We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better than other budget hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Ranked #117 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than other budget hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As I mentioned in a prior review, I am doing a survey of budget hotels in this neighbourhood. The Fragrance has larger rooms and windows which make it better than the Hotel 81's that I have stayed in so far. In fact my only complaint about this hotel is the plastic under the sheet. It makes me feel like I am in an institution but maybe that is just me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    112
    94
    31
    17
See reviews for
67
59
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Needed a place to sleep at a low price in the Joo Chiat area. The price vs quality was about as expected so I rate this as average.

Check-in was quite slow, the lady at the check-in was pretty gruff and had an attitude on her; not particularly nice to deal with, which I can overlook due to price etc. My room had a single and queen bed in it, mattress was tending on the firm side. Room was very basic but clean, with aircon, tube tv and some basic tea/coffee items. Wireless internet was not free.

Bathroom was a bit dingy, and I noticed my particular room had water leaking all over the floor - and from the outside of the room the wall of the bathroom was showing massive water damage, seems some sort of leak. Again, will overlook for the price.

Joo Chiat location is interesting to say the least ! Lots of KTV/Pubs near by if that's your thing, but if it's not, people wont bother you so don't let it put you off the area. Plenty of cheap restos, food centres and 7-11 near by, with a full size supermarket less than 10 mins up the road.

Probably would not stay again and would try the Opera81 hotels if required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsena
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived here after a long holliday for a short break in our flights home, we did'nt have high expectation's but were very pleasantly suprised the staff were very nice and greeted us warmly, the room's better than some of the review's as there were two couples travelling together, the plastic under sheet's as expected, but happy for the hygene with the bed's and we coped ok, nicer if they were less shiney and slipery? a rubberised type would stop the slipping on the sheet's? the only real critisism was the mould on the bathroom ceiling, as it is a fully closed in room no window's and with air conditioning, this would really cause health issues especially with asmatic's etc, so hope they get it cleaned up and re-painted, it may have just been our room?
We stayed two night's and can recomend the Fragrance Hotel as a great out of the mainsteam place to stay, the shop's around cover all your need's and were fun to discover and use, all in all a great Singapore stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank neville a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I got what I paid for ($57SGD a night) which is a reasonably sized room, queen sized bed, clean blankets, and a bathroom which included a mini clothes line so I could wash clothing when needed. As a female travelling alone - I felt safe, but never went anywhere alone in the dark!

The reception staff are helpful but can be frosty - from reading reviews it appears that this is the norm. In saying that the staff at the Ritz Carlton were amazing and I wasn't even staying there (I'd just popped in for the free art tour). For the Fragrance Hotel I witnessed some of their interactions with other customers which varied from being incredibly helpful and patient, to raised voices, refusals and dismissive comments - not sure what to make of it.

To get an iron you must provide a $10 deposit which you get back when you return the iron & ironing board (when checking out). The iron never went past warm so in the end I didn't bother.

The house cleaning lady is lovely and accommodating, and made sure I was happy with the room (bless).The amazing choices you have for eating out, and it's close proximity to buses (just a few metres from the hotel) and the Praya Lebar train station (15 min walk) makes this location very convenient.

Room Tip: I had a room close to the lift (which I picked), and you could hear the lift, people going to/from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived at the hotel just after 7am to be told we couldnt get into our room until 3pm. When I complained that we were tired we were told we could be in by 1pm. We went into Orchard Road for a few hours and when we got back our room was still not available. We had a tour booked for 1.30p.m pickup. We were told that when the room became available they would take our baggage to our room. We arrived back at hotel at approx. 9.30p.m. and baggage was still in the baggage room. Hotel room was clean but very small and the bathroom had no shower recess so the water from the shower went all over the bathroom. Even the toilet was wet. Lucky we had only booked for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ours was a superior room, so not sure what else was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat), responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your hotel stay.

Due to heavy occupancy, our hotel was not able to provide an available room when you arrive in the morning. As you have not registered your check in at our Front Desk upon your arrival, our Front Desk Staff could not assign a room and arrange your bags to be delivered. Hence, your bags had to be stored in the luggage room until your return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently had a few nights at the Fragrance...very low cost but pretty happy with the room.

1st, it is small, vry small (so small i had to leave the "e" out of very). But it was clean and tidy, the tv and fridge worked.

The beds have a plastic undersheet, which i understand is to prevent bugs etc and it clearly works.. but comfort is reduced for cleanliness.

The room has cups and tea/coffee however it does not have a kettle, but there is access to boiling water on each floor.

The location is OK, a little out of the way, but again, you get what you pay for, there are plenty of food places and a supermaket nearby.

The service and staff were faultless, could not hope for better service, courteous, knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#134 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#87 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
Fragrance Hotel - Sunflower
#143 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#128 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#157 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#130 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Property: The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing