We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for backpackers”
Review of Hotel 81 - Gold

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Gold
Ranked #212 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for backpackers”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at Hotel 81 for 2 nights. Hotel is located in famous district Geylang which has a bad opinions but I was feeling safe. Around hotel there is many local restaurants with tasty food. 5 minutes to MRT. About hotel: I had room at 5th floor (there was elevator), rooms was small, tv, bathroom with full equipment, air-conditioning (we can't turned off and staff too so a-c worked all time during our stay - sometimes was very cold in room). Generally I recommend for young little requiring persons.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooordek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    56
    82
    30
    25
See reviews for
22
57
68
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seongnam
Level Contributor
1,039 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've stayed in the Geylang area numerous times before as it's pretty much the only area in Singapore with cheap hotels...It is in a red light district but I guarantee it's safer than wherever you're from...rooms are tiny, just big enough for 2 average persons...it won't be all that comfortable...staff were very friendly...helped us out a lot with bus routes and info around town...my main complaint was that you couldn't control the AC from your room, so it could get cold at night...overall, not much worse or better than the other 81 or Fragrance hotels in Geylang...adequate for a night or two...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed 2 nights here a week ago. The room was quite clean but very small with no extra space for luggage. Also the bathroom/toilet was small and there wasn't socket for ie. electric razor.

The hotel is located on a street where prostitutes hang out. I was left alone even though I was alone, but if you're disturbed just by the fact that the prostitutes are there, this hotel (and area in general) is not for you.

Aljunied MRT station is about 10 mins. walk away and there's lots of restaurants nearby.

The conclusion is tha it's an OK hotel for short stay for solo traveller.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papaija2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

i go with my buddies at 11/5/2011 and stay there for 3 nite and they charge us SGD200. for us it was cheap. the room was clean also the toilet. got a lcd tv attach to the wall. but the place for us is quite scarry coz its located at Geylang (hooker place). the hooker already standing along the road and in front the hotel waiting for the customer. so, we afraid to go out at nite. thx god, as long as we stay there, we did not occur any trouble.

Room Tip: choose the other Hotel 81 near pasar Geylang. but not at lorong 20, Geylang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AiiniiAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel must be one of the cheapest, only SGD60 per night. Hostel may be cheaper but we prefer private room with inside toilet.

Extremely helpful staff, they called for taxi too. Rooms are small but it’s okay for couples. Beds have pvc plastic mattress and are old but comfortable. Reminder: bring your own pillowcase you will need it. Bathroom is very small and can be a problem for overweighed people.

The room had everything we wanted for a good stay. Free coffee, ginger tea and a bottle of water daily. Flat screen TV with movie and sports channels. Air con worked very well and was one of these with degree control on the wall so it was no problem to regulate. Windows can’t be open and I think this is for safety reason. Our room was cleaned daily what more do you need!

Great location; Aljunied MRT Station (EW9) is 10 minutes away on foot and there is a 7 Eleven store on the main street about 100 meters from the hotel and many food places.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Not sure what to expect due to the area, but no problems.
Hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful, the room was small but it's what we expected, we left a suitcase at airport as only here for 2 nights, plenty of places to eat locally and buses close by.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scabbyrsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have stayed at several Hotel 81 properties in this area and Gold is typical of the marque. Cheap and basic and generally cheerful.

However, Gold does have a couple of advantages (for me at least) that most other Hotel 81's don't have. Firstly it has free (and good) wi-fi and secondly it is quite near the Aljunied MRT station (a 5-10 minute walk).

So, provided that Gold continues to have free wi-fi and prices are similar to other budget hotels in this area, I will certainly stay here again (in fact I have made another booking for next month).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#192 of 312 in Singapore
150 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#144 of 312 in Singapore
544 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#241 of 312 in Singapore
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#248 of 312 in Singapore
219 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#228 of 312 in Singapore
230 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#176 of 312 in Singapore
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Gold

Property: Hotel 81 - Gold
Address: 20 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398738, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Gold 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 81 Gold has suspended operations and will be undergoing major refurbishment. We expect to serve you again in late December 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Gold Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing