We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For budget travelers who dont mind what others are up to.”
Review of Hotel 81 - Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Star
Ranked #148 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Geylang district is a good dozen blocks or more of cheap hotels. Basically about all of them are more or less" by the hour hotels". Yet there are many bargain hunters like me that will use them too.

I checked the lowest price of a "normal" hotel and it was the Ibis, which is often a tiny box anyway, and it was twice as much. The rest were far more. Singapore can be very expensive!

So I rate it 3 star as VALUE FOR MONEY. Otherwise the rooms are tiny, the bedding is minimal, but Singapore is always hot, and that's all you need. Many of these places also have a plastic like protector under the sheet. Kinda icky, but I guess a hotel with no protector could be worse you just wouldn't know it. Once you close the door you seldom hear or see anything, so who cares! I think these hotels put regular travelers on different floors than the local by the hour traffic when they can. Singapore is very safe everywhere so I wouldn't worry about safety.

The area is mostly Indian street food, outside or non a/c inside seating and cheap. If you need lots of electrical outlets for all your I-this and I -that...cameras and all other modern conveniences, none of these types of hotels have many plugs. Some just one-so a small octopus type thing is handy to charge things as you cant be sure of more than one plug. Or stick the one that has USB outlets in the wall and the others to the USBs if they can be charged that way.

Keep in mind your here for a cheap stay and that you will get. Don't expect more. When you get home you can tell your neighbors you stayed in the red light district!. Woo hoo!

Room Tip: If your looking for something other than Indian to eat don't forget to look at the north side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 573 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Smack bang on the busiest street for ugly hookers & home to Lorong 18, dominated by houses with red light bulbs is this strategically placed hotel is perfectly positioned for business.

The Standard rooms, their bathrooms & tv’s are small. A window facing the back sets it apart from refugee accommodation. The aircon & hot water work well & most importantly for travellers the free wifi is strong from the room. I think an important aspect here is the bed is a Queen sized spring mattress rather than a foam one which in all respects is important comfort when entertaining a woman without her clothes. Make no mistake, this is a cheap hotel which attracts Indians, families from Asian countries on holiday, backpackers & naughty men. Walls are paper thin so you will most likely hear your fair share of moaning, grunting & Chinese people chatting anytime from late night to early morning. It helps to remember that you stayed here to save money.

If you checked in alone, officially you cannot have more than 1 ‘guest’ in the room & they cannot stay in the room after 11pm. Unless you are a dark skinned Indian & your ‘guest’ is an Asian woman in a short mini-skirt & heels you can probably get away with saying your female ‘guest’ is your wife, she just happens to look Filipino.

Bookings & discounts can be found on most major hotel websites. I booked only a few hours before & had no problems. Hotel reception speak good English & check-in/out is fast. A photocopy of your passport is taken. Free wifi, hotel toothbrush & paste & soap. Towels are thin & old, maybe bring your own. Check-out is at 12 noon & free luggage storage is an option for guests with late flights. Al Juneid MRT station is a 10 min walk. Plenty of food available at night & several Asian food halls provide variety. Geylang is a relatively safe place where pimps don’t carry guns. Kids wouldn’t notice hookers who are old & ugly anyway. Lots of Indian men gather here to stare at hookers for free entertainment while Chinese men pretend to be passing by, it’s a great environment to watch people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I dont understand how anybody can give more than one star to this hotel, it is not far from center, ok, it is cheap, ok, BUT there are hookers everywhere which use hotel rooms for work, so you can imagine what was going in your bed just one day ago!!! If I read this in reviews I never ever book this hotel. I think that there is only busy neigbourhuds not that hotel itself is used by hookers. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1Bob123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

As hotel prices tend to be very high in Singapore in the last few years, i try to find budget hotels whenever I'm in town. I've been staying here twice and there is never a problem.

Location is geylang area, a red light district. But it is safe and you can walk around anytime of the day and find things to eat and cheap. From airport you can take the MRT to Aljunied station and take a short walk to the hotel, or you can always get a taxi.

The staffs are friendly and efficient, they even let me checked in at 11 am during my last stay. The room is pretty much standard, the bathroom is typical asian style and tends to get wet when you take shower. Free wifi is available, ask for daily password from the reception desk.

Bus stop is about 5 minutes walk from either sides of the hotel.

Recommended for budget conscious travellers, book directly from their website. The rates are higher for friday and saturday but still cheap for Singapore standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really liked my stay in this hotel. it was much better than i expected. i have been reading up on the hotels in the Geylang area, since that is the only option for our budget. i liked the Hotel 81 chain better than Fragrance because of their free wifi service, which is why i chose to stay in the highest-rated Hotel 81 in the Geylang area. this review is from the budget perspective and touches on the basic amenities i expected (and got) from this hotel:)

we booked our first night at the Changi Budget Airport, paid there and was given a print-out of our reservation. the train station (Aljunied) is about a 10 minutes away from the hotel. upon arriving, we were greeted warmly, the staff spoke excellent english and checking in was a breeze. upon inspecting the room, we immediately booked for the rest of our stay.

we got a room in the nonsmoking area on the 4th floor. the room was an okay size for Singapore (i stayed in a smaller but more expensive room in Value Hotel Thomson) and it had a window.the bed was clean and so were the linens. we had a small closet with the non-detachable hangers. there was a bedside table, an old but functioning TV (we had a decent movie channel, Discovery and many news and sports channels to choose from) and a dresser with a padded stool. they had an electric thermos, complementary coffee and tea sachets and a bottle of water. these were replenished daily. they also had a very strong aircon unit which functioned well (i had a difficult time turning up the temp so i just slept with socks on).

the locks on the door were, admittedly, old but my friends tried forcing them open from the outside and were unsuccessful. still, we took extra precautions like locking our luggages before leaving the room. there was no room safe but since most of our valuables were with us, we did not have a problem with this.

the bathroom was very functional, though the shower is not separate from the toilet (but this is really the norm in budget hotels, as i have observed). there were bathroom amenities like, toothbrushes, comb and hair caps. there was a soap/shampoo dispenser, but i did not try it because i brought my own toiletries. they had good water pressure with unlimited hot water available.

on our last day, we checked out on time but, since our flight was at midnight, we left our luggage with the hotel. again, no problems encountered while arranging this. there was also no extra cost and we came back for our luggage at 7pm and proceeded to the airport.

i'd like to emphasize that their wifi signal was very strong. i accidentally left my torrent downloader on and when i checked it, it was downloading at 300kbps (i turned it off immediately as i did not want to hog the bandwidth). it was also very useful because we did not sign with any tour groups so we were planning our activities the next day at night and we were able to access bus schedules, train schedules and other useful information on singapore tourism with no hassle and no additional cost.

as for being in the Red Light District, i never felt unsafe in the area. it was relatively tamer than the Red Light Districts here in the Philippines and Patpong in Bangkok. plus, there were hawker areas everywhere and it was so easy to find affordable places to eat. we got hooked on the egg and cheese pratta and laksa that was available very near our hotel.

i am glad i stayed here and will definitely recommend this hotel to any budget traveler.

Room Tip: get nonsmoking rooms on the higher floors. sometimes, there are street festivals/shows at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanitumlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a nice option for travelers who don't want to stay in a hostel or dorm-like rooms, who are in a tight budget, and don't like the idea of sharing bathrooms with strangers. The vicinity of the hotel becomes alive at night, since it's located in the red light district. No one will bother you, but here's a warning to young female (especially Asian) travelers: even in broad daylight, stay close to your boyfriend/ husband/ friends when walking within this area, because local men may think you are one of the hookers if you're alone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowphils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel 81 Star is located in a very convenient place and this is truly a plus point. If you’re coming from the Airport, just take MRT from Changi Airport Terminal 2 and it will hardly take you 20 minutes for the ride. Drop off at Aljunied MRT which is the closest MRT station. From there you have 02 options. Wither take any bus (you don’t have to pay for the bus ride as long as you have the MRT (Train) pass with you) except No 60 bus and tell the driver to drop you at Geylang 18, which is going to be the very next stop (1st stop), or else you can easily walk in less than 05 minutes.

Hotel reception is really great as they are truly organized. So you can expect a very little time to spend there. Hotel room is not too big, but surely OK for the price you pay. Price of Hotel accommodation is too high, so you’re actually paying here a much less and much decent price. After all how much time will you actually spend in the Hotel once you’re in Singapore?

Bathroom is small, but I found it clean and the towels are clean too. Bed is comfortable with clean sheets, so you can be assured to have a good sleep. They service your room every day.

There is no breakfast served in the Hotel, however there are lots of food places once you are just step out from the hotel (I really don’t know whether those food places ever close (even in the night) as I found them open every time I pass by), and you can have a good meal for SGD 4, which is quite good for Budget travellers.

Yes the hotel is located in Red Light District, but no one is there to bother you and pull you in to that unless you prefer to experience by yourself.

There are many Hotel 81 properties located in the same Area (in different avenues), but I realized Hotel 81 Star is the biggest property among them.

Room Tip: Top rooms are always better... try them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onelittleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 317 in Singapore
835 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#159 of 317 in Singapore
293 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#197 of 317 in Singapore
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#186 of 317 in Singapore
322 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#184 of 317 in Singapore
546 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#220 of 317 in Singapore
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Star

Address: 31 Lorong 18 Geylang, Singapore 398828, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Star 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Star Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing