We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel.”
Review of Hotel 81 Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Ranked #194 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok hotel.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ok hotel for the price. Rooms are small but clean. Bathroom is good. But corridors stink with cigarette smell. Location wise very close to market. Buses and taxies readily available. MRT station is about a km walk. Overall not a bad experience. But I personally feel that for same price you can get Hotel Fragerence Emrald which is not only better but also little closer to MRT

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Sandeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    53
    10
    15
See reviews for
9
54
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed there twice. Once in May and once in July. Small, comfortable rooms. Friendly, efficient, and helpful staff. Special thanks goes to one receptionist, who was extremely helpful in May to confirm that my girlfriend will be staying here with me, when the immigration officers in Bogota didn't want to let her go. Really appreciate all your support!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringo-in-the-tropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

In one of our rooms the a/c unit leaked while we were out. Our laptop was under the a/c unit, and water got inside breaking it. The service center tried, but could not fix the laptop, unless we replaced the motherboard -- which is about the cost of the laptop. Now stuck to have to buy a new laptop. We were told to email customer service. They never replied, and this is already over 2 weeks ago.

Room Tip: Beware! Not all rooms have a good air conditioner. Some rooms have brand new a/c, while others hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

What do you expect? You are paying $40 for a Singapore hotel - it's not going to be anything other than basic.
The check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Payment is up front.
The room (mine on the 7th floor) was small and very basic but I was looking for somewhere to drop my bags for a few hours in the afternoon, to sleep for a few hours in the evening and to check out at 3.30am to head back to the airport. I don't need a Shangri-La for a transit stop.
The room had small double bed, a shelf with one electrical socket and a small bedside table. There's a wall mounted LCD (small) TV. Bathroom was clean.
It was fairly quiet when I was there; but you do hear any noise in the corridors.
The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the MTR station and Geylang is a busy area with plenty of good Malay, Indian, Thai and Chinese street food and small shops.
Geylang is also a red light area and when the sun goes down the streets fill with girls hanging around looking for business and many of the houses on the streets are actually brothels. If this bothers you then avoid staying in Geylang. That said, it feels safe and no-one bothers you as you walk around.
Hotel 81 is fine for a brief stop. Cheap and basic with easy access to MTR.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnynews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Don't go to this place, there rooms are small, have a cigarette smell, the bed linnen is a mess. This place is also noisy, I had to change rooms 3 time's before I found one quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Manila
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I already went to 2 hotels prior to this hotel branch in Geylang. The first one i went to was in Lorong 6 but was fully-booked and very apologetic since i am one of their valued client. The second one i went to in Lorong 8 was kind of a, let us say "not welcoming". So i tried their other branch in the same street which was Hotel 81-Hollywood. When i came in to their door the Lady was in her sweetest smile and very friendly. I didn't have had a hard time dealing with her. In less than 10 minutes, I was heading to my room at 7/F. The room was tidy and clean. The bathroom although small has a bath tub, a shower and a complimentary toothbrush, shower cap. The 14" LCD TV was hanged on the wall, take note it has StarMovies and Sports channel which other hotels in Geylang havn't had. There was also a coffee maker and a complimentary bottles of water.
All in all, Hotel 81-Hollywood met our standard. We are satisfied and will comeback in this branch of Hotel 81.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apple_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked two nights at the above hotel whilst I was in Singapore on Business.

What I expected was a small comfortable tidy room in good condition. What I can say, is that the only thing that stacked up was indeed the small room and possibly the internet.

The reality, is that I am a Western Traveler, in Singapore on business. What I expected was a room in good condition. In this case the paint was coming off the walls, and the bath had large areas of enamel missing and mould growing where the sealant was missing. There was also no shower curtain.

What was the most insulting, was the bed, which had a very firm plastic covered mattress, without a mattress protector, that had only a thin cotton sheet covering it. In addition, there were disposable pillow cases on the pillows!!!
I found myself lying directly on the plastic covered mattress during the night - as the sheet was inadequate to cover the mattress, and the whole sensation was squalid.

My expectation was that there would be a decent comfortable hotel-style mattress covered with decent cotton sheets and pillowcases - not something that was like the inside of a mental institution - so that the mattress and room could be hosed out by the hospital staff!!

Most backpacker hostels have better quality amenities and this was completely unacceptable. I did notice later on that this 'Hotel' offers a 'money-back' guarantee if 'you are not completely satisfied' within 15 minutes of arriving, however the signage was in the lift, and I didn't notice it until much later. What a joke!

I wrote a letter of complaint to the owner/Director of the Hotel 81 chain, and he didn't bother responding, so it is obvious that the squalid room conditions apply to the attitudes of the Owner and Management too.

I would most definitely look elsewhere rather than use any of the Hotel 81 chain. Yes they are budget, however budget need not be as insultingly basic as what is offered now.. Buyer beware.....

Room Tip: Don't use Hotel 81 chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ck999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#145 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#229 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#242 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#246 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#202 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#218 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Hollywood

Property: Hotel 81 Hollywood
Address: 61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel 81 Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Hollywood Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing