We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for Falafel and Hummus in SG, Hands Down!”
Review of Fill a Pita

Fill a Pita
Ranked #442 of 11,380 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Terrific location if you are part of Singapore's CBD working crowd and want a change of taste. We are tucked away at Nankin Row, a pedestrian street that is easily accessible from Chinatown MRT and Telok Ayer MRT. Wallet-friendly prices, great service, and amazing food . The menu is 100% vegetarian and 100% halal - mostly sandwiches in pita (Arabic) bread, salads and dips. Everything is prepared on site daily except for our pita bread. We don't use eggs, butter, or milk in any of our dishes and many items can be served without garlic and onion. Most of our menu is available all week including our best seller Koshari brown rice that is now available everyday after a popular demand and we have added new dishes to the menu like the Lasagne, Moussaka, Chili Stuffed Falafel, and a whole desserts menu of Fruit Salad, Vegan Cake, and Baklava. Don't forget to try our home-made drinks from Lemonade, to Hibiscus & Tamarind. * Lasagne is served on Tue/Wed * Moussaka is served on Wed/Thur
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Recently met up with a friend at Fil A Pit for some Middle Eastern food, and both of us were really impressed with the quality of the food and the service in this unassuming location. Both of us has falafel sandwiches and shared a plate of hummus. Coming from the Middle East myself, I can confidently this is the best Falafel and Hummus I have had so far in Singapore.
Keep up the good work guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Miya-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassanElNahas, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Miya-Chan,

Thank you for your recent visit and positive review. We are very glad to hear that you liked the food. Do come again and try the rest of our (fairly limited) menu. You might also like the falafel pita with taboulleh added inside.

We hope to see you (and friend) again before long.

All best,
Hassan (and the team at Fill-a-Pita)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Middle Eastern food I have had in Singapore, in terms of food quality, price and Service ( what else is there?).
Have eaten at Fill-A-Pita at least 5 times and have found it consistently exceptional ; the falafel, baba ghanoush, labne cheese, beans and the hummus are terrific. My favourites: the beans, red pepper hummus and the falafel.
Still haven't tried the koshari rice; looking forward to that.
Haven't come across a nicer / more hospitable proprietor in this town yet!
Am hoping that someday Hassan opens somewhere on Orchard Rd for us non-CBD'ers.
Keep up the outstanding work Hassan, and come to Orchard and the West ( Holland Village?) soon!

Thank CarlAthayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassanElNahas, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Carl,

Thanks for the review and the multiple visits. Hope to see you on a Thursday / Friday to try our koshari rice.

As for opening on Orchard Road, would love to but that won't likely happen in the coming year. Who knows, maybe 2016...???

We hope to have you over again soon.

All best,
Hassan (and the team at FIll-a-Pita)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went specially to Shenton way to eat falafel and baba ganush in this tiny and crowde spot, but unfortunately the owner (which was very kind and attentive) said they didn't have my favourite dish with cooked eggplant. What a pity!

However he suggested to eat my pita with falafel and taboulleh, and I loved it! So tasty! Will surely come back to eat tahine and baba ganush!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isa128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassanElNahas, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hello Isa,

Thank you for the positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first meal at Fill-a-Pita.

I hope we will have the babaganoush back on the menu soon. This eggplant dish - a favorite with our customers - is one of two items we don't make in-house (the other being our pita bread). The lady who makes it for us has returned to Egypt for an extended stay. We hope to bring it back once she returns.

So keep coming back and we'll be glad to hear what you think of our babaganoush when you try it.

All very best,
Hassan (and the team at Fill-a-Pita).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My first visit to this place today - I didn't expect much looking at the modest ambiance. But no complaints as the price is very reasonable and the Food is just great !!

Totally recommend this for all vegetarians and health-freaks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SnehaG1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassanElNahas, Manager at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Many thanks for the positive review and glad that you enjoyed our food and found it be healthy.

Do come back again soon.

Regards,
Hassan (and team at Fill-a-Pita)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

A nice little gem tucked in Shenton Way. Owner was friendly & service-efficient ! The large falafel pita sandwich was truly awesome. Will return to try the favita bean pita & koshari...

Thank laucnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassanElNahas, Owner at Fill a Pita, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Many thanks for the very positive review.

Glad to hear that the falafel pita was to your liking. Looking forward to have you back for the fava pita and the koshari rice. Incidentally, we offer the koshari rice only on Thursdays and Fridays at this time.

Do ask us to prep you a falafel pita with taboulleh salad inside (if you like parsley). It's a very tasty combination.

Wishing all best,
Hassan (and team at Fill-a-Pita).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fill a Pita also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Fill a Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing