We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, OK price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 - Chinatown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Ranked #253 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location, OK price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Chose the hotel because of the location and the fact this is one of the few hotels in Chinatown within price range that has elevators and windows. Matched expectation although the toilet/shower can be a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannadan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    73
    81
    38
    36
See reviews for
38
52
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

First day we arrive at Singapore, at first we are not staying to this hotel.We are heading to our booking in "Diamond Residency" Chinatown. When we arrive and we found out the Hostel is bankrupt and we still found a man in that hostel but he told us that the people manage this hostel is runaway.

We are worried because its Christmas period and immediately found a hotel and we saw Hotel81 just in front Chinatown MRT.The hotel rate is day by day increase due to nearer to Christmas and we had no choice to paid 3 nite to stay there due to last minute.Beside , they need us paid for 3 nights fees in full without print receipt to us and that time i said must need a receipt from them since its paid.

Although it's out of our budget but is not a main problem , but there service is very bad!! First night , we had assign to the next door of the lift and beside our room that is a fire alarm system , every 5 sec will "Beep" 1time. It was irratating , the whole we can't sleep.

The next day we decide to change room and suddenly they restrict us cannot 4 people in a room. But when we had made our payment , there is no any restriction on headcount. But the staff no immediately take any action , then we just put our luggage on lobby. The same night , we back hotel around 12am and one of the staff mentioned we cant 4 ppl in a room.

She keep called our room line ... ringing 5 minutes keep disturb us and ask our freind immediately left the hotel said their hotel rules just give friend come 10 minutes. If not should check in another room.The room is not cheap SGD220 ++ per nite! Somemore is late night force us to check in another room.

The staff keep knocking our door and argue with us. She mentioned if tonight we will not check in another room , then she will forfeited our 3rd nite accomodation fees!!!We had mentioned to them , if they dare to forfeited and at first never said we cant 4 ppls in a room then we will report police.Beside , her attitude is forcing us and talk to us really no manners at all.Somemore we got the receipt of paying 3 nights accomodation. Its totally a scam , becareful of this hotel!!

The next day , my other 2 fren is forcing to find another hotel to stay and almost other hotel is fully booking. That last day , just we 2 person in a room. Can you imagine when 12pm , they really want us to check out. The Staff is knocked 1 time and straight away use key to open our door and ask us to leave. Can you imagine open your door without any informing... Frighten us!!!

The staff at last request my another friend passport to register again and at last they let us to stay for last night! How is their service !!! We are their customers ... how can we been treaten like that , is that we are foreigner?Singaporean is looked down Malaysian? The last night we back around 1am+ .. the lady keep irratating to call us to lobby because need to show the key to them to see then we can go up. Are we going to jail?

Can you imagine staying in HOTEL81 for 3 nite.First nite the fire alarm beep every 5 dec , put us to the next door of the fire alarm. Once we swich put us to the near roadside room. Second night 12am+ , called our room phone and knocked our door , either force my friend left the hotel now or check in another room. Is Late Night!!! The last day , open our room without informed , use their key to open although we are still inside and mentioned our room is been forfeited!!!!

Every day also had thing happen , do you dare to go in this hotel again. Bad impression to Singapore and this is my first trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gennie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I guess im not really into backpacking (or wasn't in the right mindframe) So fled from the backpackers to Hotel 81 Chinatown around the corner.

The room was clean. Not so much space but if your out and about in the day it doesn't really matter. T.V provided with aircon.

Small Bathroom and joint toilet. Clean.

I guess I still find this better than backpackers because you have your own toilet and shower and your not sharing it with everyone and you have your own privacy!

The only thing I was let down with was that there was no inroom SAFE. I had to leave my laptop behind reception area I was a bit wary but it didn't get taken at the end of the day. Can't really trust people these days but it wouldn't hurt to have in room safes at Hotel 81.

So if your not looking for a fancy 5 star hotel and you aren't comfortable backpacking and sharing space with random people. Hotel 81 is the hotel/motel for you!

Upside. Clean and you get your own space even if it is small :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freespiritmovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This hotel is in 10 min walking distance to the financial distict so i can easily say it is in a good location.however, the room is really small ( stayed in a double-bed room),bathroom (well i should call it toilet with shower) was also very small.
During checking in they asked us if we wanted to stay a room with window and warned us if we chose one with window , it might be noisy. We were really tired so it didnt bother us at all.

it was clean and we had everything we needed such as a kettle, hair dryer ect. it is an ok place if you are visiting Singapore for couple of days

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Have spent several times at the various Hotel 81 locations. Their China town location is very handy to China town (a must for new visitors) and is close to the MRT which will bring your anywhere in Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlternativesGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Location wise very convenient
Free Internet
Small rooms
Tiny bathrooms
Everything nearby china town , metro , shopping , food courts
Friendly staff
Stayed there for one week rooms were very small for 2 people with luggage
Old tv
No window or day light

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Singapore hotels are expensive by Asia standards and i tried to save some money. i choose this hotel because of its price and location. BIG MISTAKE. i got what i paid for and less. the room was windowless, the size of a closet and a tiny moldy shower. the bed was lined with a plastic sheet making for a sweaty sleep. the Authorities should revoke their hotel permit.

i learned: spend a little more elsewhere and get a good night's sleep

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkflyenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#170 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#197 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#270 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#138 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Chinatown

Property: Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Address: 181 New Bridge Road, Singapore 059418, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel 81 - Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing