We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Ranked #184 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Fragrance Crystal during our 3days/2nights trip to Singapore. We were on our honeymoon. Location wise, it is situated in the red light district of Geylang. It's at least 30 minutes away from Chang Yi Airport by taxi; at least 15 minutes away from Marina Bay Sands/Singapore Flyer; and at least 20 mins away from Merlion Park and Sentosa Station. The hotel itself is small. The rooms are old-looking, perhaps a bit overused. There's also no room service. The air conditioning is ok. The television is quite old, no cable as well. When we tried to turn it on, we gave up all hope of watching anything decent in about 3-5 mins (we love to watch tv). For a traveller who is on a budget, this would do if you simply want to sleep and bathe in it. But if you want the feel of a home-away-from-home, I wouldn't recommend it. Also, there are far too many Fragrance Hotels in Geylang alone, try to remember the street you're staying at. This one is at Lorong 18.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenjenn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

I appreciate you for taking time to share this review of your hotel stay!

I had taken note of your concerns on the hotel room condition and its amenities. A refurbishment was in fact being carried out in this property several years ago. Please be assured that our hotel constantly seeks to upgrade its property and amenities in order to provide and meet the expectations of our guests.

Should you return to Singapore on your next visit again, I would recommend that you try staying at our recently refurbished property, Fragrance Hotel - Ruby, which is located just 2 blocks away, in Lorong 20. The Premier and Deluxe Rooms had been tastefully refurbished with Internet TVs. I'm sure you will love this hotel, if you have a penchant for everything new.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 546 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is definately a budget hotel with budget features at a budget price. It is in a cheap area of Singapore. There is no stand out feature of the hotel having said that there is nothing to complain about either. It is cheap and clean and doesn't pretend to be anything else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Note: chek in time 3PM, we stay in this hotel 3 night, the location is near bus stop but far from MRT station, no free wifi, room is clean and OK, but the bed is bad because they cover it with sintethic leather, but very great for value... Its cheap.. Best value hotel in geylang area..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dittoapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the receptionist was really rude and unfriendly ... terrible service,the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. really do not want to go back again to stay there. I first went to Singapore with my sister and was very surprised that the area is an area of ​​prostitution. really unpleasant experience.

not suitable to stay with families with children

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miu_mochii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here 1 night as I was meeting my husband in Singapore and he was flying in early the next morning. Knew this hotel was in the red light district when I booked it but I was taken aback by the blatant prostitution everywhere. I went for a walk to find some food in the early evening and for the first 10 minutes I was the only women who was not a prostitute, made me a little uncomfortable. Although I never felt threatened in the least bit. Also there was no Western food anywhere near the hotel but if you don't mind traditional food it was everywhere. Rooms were average with plastic foam mattresses like you would find at the Doctors, sheets come off. Very noisy hotel, can hear everything in the hallways and other rooms. Even with all that the rooms are a great deal. I would not stay more than one night or bring children to this hotel but if you want something cheap and easy the place is fine. Personally would probably stay at a Fragrance in another part of Singapore next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskerabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed 03 nights at Fragrance Hotel Crystal from 18 - 21 JAN 13 with overall positive experience. Hotel is localed in Gayleng lor 18 which is walk to Aljunied MRT Staion around 10 mins. and 200 meters walk to Geylang road where you can take bus no.2 to go to Chinatown within 20 minutes. And well, take only 20 minutes from Shangi Airport to hotel by Taxi which approx SGD 20 - 25 per trip for night time.

Hotel's itself is ok, even you have to walk pass some red light commercial but it's more safe than other red light in the world. Room 402 Superior room is good size for 02 people. Everything same as picture show air con work well. Hot water is expected room is clean, bed is enough for my good sleeping journey. TV channel is vaious choice which i can watch Australia Open too.

The negative thing for this hotel is wifi, it's not free and very expensive. Singapore is difficult to find the wifi connection. No wifi in public area even you can search public wifi but it's not work. So, please make sure you buy net sim card if you are network socialism

Overall, if you are ok and don't mind stay here for SGD 60 - 70 per night is good choice :)

Room Tip: Make sure you get room with twin bed, DBL bed is too small. NON SMOKING ROOM IS A MUST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

I appreicate you for taking time to post a review of your hotel stay.

I wished to explain that our hotel is a non-smoking preoprty and we do not allow smoking in our premise and rooms. However at times, guests might smoke inside the room without our knowledge. In situations like this, we will try our best effort to arrange a room change or cleanise the room air, if the guest is not comfortable with the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were compeletly difference than what we've seen on internet.all the walls were covered blight cause of humidity and they charged more than the price on tripadvisor.for this price you can find beter places.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daftturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#159 of 317 in Singapore
293 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 317 in Singapore
835 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#148 of 317 in Singapore
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#186 of 317 in Singapore
322 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#155 of 317 in Singapore
379 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#154 of 317 in Singapore
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Crystal

Address: 50 Lorong 18 Geylang, Singapore 398824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $46 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Crystal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Crystal Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing