We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“low Budget accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Ranked #134 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Hissar, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“low Budget accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just to have a taste of some good low budget accommodation , we spent one night at this hotel. I should admit that this was a good experience as it is a very old property and must have been used as a residential house earlier. It is a clean low budget hotel situated in a very good residential cum commercial area . Surrounding is very calm . Rooms are small but clean and well maintained.Bath rooms are cleanly maintained. Service is not prompt . However staff is friendly. Hotel does not have a restaurant . However there are many restaurants in the market outside the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side have windows with good ventilation and natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmfazili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    114
    95
    32
    17
See reviews for
67
61
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have been staying here whenever my husband is in town and it's just a very comfortable hotel with excellent front desk personnels. The hotel was recently refurbished so mega up points added! Very good hotel in distinctive Joo Chiat area. If you want shopping malls there are Parkway Parade Shopping Mall and 112 Katong Mall. Food everywhere around the hotel too! Take a pick - western, malay, indian, vietnamese, thai, you name it. Will also mention the bottle shops around too if you fancy some. The bar girls come out at night and though it can be in a little seedy area, but it's definitely safe.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smokeofsampoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh, Viet Nam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here 3 days in my trip in March 2013. We booked family room for 3 people, the room is not big enough but its ok for us. Facilities quite old (air con, tv and refrigerator) but can use. Bathroom is clean. Location is not very good, have to walk 30 mins to MRT, after long day travel around city, we decide to take a taxi from MRT to go back to hotel and it costs 5-7 SGD. Quite far from most of well known places. In general, we have no problem when staying here but will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

i like my visit for 3 days from 13 september 2013, i only stay for sleep, and i was expecting bad hotel from some of review traveller, but it change when i set my foot on the room. the room was spacey and clean, have enough room for shower room, the air conditioner is cold. although a bit far from paya lebar mrt, you can take bus no 33 just straight from hotel. the downside is you can hear noise from inside the room. i like my stay here and if you looking for affordable hotel with clean and spacy room this is your hotel.

Room Tip: when i coming the staff offering me another 20 dollar for upgrade of room plus free wifi internet, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YUFEC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel location is far away from the trains station but there actually quite a lot of buses to move around.Bus no 33 actually goes most of the attraction places in singapore Chinatown and Clarke quay. The hotel location is very near to most of the well known food place like katong laksa and hajjah maimunah restaurant.

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly even the housekeeping greet u with a big smile which really make your day early in the morning. I would like to say thank you to 'Adele' for the all the help and direction she gave to us. I would definitely come back .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deriwawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I chose this so called hotel because 1. Budget and 2. It is closed to the Bintan ferry terminal for our next destination. However, with the word hotel sometimes we would expect more especially my previous one was a hostel. I suggest if you are coming with children, this is certainly not a suitable location. It is situated in the heart of Joo Chiat Road where the karaoke bars are all surrounded. However, the good side is it is closed to Koon Seng Road which is a heritage distinct with the prewar houses on both side. It is far from both Pagar Labar and Eunos MRT stations. Walking distance to the East Coast Road for Katong laska is 20 mins.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey_An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I had an overnight in Singapore and stayed at this hotel. It is close to the airport 15 mins and had many places to eat within walking distance. The rooms are small but very clean with great water pressure (hot water) and working air con.
The downfall, it's in the karaoke district and many lady walkers around. I walked alone at night with no worries and no one bothers you.
If you have an early flight make sure you are down early as I had arranged a airport drop off only to find out when I called down to ask what exact time it was picking me up that it was full ( even though they confirmed the night before). I then asked to have a taxi waiting for me at 8. When I came down at 755 they had not even called yet. All worked out as the taxi came 20 min later and I had left enough time. The taxi drove around on the way there to make an extra fare so be careful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#166 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#105 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#79 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#116 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#139 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#119 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Property: The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing