We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and Antsy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Ranked #259 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey and Antsy!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location: Located at the heart of Chinatown, you can easily reach the hotel by bus or MRT. Very close to the shopping malls and just 5 minutes walk to Pagoda Street, the cheaper shopping center than the malls.

Lobby: Just 2 tables and 2 chairs, I even can’t say it’s a lobby! So small! The receptionist is not friendly too, they serve you while watching TV dramas.

Elevator: Works well but only up to 4th floor. So, if your room on the 5th floor, you have to take the stairs from the 4th floor.

Room: I stayed with in a family room on the 5th floor, the room is pretty small, no windows, just a small and locked windows near the ceiling. TV and aircon works well, but the bed and pillows are not so comfortable. And this is what I hate the most, there are so many ANTS when I woke up! even though I didn't bring any food or drink in my room.
Bathroom is quite good, cold and hot water, closet and the tub works well.No curtains and hate the smell of the provided hair and body gel!

Price: Maybe because it’s located at the main city road, it costs quite EXPENSIVE and NO BREAKFAST! If you want to save money, definitely don’t stay here. Just walk around Pagoda St. or Smith St. and you can find good hotels with more good quality, reasonable price, comfortable room and free breakfast too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponyodesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    76
    82
    38
    38
See reviews for
39
55
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here in August 2011, not 2012.
I booked this hotel because it was cheap as I was travelling for a few months. I loved wandering around China Town. It was the last few days of my travels and it was a good place to be.
The hotel isn't great, but it was fine for what I needed.

There are loads of great chinese restaurants - I found lots of vegetarian chinese restaurants which was fab, so I had some great food before heading back home.

My one gripe was that the hotel wouldn't phone for a taxi for me, which is pretty unusual. You have to walk to the taxi rank, not far away, but I had heavy bags and just wanted to relax on the way to the airport.

For Singapore, the reception staff weren't very friendly or helpful unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wondercatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at Hotel 81 China Town. It is in a great spot. Close to the CBD, China Town and the MRT. The staff were very helpful too. However, the rooms are quite smal and although there are windows in the rooms you can not actually open them. Still it is a pleasant place to stay in a great part of town. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SammyPudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My friends from overseas stayed here for 2 nights. being a local, I will admit this Hotel is in a superb location. Great eats a few steps away, and the Chinatown MRT Station is just across the road.

Rooms are miserably small though. Rooms with 2 single beds are relatively larger but has no windows!! In the end, the most distinctive thing about the hotel is the overpowering smell of detergent or some lemon scented spray. Room staff walked around the hallway spraying it everywhere! and I do mean everywhere! For a moment, it would seem as though their hands are mechanically fixed to press the nozzle every 3 seconds.

Great staff though! I saw a staff berated by a rather unreasonable customer in my opinion. The customer's insult became rather personal however the hotel staff still did their best to calm her down and was ever so professional. Kudos to them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xinyi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Made my booking through Agoda on the last minute, with consideration of the location. The Location of this hotel is truly convenient, very close to the Chinatown MRT station Exit E, very easy access to explore the city. The surrounding neighborhood has everything you are looking for: cheap meal, convenient store, shops etc. everything are just a stone throw away from the doorstep.
I would consider that this hotel is a hassle free hotel, upon check in all the formalities were done in a breeze. The hotel doesnt provide breakfast or dining restaurant, but who would need it anyway, you can find lots of eating place nearby.
The room, I might say so small indeed, very cramped, but if you came to Singapore on a simple sightseeing basis, it was very enough. The hall way smells of cigarette, but overall this hotel is clean. My advise if you choose this hotel, dont bother to bring big heavy suitcases, just travel light, the space is too small even to open your personal luggage, once you open you suitcase, it would be nearly impossible to open both the bathroom door and the room door. Absolutely not recommended for those who have phobia to small places. Luckily I got a room with windows, but since it was not openable and based on the very tiny size of the room, It was only helped a very little bit to ease the cramped feels.
My room price comes with free wifi, all you have to do is asked the front desk for userid and password, every day, because they are lasted only for 1 day. Compared to the other hotel 81, this one a little bit pricey, but based on Singapore's standard, the location,the access and the cleanliness, I think I really get what I paid for. If you're up to full sightseeing/ budget wise business trip, with literary very small shopping, this absolutely the right budget choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuscanyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villorba, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Never had such a bad experience: pay cash and in advance! No receipt! No change money! The check-in start at 2 p.m. and if you arrive earlier, you have to pay 15 Sd each hour! The room is so small, you cannot literally walk around the bed. No wardrobe in room. Shower without any curtains around, so the bath become a mess after use. And EXPENSIVE.Why go there?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToniCopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is typical of budget hotels in Singapore with small rooms and no windows at all. I requested one with window. We were given a small room with window that can't be opened and even covered with pieceof wood. There is not much space to move around. The toilet is likewise small. Toilet bowl and shower next to each other. Water from the shower spills all over the floor. Quite expensive for the size. Reception desk staff are fairly ok. But one thing good on this hotel is its location. We stayed here a week before Chinese New Year. The greets surrounding the hotel are all dressed up with Chinese lanterns and decors. The area looked vibrant with red colors all over. The hotel is also a minute-walk from the Chinatown MRT station. Convenient indeed to go in and around the city. Within the hotel area are many food stalls serving dishes till the wee hours. Night market is a plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#172 of 312 in Singapore
346 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#272 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#197 of 312 in Singapore
96 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Chinatown

Property: Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Address: 181 New Bridge Road, Singapore 059418, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing