We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our stay at Shangri La Appartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Apartments
Ranked #41 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at Shangri La Appartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just completed 10 days with the family at Shangri La Apartments. It was the perfect mix for us, as I had work to do in Singapore and South Korea whilst my wife intermittently had to get into her Singapore Offices in Changi Biz Hub. Its a great location, the facilities are 1st class with access to not only the apartment pool but the hotel main pool, gym facilities & everything else you could ever wish for. The free wireless internet around the place is so powerful. Access to laundry washer & dryer on each floor, a very good kitchenette area in each apartment, but above all we loved the staff. Our maid servicing our floor was great (the smiliest woman I have ever met!) but the star of the show was Sue Rosales at front desk. My 2 boys, wife and I love her and we are taking her home with us next time. She made our stay memorable and helped me out on a few occasions like the time I left my Ipad on our SQ flight inbound from London. The thing was virtually at the Shangri La apartments before I was...like that would happen in the UK!! We left our swimming costumes in the dryer when we left....Sue had it packed and in a taxi which was hand delivered to us as we check in at Changi at departure....and so it goes on. This is customer service taken to another level and for us Europeans frankly extraordinary. We will be back in 2014.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
12
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our travel agent raved about the Shangri-La Singapore, saying it was one of the best in the world, in his opinion. He said he would notify his contacts at the hotel to give us some VIP treatment. So at check-in I came with high expectations. Things looked promising when reception announced that we were being upgraded.

But alas, they put us into a bland, soulless, musty two-bedroom two-bath on the third floor at the Shangri-La Apartments. My heart sank when I saw the place. I suppose they considered it to be an upgrade, but I’m wondering if I might have been happier in a standard hotel room with a bit more style on a higher floor with maybe a view.

Also the tiles of the pool at the Shangri-La Apartments could use a scrub. They were a bit fuzzy from lack of use, I think. The big pool at the hotel complex didn’t have that problem.

I came away disappointed with my experience at the Shangri-La.

Room Tip: Stick to the hotel; avoid the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWriterExm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent at Shangrila apartments almost one year and it is definitely a place where we wouldn't hesitate to return. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. All our needs were solved promptly. Rooms are spacious and clean with AC in every room,lovely furnished. We were also cooking quite often and kitchen was well equipped to meet our expectations. Internet connection is very fast and stable and whole hotel complex is well covered with signal. Apartment complex is providing complimentary facilities like tennis court,sauna,pool with jaccuzi. Another big advantage was that all appartment guests could use Shangrila hotel facilities free of charge (gym, tennis courts,pool,...) As well as complimentary shuttle busses to differenet parts of the city (business centres,sentosa,mrt station,etc). Furthermore location itself is very convenient right at the orchard road and close to botanical gardens.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights and had a pretty good stay. I had and early check in by 9am, got complimentary roll away bed for my maid, and all the staffs were so attentive.

My only problem was with the hot water, the shower ran out of hot water after five minutes, it was so annoying. Other thing is, they really need to clean up and maintain the flowers on the balcony, full of dead plants, dirty, and loads of insects.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff were very pleasant and helpful however that is about where it ends on the positive front. We arrived at about 9pm after a long flight with a very active 1 year old and discovered unlike anywhere else we have stayed, they charge per day not per night so our 9 nights charge turned into 10 days charge which when the cost was $600++ per day is not insignificant. We then went up to the room to find the door keys didnt work so frustration number 2. Then when we entered the apartment we were mortified. We had been told over the phone that the serviced apartment suites were the same as the ones in the hotel just with the additional benefit of a kitchen/kitchenette and a minimum stay of 7 days. However, I doubt this as the 2 bedroom suite/apartment we were given was decorated back in the 1970s with old cigarette smelling soft furnishings and brown plastic cabinets. The bathrooms were old and even the wall paper was peeling by the door. We immediately said we were not prepared to stay and the staff agreed to let leave despite having already swiped our credit card. Unfortunately by this late hour we were struggling to find somewhere else to stay and so the staff found us a room in the actual Shangri La hotel..however failed to mention that it was a twin until we arrived at the front desk...which just added insult to injury given I hadnt seen my other half for 3 months! So anyways, unless you get a 3 star price do not stay here given its 5 star pricing!

Room Tip: dont stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FJCOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at Shangrila apartments. Much better value than hotel with access to all facilities there. Needs modernising but very clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurants and The Line probably best buffet in town. In passing mentioned to the receptionist I really fancied egg tarts but forgot to pick them up on the way back. Next day, she ran after me with a bag of egg tarts which she has picked up on her way to work. Now that is exemplary service. Thank you Suriney for making our stay in The Shangrila so memorable. You are what makes Singapore a great place to visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in the Shangri-La serviced apartments for 4 weeks upon relocating to Singapore last month.
While the apartments look a bit outdated and could do with some cosmetic renovation, I can't echo the other reviews that they are tired and worn. As other guests already mentioned, we also had an issue with the shower running low on water the 1st day, but this was promptly fixed.
While both our airport pick up and departure got messed up, staff were quick to rectify the issue at no cost to us.
One advantage of staying here is the use of all facilties in the main hotel, which are quite adequate, especially the hotel gym. The cake shop sells some of the best in Singapore and the location is actually quite central close to Orchard Road with free shuttle buses to the business district and other major areas in the morning.

In summary a grand property in need of some overhaul to iron out issues brought upon by simple wear and tear.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor away from the rather noisy elevator bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayT_UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fraser Suites Singapore
#26 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Serviced Suites Orchard Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Apartments

Property: Shangri-La Apartments
Address: 1 Anderson Road, Singapore 259983, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tanglin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Singapore
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#60 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Apartments blend thoughtful layouts with enticing recreational options. Fully furnished apartments are well-appointed with crisp, contemporary design in earth tones. Residents also enjoy privileged access to all facilities and services of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore during their stay in these short-term apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Shangri-La Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Apartments Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Apartments Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing