We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hostel going”
Review of Betel Box Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Betel Box Hostel
Ranked #19 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really lovely staff, felt really homely. The downside of that is a few of the dorms had permenant guests with a LOT of stuff!

Its a good place for wifi and movies with a bit of chilling, good transport links. The food in the bistro wasn't great but with a microwave and a 7/11 downstairs you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The smaller dorms were a bit cramped, would go for a larger dorm
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Betel Box Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

What you may not like:

- Cleanliness: Especially bathrooms. I think I cleaned more than the staff did during my stay as even for my standards it got a bit too low at times.
- State of mattresses & pillows. Rips & stains, don't look too closely.


Why I keep coming back:

- Location: I love it. Not far from airport & reasonable close to East Coast Park. More of a neighborhood than "being in the big city" feel.
- Neighborhood, lovely area with many shops and restaurants (it's not Indian as someone wrote, it's mixed w. more Malays as you move closer towards main road w. the shopping center and food court). Whatever you like, you will find something to eat, even if it's in the supermarket.
- Free use of a real gym nearby - how many places can offer that?
- It's cheap
- Staff is wonderful & friendly
- Great common room to hang out in with lots of books and magazines. Good to have when it's pouring (yet again) in SIN city
- Dorm on 2nd floor is large, you won't feel squeezed together.

This was my 3rd stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinalcrackerbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Betel box Bistro, home of the best Peranakan cuisine in Singapore, is slated for closure from 21 July!

This is a tragedy indeed for all lovers of fine Peranakan cuisine. This is where the best ever Ikan Sumbat, Kachang Botol, Ayam Buah Keluak, Pork Belimbing and Laksa Goreng (lovingly prepared by the singularly indomitable Uncle Ben) can be found, amongst other sumptuous gourmet delights.

Make sure you make a date with Uncle Ben between now and 31 June (meals from 1 - 21 July are by reservation only, and only from Fridays to Sundays) or you miss a chance of pure Peranakan goodness.

Uncle Ben, we are going to miss you and your great cooking lots and lots! Hope to track it down again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I wanted somewhere a bit cheaper to stay in Singapore for a couple of days and chose this place for the proximity to transport and the women's only dorm. I'm not usually a hostel kind of person - and this place wouldn't turn me into one all the time - but it was everything I needed, which was a place to sleep and store my bags. Sleep wasn't so easy as the air conditioning was loud and rattled while not doing the best job. Sleeping in a bunk-room with the coming and going of people during the night isn't easy either but I expected that, and the price reflected it. It was nice to get away from the pricey glitz of the Singapore I usually see on one night stopovers. From memory, breakfast was toast and tea or coffee which is available to help yourself to, but there are so many places to eat in the area that I never bothered. The 'family' room - with double bed and single - is generally booked in advance I was told. The website is fairly accurate, and the staff are well informed about the 'touristy' things to do.

Room Tip: Family room wouldn't be quite as disruptive, and is on the higher floor which also has the women...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked bunk bed here and it was average size room overpacked with bunk beds, everything about it was average or bellow average. Hostel is located in a busy indian area, some good restaurants nearby. Small breakfast is included and its served in a small caffee restaurant in the same building. Forgetable experience, but i can recommend it to the younger guests, its fairly cheap compared to other hostels in Singapore, fairly good value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikiboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great location with plenty of inexpensive and authentic eateries, close to bus stops that will take you into center city in 20 minutes, 15 minute walk to East Coast Park and 15 walk to the metro station, about 45 minutes to and from the airport taking the bus (fare was under $2 Singapore dollar each way!).

As for the hostel itself, it's very basic. Bathrooms were clean most of the time and bedding is firm and comfortable. ACs are turned on after 6pm. Staff is friendly and helpful. I stayed for 4 nights in Betel early April in the 8 person room, with plenty of sightseeing time. Th staff gave me great suggestions for trips all over the city. Free wifi, full fridge to store your food., microwave and unlimited tea and coffee. Usual breakfast is fruit with bread and coffee, but in the weekends, the hostel gives you a $3.9 food credit to use in the bistro downstairs. $3.9 buys you two eggs, beans, and toast so it's not a bad deal!

Room Tip: Don't pay more than 18$ for a 8 person mix room bunk. You can get deals on Agoda or Hostels.com
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I decided to try a backpackers out of town as a couple of people had told me about this place. Its not a modern day hostel, but a pretty damm good one. Its bulid with character and passion, it has,everything a traveller needs. Anyway I spent 4 nights in singapore and found that the area Joo Chat road is awesome over modern day cbd singapore. Lots of food in the area and transport is easy to get into town by bus or train. Staff are very helpful, with anything
There is a large and really cool common room with free fast wifi-always working, the dorms themselves are a little spartan, but strangely enough mine had a sofa and 2 armchairs, but overall i think with all the character the place has, these dorms bring it down a little and could do with something to decorate or enchance them because they can look pretty depressing. Also the wifi doesnt get into the rooms.But they are clean and I think maybe the idea is to get people together in the common room and the dorms just for sleeping or resting.

Room Tip: Theres a single bed room costing more money that gets the wifi
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fisher BnB
#2 of 234 in Singapore
417 reviews
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#13 of 234 in Singapore
329 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#28 of 234 in Singapore
498 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 234 in Singapore
611 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#15 of 234 in Singapore
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Box Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Box Hostel

Address: 200 Joo Chiat Road Betel Box Backpackers Hostel, Singapore 427471, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $13 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Betel Box Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Joo Chiat Road, "Betel Box" is the fruition of our experiences of hostelling, backpacking and budget travelling around the globe and meeting like-minded travellers. It embodies that we want in a backpackers' hostel: friendly, respectful, addictive, aesthetically pleasing, functional and representative of all cultures in Singapore. Betel Box Hostel provides a home away from home with its creature comforts, is within easy reach to all parts of Singapore and in a culturally rich part of town! Who says budget accommodation in Singapore means budget service? And oh, you get to enjoy our Stimulating Company! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Betel Box Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Box Hotel Singapore
Betel Box Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing