We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Ranked #150 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very positive experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've stayed at two other Fragrance Hotels in Singapore and this one is the best so far. Being a budget hotel, you have to expect a room on the smaller side. The staff was INCREDIBLY nice and helpful. They booked us a taxi for 3:30am to catch our flight and we received a wake-up call without even asking! Distance to Changi was also good. As always, the rooms were clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 24MandM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    130
    103
    33
    20
See reviews for
76
73
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Near to bus stop , the room clean although the room small but it's enough for me n my husband. We will stay at this hotel again when we coming back to Singapore. love this hotel.
the receiptionist very helpul

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
3 Thank SandraH987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived in Singapore early evening, and had a flight onwards early the next morning, at the start of our trip ... location was good, we had never explored this part of Singapore, there's plenty of places to eat/drink along Joo Chiat road - it was nice to stretch our legs after a long flight.

Hotel itself, as others have said, is fine for one night ... maybe two. Our room had no window and was pretty small, but for the price that's ok ... it didn't really bother us. The halls smelt of smoke however, and there were a few cigarette butts lying around, despite the no smoking signs and CCTV!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LastMinuteMan_ab76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fragrance Hotel for 2 nights before we returned to the UK. The rooms were tiny and we could barely move. There was no restaurant either so we found ourselves having to visit the supermarket which is about a mile down the street. You have to pay for wifi in the rooms too - per night. I wouldn't return to this hotel if I was to visit Singapore again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AviatorCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a 1 night layover in Singapore and this hotel fit our basic needs. It's proximity to the airport was very convenient and the cost was about as cheap as you can get in Singapore. Small room, but comfortable enough. Staff was friendly. Definitely a budget hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

As far as budget hotels in Singapore goes, this place is ok. Easy access to Changi International Airport and surrounded by cheap eateries. The KTV bars are a different story.
Hotel is clean and reasonably maintained. Check in was easy and efficient. Room is reasonably sized with a shower over bath. Plenty of good hot water with massage shower head. The rubber mattress cover is an unusual addition!
Depending on guest, place can get noisy at times.
Taxis at front door.
24 hour check in

Room Tip: Unsure as only had a deluxe - quite a standard standard though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanJH1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After a short taxi ride from airport to hotel you find yourself in Little India. This budget hotel fills basic needs for sleep. No breakfast, no luxury, even no window in the room we spent 2 nights during our journey from Estonia to Australia.There was good bus connection to Dakota subway station. If you are not demanding traveller and only want to find a place to lay your head, this property makes no harm for your wallet.

Room Tip: If you feel claustrophobic, pay more and get a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vahur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#147 of 312 in Singapore
279 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#128 of 312 in Singapore
463 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 312 in Singapore
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#146 of 312 in Singapore
548 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#204 of 312 in Singapore
139 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#178 of 312 in Singapore
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Property: The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing