We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Betel Box Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$258
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$186
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$143
$133
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$271
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$357
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$202
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$529
$312
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$353
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$297
$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$114
$92
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
139
86
28
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
86
28
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roombed dormkaraoke barsfemale dormfree breakfasttoilet showerlaksaair contea and coffeepublic transportcommon areasper daymin walknearest mrt stationhome away from homebus stopplace to sleep
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 261 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2009

This was a surprisingly nice hostel with a good, free breakfast and a nice central location. Staff was helpful with directions around town and suggestions of activities. Bathrooms clean, but shower was low flow and shared with entire floor. Street was lively at night but the rooms were well insulated from the noise. We enjoyed hanging out in the common area which had satelliteTV and a good WIFI connection.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VermontTravelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

I booked this place online through one of the online hostel booking websites as I wanted somewhere to stay while I was in Singapore. This place came out looking decent enough so I put in a booking.

Due to its location east of the city centre it is close to the airport and the closest MRT station is Paya Lebar. This station is a fair 15 minute walk from the hostel as described by the hostels website. There is a closer bus stop, though of course the MRT is faster than the bus, though you could easily change onto the MRT from the bus at Bugis. The hostel is also located in the red light district though as it is Singapore it is still a safe area and there is a bar underneath the hostel which makes the back dorm on the second floor slightly noisy at night which is a bit annoying.

The hostel itself seemed to be fairly clean and tidy, especially in the slightly more expensive small dorm, the other dormitories did have more of a prison feel about them, though they were also fine, all of the dorms have air conditioning.

The showers in the communal area, which actually were the only ones I used were clean and tidy. The breakfast was also OK but not great, for washing up there was no hot water available, but it really worked OK, compared to a student flat it was very clean and tidy.

The staff were very helpful at telling you which bus to catch and how to get around the city, there were also interesting people to meet at the hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Excellent hostel with friendly, honest staff who created a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in the Family room which was fine although hairs on pillows on one of the beds did not create a great first impression! Had to queue for shared bathroom sometimes and it did get grubby due to the amount of people using it but was cleaned regularly. We had a great time there and our kids loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank the_wibblywobblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

I am relatively experienced traveller who has stayes in various lodgings throughout Asia.

We arrived at this place on a Sunday night at 130 AM and were greeted by a cool employee who registered us and explained things to us (almost everything). We were taken by the nice reception/lounge area and thought "what a cool place!"

However soon enough our first impressions were sorely dashed.
We arrived in the dorm room which housed 10 other bunk beds and REEKED of body odour and continues to reek of this foul and disgusting smell as I write this review, almost 24 hours later.

Also, on their website they mention that foreign labourers and local residents are not allowed to make use of the premises but this was definitely not the case. As I write this review, there is one Indian couple who never leave the room and seem to have set up shop here. They talk so much and disturb others who are trying to sleep as well as trying to make out in a public area - disgusting!

Also, they advertise 30 free minutes of internet per person per day. Do not think that this means you can use the 30 minutes anytime throughout the day - you are limited to one session, whether it be 1 minute or 30.

We were going to return to this place after coming back from our stay in Malaysia but no more - I'd rather sit in the airport for an extra 3 hours

So if you enjoy sleeping in a place that smells like a high school locker room and like to put up with other oddities, please feel free to book this place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SlavingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

Singapore Betel Box Hostel , beware of all that glitters is not gold.

Recently stayed there in a private room $50SD a night , we paid for dirty carpets , gecko poo and dust. Honestly it was quite filthy.

communal Kitchen was dirty with a dish rag that had green mold growing in it and a washing up brush that looked like a toilet brush. No hot water in the kitchen to wash your dishes in , I witnessed a number of guests just rinsing their dishes without washing them.

No hot shower in our shared bathroom that was used by many others and dirty with hairs on the floor. Cold showers were not my idea of $50 a night.

Breakfast was free and good.

Internet free at 20 minute sessions per day , so not unlimited as they claim.

Communal room was kitchen, dining , internet , tv office and pool table all in the one room , no longer tidy and new as in their online photo's.

Lack of communication between Tony and his staff let to an embarrassing incident and us leaving early , we booked a decent Hotel WITH private bathroom and hot water for $9SD a night more.

Joo Chiat road also contains a few brothels and noisy nightclubs , you are safe though.

Beware , it's ok but there are many that are better.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mahjong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews