which was the harder bit, but slip down the laneway between the bars and it is right in front of you.
Nice work guys.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rjwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“A great escape”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My friends and I went to The Escape Artist sometime in Jan and we have been fans for such real life room escape game. I have personally played lots of escape/puzzle games on computer and phone but the real life version truly blows your mind!

We have went to a few places now but The Escape Artist is our preferred shop as we like the way their stories flow (much more connected and related to the game). Unlike other places, it kinda make us feel like we are solving the puzzle for the sake of solving it. Their puzzles are rather challenging through with the lowest escape rate in town but that's part of the fun I guess.

Oh, and not to forget, their staffs are really friendly and helpful which makes the experience more complete. I would recommend After Dark and heard that Injustice/CSI is very good as well! Will try it next time =D

Will definitely be back or more... but its quite expensive =( although other places are charging similar prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 18happygolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Escape Artist also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Escape Artist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing