We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #53 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I needed a hotel for a couple of weeks until I could move into an apartment here. The Scarlet, just around the corner from The Club Hotel, fit the bill very well. Although my room didn't have a large window, the room felt spacious, and was very comfortable. This is a trendy, hip hotel, with very friendly and helpful service. Located near Chinatown, and extremely close to the CBD it is also be a good for people who are here for business to stay. The hotel has character.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, they are the largest.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKPurdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear RKPurdie
Thank you for taking time to write us this wonderful review. It has been our pleasure to be of service to you while you wait to move into your new home. We hoped that you've enjoyed our hospitality and that we've made you felt at home. Do visit us after our refurbishment in December! And not forgetting to experience our lovely rooftop bar as well! See you soon!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
There are newer reviews for The Scarlet Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Scarlett on our way to Thailand and we were very impressed and thankful to our friend for the tip.

Great location near China Town. Close to food market and Ann Siang Rd with lots of bars and restaurants.

The room was one of the smallest we have ever stayed in, but it was lovely and well maintained. Lots of nice little touches to the decor. Staff were very friendly.

Only downside was the expensive dry cleaning bill - desperate to do some laundry.

It was always nice to come home to the hotel to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trux08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear trux08
We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and had also time to explore the area around us. Thank you for taking time to write us this lovely review. We look forward to welcome you back home at The Scarlet!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely! The staff are so welcoming and helpful in every way.
We love all the decor and finishing in this place really adds to the experience.
Super comfortable rooms. Not big but we weren't left wanting anything!
Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ijumparound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear ijumparound

We're pleased to learn that you've enjoyed our hospitality during your recent stay with us! We will continue to strive and excel to the next level of service standard to meet your expectations.
We'll be closing for refurbishment in a few days and we look forward to your continual support thereafter! Wishing you a wonderful week ahead!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed for four nights in an executive room with balcony. The room was smaller than expected but the balcony more than made up for it. Everything was clean and comfortable, the room was quiet and had coffee making facilities, wifi, daily newspaper delivered and bottled water. The staff were helpful and gracious. The location was in walking distance to two MRT stops and had plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. I look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Smilintraveler

We're delighted that you've had an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for taking time to write us a review to share your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Scarlet after our refurbishment in December! Please do not hesitate to contact at anytime for your future stays with us and we'll be happy to assist.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a staycation weekend here. The elegent and regal decor and atmosphere reminded of 19th century Europe. The rooftop bar and the cosy jacuzzi gives an extra bonus. The staff and concierge are extremely efficient and friendly. Lots of good food around maxwell road, amoy street, tanjong pagar road and chinatown. The little pastry store at ground floor Antoinette has great macarons and looks like Little France in Singapore. A note to the management, after the hotel renovations, please DO NOT change the decor, as it is major selling point. Will visit again after re-opening in 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dominictom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear dominictom

It's always a booster to see such wonderful review on Tripadvisor! We appreciate you taking time to give us your many observations and valuable feedback. Do check our website fo rthe latest updates on our refurbishment. Have a fantastic day ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back home at The Scarlet!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

it exceeded my expectations. Perfectly located (near the famous Maxwell Road Hawker Food center and Ann Siang Hill) and a great value for money. The service was great, rooms are ok. Try Breeze restaurant on the rooftop and

Room Tip: choose the room with a window
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REDDOT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear REDDOT_13

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us a fabulous review on Tripadvisor! We are pleased to learn that our services have exceeded you expectations and will continue to strive and excel to the next level! We look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet after our refurbishment in December 2013 !

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have travelled a lot and this is amongst the finest hotels I have been in with exceptional staff and customer service. We arrived early from a long flight and was greeted with the porter who ran to the cab to help us with our bags, reception staff who couldn't have been friendlier - they rushed thru the cleaning of our room so we could use it earlier, they gave us water whilst we waited and lots of information about the area.
It is a small boutique hotel with beautifully appointed rooms in opulent style - reminded me of a mini Raffles, yet at a fraction of the cost. Range of quality toiletries, complimentary water, ice, slippers, fluffy towels and bathrobes etc. They have a jacuzzi and gym too. Beats hands down the faceless modern hotels. TV is a little large for the room though which is quite tiny although I've been in smaller!
Located in the middle of China Town it is a great location. Plenty to do in the area and MRT nearby for other trips.
Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: Choose luxury room with balcony
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Paullaw

Thank you for taking time to share this wonderful review and for recognizing the quality of our services and the area around us! We truly appreciate you taking time to give us your many observations and valuable feedback. As we will be closed for refurbishment soon, we look forward to your next reservation with us from December 2013. Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime for your future reservations and our friendly staffs wil be delighted to be of assistance!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#9 of 316 in Singapore
1,247 reviews
Naumi Liora
#106 of 316 in Singapore
882 reviews
Hotel YAN
#52 of 316 in Singapore
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#89 of 316 in Singapore
677 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#56 of 316 in Singapore
3,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $124 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing