We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stay”
Review of Hotel 81 - Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Palace
Ranked #248 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Hotel 81 Palace is perfect for any overnight stopover in Singapore. Have stayed here twice & both times staff were pleasant and the rooms we got we ideal for our needs. Not huge rooms, but comfortable by Singapore budget standards. Bathroom was small, but clean & everything worked. Comfortable bed helped get a good night sleep and that was the main thing we were after following some pretty exhausting & lengthy travelling. Geylang is supposed to be a 'dodgy' area, but all the times I've stayed in the area, I've never had ANY problem. Short walk (about 5-10 mins depending on how fast you walk & traffic lights) from Aljunied train station and then only a few stops to the centre of the city. Makes it perfect for spending some time in the city if you have a bit of extra time. They will let you leave your luggage if you have a late flight after checkout & want to go 'wandering' around the city or whatever. If you are catching a taxi from the airport and the driver is unsure where it is make sure you have the address & that he knows that the street it is in is one way from Guillemard Rd towards Geylang Rd. Would stay again on Singapore stopovers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pantherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    77
    81
    33
    16
See reviews for
17
43
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel doesn't have basic facility, such as kitchen and the like. No refrigerator was available in the room. Floor was so cold to stand barefoot. Window glass was tinted blue barring clear outside view. The hotel was too busy with prostitutes. It short, it's not better place to stay for a family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Gets Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel 81 is a chain of budget hotels in Singapore, and I have stayed in a few of them before. Hotel 81 Palace is quite well-kept and the staff are polite, courteous and helpful.

The room we stayed in was neat and clean, and the bathroom was acceptably clean. The good thing about Hotel 81 is that even though it was a budget hotel, they provided complimentary toothbrushes in addition to the standard shower caps.

The only thing we didn't like was that the place was rather dodgy, but it was something we should have researched before we booked the place. Geylang is a famous Red Light District, and the place was crawling with ladies on the streets. Our hotel was right next to obvious

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel 81 is a budget hotel chain in Singapore. Our hotel was located in Geylang. People said that it’s the most dangerous area in Singapore, may be because the Red Light District is situated there. Well. I slept for three nights in this hotel and didn’t seem that dangerous to me. However, probably it’s not a good idea to stay in here if you travel with children.

The location is pretty far from the city center. The building looked nice from the outside, but once I got inside, I changed my mind. It was very dirty. The guy at the receptions was rude. I arrived at the hotel at 11 pm. He asked me to pay the three nights, but my credit card didn’t work, so I asked if I could pay the next day… He said no and made me go to a bank and withdraw.

The room was small and there was dust everywhere. The toilette was even worse. The only positive thing is that it was cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realrv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed there in Feb. 2011. We made reservations online via Agoda.com and had requested a room away from the street and with no window as I usually do if I do not know the area: that makes for a good nights sleep most of the time. Only a few blocks from the MRT train station. Not the fanciest neighborhood but consider that Singapore is well maintained virtually everywhere. We felt very safe walking day and night in the area. Good open air Chinese restaurants very close by, no need for a taxi. Full dinner at one buffet cost us about 4 Singapore dollars and included main course and 2 sides. China Town a short distance by bus. Our room cost about $50 a night. You could stay at another Hotel 81 which is right at the entrance to China Town and pay about 5 times as much! At Hotel 81 Palace friendly and helpful front desk staff. Fine room and bath were large, not cramped. 32" wide screen LED TV mounted on the wall at a good height to view comfortably from the bed.

Room Tip: It is on a side street about a block from the busier Gaylang St. in a quiet area so probably does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimoTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My double room is a little bit small but I think it's acceptable in Singapore. My room and overall hotel as well seemed very clean and tidy.

The nearest MRT station are Kallang and Aljunied which are 'bout 0.8 - 1km walking distance. The location is not actually convenient but it's ok for me.

Staff at reception are friendly. We arrived at late nite and they noticed that cannot arrange same floor for my 2 double rooms immediately. They gave us 1 room first then less than 10 minutes we had the other next to the first one.

No free wifi as stated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

+Friendly Staff!
+Close to Mountbatton, Aljunied and Kallang MRT-Station.
+Alot of authentic food houses in the neighbourhood.
+Wireless Internet
+Free water bottles, Coffee/Tee and a water cooker in every room.

-VERY small rooms. We had a twin room, but the beds where hardly seperatable cause to small.
-The shower was just dripping, no water pressure at all. Check first before you start to use Shampoo, it might take a long time to get it out of your hair. ;-)
-Loud air condition.
-Floor was not cleaned during our stay.
-Flatscreen TV but the signal was too bad to watch it.
-In the corners of our shower, we had some small black "worms". (We killed them using boiling water!)

+-In the middle of the red light district. Not suitable for young ladies travelling alone. Never the less a safe place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilymanDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#241 of 312 in Singapore
418 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#228 of 312 in Singapore
230 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
#203 of 312 in Singapore
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 312 in Singapore
544 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#192 of 312 in Singapore
150 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#212 of 312 in Singapore
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Palace

Property: Hotel 81 - Palace
Address: 25 Lorong 16 Geylang, Singapore 398867, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Palace Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing