We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hovel of a hotel set in a street of vice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Ranked #178 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 28, 2013

this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in !! i would not recommend this to anyone. it was dirty and so in need of an upgrade it was unbelievable. The power of DEET insecticide stung your face and skin and could be felt in your mouth. One morning i was present when the room as refreshed, washing the coffee cups was simply a rinse under the bathroom tap.the dust collection in the corners was incredible accompanied by peeling paint, mildew in the bathroom and windows that didn't work. That id just inside the building.... Outside the street has a further 2 hotels... but every other building on this street is a brothel - you can not walk the length of the street without someone trying to sell you a hooker no matter if u r male or female.... we knew we were staying in a red light area but did not expect what we were met with. On top of this the room key had to be replaced daily as their systems don't work properly and you are only issued 1 key per room.... i wouldn't recommend anyone stay here unless you are prepared for all the comings and goings morning noon and night...nearly forgot to mention the duvet was actually a blanket folded in half with a duvet cover on it...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shenaz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had been stayed 2 nights on this hotel. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Aljunied MRT and 3 minutes walk from nearest bus station. The room is clean and large. Everything in room worked well. There were hair dryer, coffee and tea.
The hotel charge you few dollars if you wanna use wifi facility (there was per 2 hours and daily charge, if i am not wrong it's SGD 2 if you use per 2 hour wifi). Geylang is not my favorite location but no problem for me because i can access to go to places during bus operation hours. But after midnight i should access taxi (cost of taxi from Clarke Quay to the hotel is about SGD 15).
Generally i was satisfied and will definitely come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoloTravelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's one of the cheapest hotels in geylang, so don't expect too much of it. That being said it's pretty good value for your money, my room was clean and there were no bugs or anything. The staff was very helpful with giving directions and all that. There are plenty of places to eat around the corner, a supermarket a bit less than 10 minutes away and a 7eleven around the corner, probably a 3-4 minute walk away.
The rooms are very basic, there's a TV with very few channels, and basic stuff like a kettle and a hairdryer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felixgavelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Singapore with very small budget.
This Budget Hotel with low cost and better ambiance, allowed me to add a tag to stay in SG.
Very humble hotel staff and talkative front desk babes gave feelgood.
For even one hour prior booking i had to pay SG$39, which is a monopoly.
No room service available.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Imagpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a dump, a dirty smelly hotel in a red light area. My room was superior, well I would hate to see a standard room. There was mould on the ceilings and some holes in the bathroom roof which were pluged up with toilet paper. If you want a cheap dump where you can take a hooker to then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The best room is one as far away from here as you can get.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I regret to learn of the less than positive experience you had encountered during your stay at the hotel. My Management had taken note of your room feedback and had already resolved those issues as raised.

If you have raised the mentioned issues during your stay at the hotel, my Front Desk Staff would have immediately performed a room change for you. Please accept my apologies for this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Location 10-15 minutes walk to Aljunied MRT station. Close to hawkers selling delicious food. Red light district but hotel is in quiet corner.
Room size was ok, minor stains on walls but room was clean enough, no bugs.
Sheets and towels were changed everyday and clean.
Kettle, hair dryer, toothbrush, two small bottles of distilled water provided. Shampoo-soap combo liquid provided but not very good, suggest bring own soap and shampoo.
Doors are thin, can hear people walking and talking in the hall but noises died down in the night.
AC worked well.
Plentiful hot water, just remember to switch on the heater 10 minutes before showering.
Shower drain worked very slow, showered in two inches of water everyday.
Toilet tank made refilling noises every half-hour, quite loud, woke me up a few times.

Overall good value for a budget stay. Next time will try Fragrance Ruby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 316 in Singapore
822 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#144 of 316 in Singapore
283 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#147 of 316 in Singapore
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#153 of 316 in Singapore
558 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#163 of 316 in Singapore
316 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#152 of 316 in Singapore
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Crystal

Address: 50 Lorong 18 Geylang, Singapore 398824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Crystal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Crystal Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing