We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Ranked #136 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for four nights. The room with two single beds is better because they have window and seem more spacious. The air con and shower works really fine. It is a comfortable place to stay. It also got a mini refrigerator so i can put my juices and puddings in it. However it is pretty far from the MRT station.. But the bus station is just in front of the hotel so if you choose bus to go around singapore this place would be a really nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    129
    102
    33
    18
See reviews for
75
72
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice hotel in the area. It was the cheapest on the strip and for the price it was pretty good. The room isn't massive, but hey, it's only for sleeping. The facilities in the room were good: the air con worked, hot water available, fridge ok. Close to airport.

Only downer was the charge for wifi.

Room Tip: The walls in this place are thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieronron26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We looked a long time at the tripadvisor reviews for Singapore before deciding on this hotel. The online deal came to $51USD, including Internet access. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff was professional, courteous and helpful; the room was secure, clean and quiet (although tiny), and the beds comfortable. The ambience of the hotel was in contrast with the street on which it was located, which was filled with bars and other "night spots," but don't let that fool you -- this is a fine place to stay. The hotel arranged for our taxi to Changi Airport, and we arrived in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ettraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phang Nga, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've found Singapore Hotels are comparatively expensive from the rest of Asia. This was one of the cheaper offerings and was adequate for my short stay there. Not too far from Airport (taxi around $12 singapore). Room was clean with basic furnishings and bathroom fairly dated but clean. The walls are fairly thin and although I was in an end room I could hear the next room and corridor noise. I found the staff probably the hotel's biggest asset. There are many shops, restaurants and bars close by opening late.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We select the Frangrance Hotel primarily for its interesting location. The hotel is 'budget' and fine for shorter stays. It's clean, secure and if you get a larger room with a window, ok for size. The staff are most helpful. Once you learn how it works it's good. The air conditioner can be turned down to decrease the noise and the air flow. If you take the effort to pack things away, the small room is no problem. We spend most of our time exploring Singapore rather than being in the room, so it suits our priorities.

Joo Chiat Rd is a major interest for us. There is a lot of Singapore heritage here, shophouses offer things from hotel supplies, bike repairs, fish, green groceries and a score of restaurants. Specialty foods including steamed buns and fish head recipes! Right opposite the hotel is an interesting shop where they make funerary mementos – which are burnt. These are typically house creations made from bamboo and paper, very colourful, quite an art. These shops are very decorative, see picture.

Other shophouses, just off Joo Chiat Rd have been delightfully renovated. See pictures.

Joo Chiat is a 'red light district' but this is not intrusive. In fact it's another aspect of the colourful nature of the area.

Our favourite breakfast restaurant is the Al Falah Barakah for pratas (what a skill to be able to whirl the pastry to stretch it out!) and freshly squeezed orange juice.

A taxi driver commented that the best bargains for shopping are available in the shophouses rather than in the upmarket designer label shops off Orchard Road and Marina Bay. There is an Islamic community located on the northern end of Joo Chiat Rd, along with a large shopping complex. The clothes, materials, jewellery and much else are an entertainment in themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat), responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Mr Gavin, I see that you have been returning to stay with us since 2011. Having said, I must express my appreciation to you for choosing this hotel as your preferred accommodation choice during your travels to Singapore.

I am glad to learn that you had expressed your fondness in the rich heritage of the Joo Chiat area, in particularly the funeral memento shop and the Joo Koon conservation houses nearby the hotel. I also read with interest that you enjoyed being entertained by the sights of the prata maker tossing the hand-made pastry up in the air. In doing so, you had truly discovered the unique cultures of Singapore.

I wished you well and hoped to see your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you need to be on the east side of the Raffles Rock then this hotel is good value. Get a window room for an extra SGD10, not that it opens but it helps adjust your body clock to get real daylight. A kettle allows for in-room catering via the supermarket down the street. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed there on a stopover to India. The price seemed ok, but it has no air port shuttle and by the time you pay for two taxi rides you might as well stay in a better place who provides a free shuttle service. The hotel does not serve breakfast but there are restaurants near by. Also it is in quite a seedy area of Singapore where THE girls hang out at night. During the day it is no problem. A lot of rooms have no window and the beds have plastic covers on the mattress which is very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#148 of 312 in Singapore
278 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 312 in Singapore
459 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 312 in Singapore
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 312 in Singapore
544 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#180 of 312 in Singapore
310 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#126 of 312 in Singapore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Property: The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing