We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
$66
Fully refundable before Wed, Apr 24
Vio.com
$60
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
swisshunter
Adelaide, Australia
Modest price, no frills, good location
Review of Hotel 81 Orchid
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 9, 2012
I've stayed here several times over the last 4 years. I just need somewhere to sleep and shower and this hotel satisfies that need. I like its location 100m from buses and reasonable distance from Kallang MRT.
I like the street life of Geylang Road with its wide range of restaurant and cafes.
It is in the red light district but it is not a threatening or unsafe environment.
Date of stay: May 2012Trip type: Traveled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Facade
3.3 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Pool
Restaurant
2.4 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
1.2 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Free Wifi
Pool
1.6 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.1 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
6.2 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
2.8 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Pool
Restaurant
2.8 miles from Hotel 81 Orchid
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
67
182
207
83
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
182
207
83
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kallang mrt station geylang area walkable distance early check orchids taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 575 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The internet isn't even fast enough for a Skype call. I stayed here weeks. The rooms are small, and cramped. It is a budget hotel, but there are better ones.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Staffs unfriendly, unhelpful and doesnt smile. Even the Manager. Coming from a Hospitality Background, I believe the Star Rating of the Hotel shouldnt effect the Service Quality. Smile more. And be MORE Attentive to the needs of Guest. Rather than the TV that is being switched on at the Lobby. I am considering looking for other alternatives if I choose to stay-out for the night.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izaura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had booked in advance for 3 nights and arrived very tired in the middle of the night. We unpacked and changed and then went into the bathroom to brush our teeth. I had noticed a large dripping noise earlier but assumed a tap had been left running. The bathroom ceiling had three serious leaks. It was not raining. These were not recent leaks. The paint was peeling and stalactites of calcium-like deposits had formed around them. The floor was soaking and the marble basin bench-top was wet and stained white where drips had been landing for some time.

We rang reception and they offered us another room which stank of smoke but was at least dry. We had no choice so re-packed in the middle of the night and moved. When we returned home after our three days, all of our clothes stank of smoke.

Why did Hotel 81 Orchid rent out a room that clearly had a long-term problem, and why hadn't they fixed it?

Room tip: Check your room for stalactites and nicotine stench before you unpack!
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IntrepidAussie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our stay at Hotel 81 Orchid was very good, Arrived at 1:30 am to friendly staff. We enjoyed the location with plenty of shops and restaurants close by. A 5 minute walk to the MRT (Kellang) puts you close to anywhere in Singapore. The staff were always helpful with information and directions, they even looked information up on the internet for us. The cleaning staff were excellent. I knew the room (double) was going to be small but once you're there...it gets a little annoying triping over your luggage or sitting on the bed out of the way while the other gets dressed or packs. The internet is a pain. They change the passwords everyday (understanable) but you have to go down every morning to get the new code but your connection would time out every 20 minutes or so and you'd have to log back on. Other then that small thing I'd recommend the place for price, cleanliness, quiet street and good staff.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefootmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was unfortunately our third choice in Geylang. Not fussy travellers we had passed on the first two accommodations we had taken a look at due to things such as blood on the walls etc. We stumbled upon Hotel 81 Orchid and while it was better than our first few options, it was nothing to brag about. As others have mentioned here, the bed sheet thing is ridiculous. The bed is made of vinyl and since the sheet doesn't cover the whole bed, your feet are on the bare, sticky vinyl bed. The whole room was covered in a layer of mold. The smell was godawful. We had a sore throat by the end of the night. The wallpaper was moldy, the roof was moldy, the air coming out of the aircon was moldy. The sink emptied out onto the bathroom floor. Huge families of 6 were staying in one room all over the place and they ran in and out of each others room the whole night, slamming doors. The fire alarm went off because someone was smoking in their room. We saw a dead cat, a fight between a man and woman (fist fight) and a bleeding man laying on the sidewalk all in the span of 6 hours. All for a fantastic bargain of $65 SGD! Take a pass and spend more to get something tolerable.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bunnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews