We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel with good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Ranked #150 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    130
    103
    33
    20
See reviews for
76
73
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived at the hotel just after 7am to be told we couldnt get into our room until 3pm. When I complained that we were tired we were told we could be in by 1pm. We went into Orchard Road for a few hours and when we got back our room was still not available. We had a tour booked for 1.30p.m pickup. We were told that when the room became available they would take our baggage to our room. We arrived back at hotel at approx. 9.30p.m. and baggage was still in the baggage room. Hotel room was clean but very small and the bathroom had no shower recess so the water from the shower went all over the bathroom. Even the toilet was wet. Lucky we had only booked for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ours was a superior room, so not sure what else was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat), responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your hotel stay.

Due to heavy occupancy, our hotel was not able to provide an available room when you arrive in the morning. As you have not registered your check in at our Front Desk upon your arrival, our Front Desk Staff could not assign a room and arrange your bags to be delivered. Hence, your bags had to be stored in the luggage room until your return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently had a few nights at the Fragrance...very low cost but pretty happy with the room.

1st, it is small, vry small (so small i had to leave the "e" out of very). But it was clean and tidy, the tv and fridge worked.

The beds have a plastic undersheet, which i understand is to prevent bugs etc and it clearly works.. but comfort is reduced for cleanliness.

The room has cups and tea/coffee however it does not have a kettle, but there is access to boiling water on each floor.

The location is OK, a little out of the way, but again, you get what you pay for, there are plenty of food places and a supermaket nearby.

The service and staff were faultless, could not hope for better service, courteous, knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

On arrival we were given a small room that bearly allowed us room for our bags with space to move, we were prepared for a small room having read other reviews, but this was very small, then my wife noticed in the "wet room" bathroom, that the drain cover was loose, and after moving it, small ants started coming out. Immediately we decided to ask for another room after a short conversation we were offered a room later that day, on our return we were given a superior, this apparently means larger but with the same fitting.

As we really only wanted a place to sleep, this did the job ok. The location is fine, and we found it easy to get the bus to the closest MRT station Dakota, although Paya Lebar is a little close on a hot day we really did not fancy the walk (no direct buses).

Regarding the staff, I would not say that they were directly rude to us, but could have been more helpful when asked questions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailblazer_uk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I checked in and waited for 20 mins before i get a room. The staffs are bot smiling... They are not accomodating! They let me carried my heavy luggage into their storage area. They dont know how to anticipate guest needs.
You ask questions you receive rude answers! Sorry but this hotel needs training for their staffs...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimpols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat), responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am sorry to learn that your experience with our Front Desk Staff was not a very satisfying one. Your feedback is important to us and I would be grateful if you can provide more information (Guest name and date of stay) via private message, so that I can conduct an investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

They don't know how to take good care of their guest :( please educate the staff! And they don't know how to smile. The only friendly staff is the housekeeping auntie... Even we stayed in geylong last time, the staffs had same kind of attitude......

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pondatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A lot of people stay away from Geylang area hotels for a reason. This one is an exception though. There are no "naughty" places around this hotel even though I noticed a few Karaoke bars with gilrs smoking outside. So, I decided to book a hotel room here and did so on Hotels.com. When I arrived at the hotel, they informed me that my booking had been moved to Fragrance Rose because of unavailability at this hotel. I protested because my business was near to Joo Chiat Road and I wanted to stay only in that hotel. Floy was kind enough to accommodate me in a nice room (don't know how). She made sure that I had a good stay and everything was taken care of.

My only complaints would be about the missing shower curtains and the bad quality of bedding. Other than that, I had a good stay at Fragrance, Joo Chiat Road. At no point, I felt threatened or disturbed by the naughtiness that Geylang is famous for!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Prav211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#148 of 312 in Singapore
279 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#128 of 312 in Singapore
463 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 312 in Singapore
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 312 in Singapore
548 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#204 of 312 in Singapore
139 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#176 of 312 in Singapore
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Property: The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing