We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideaway in old Singapore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #55 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hideaway in old Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two times there and had a great experience of "real" chinese Singapore. The hotel building is a historical landmark in itself, the staff is great and helpful. It's also a few minutes walk from nice popular food centers. And the little streets behind the hotel are full of cosy restaurants.
The first time we got there we had made a mistake in our booking and input the wrong dates when we booked online. Basically we had no room to stay. Within minutes the hotel management found a beautiful superior room for us and upgraded us to it for the same price, to our great relief.
The value for money is just perfect and its so much better than the usual big city hotel luxury. We will definitely go back there again and again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvano1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sylvano

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking valuable time to give us your many observations and comments. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you although you've made reservation for the wrong date and am happy that you've enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you home at The Scarlet!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    589
    164
    60
    39
See reviews for
87
723
165
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights and the hotel is great. Perfect location next to Chinatown, nice staff, very friendly, rooftop bar is fantastic, room was very spacious and decoration was lovely (rm 115)

Will stay again without any hesitation.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamhodgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear FairviewCorporate
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking precious time to give us your valuable review! We're glad to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to offer you more great stays in the near future! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and i'll be happy to handle them personally!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great little boutique hotel tucked away in Chinatown but yet accessible to most trendy places either on foot or via a short taxi ride. Funky decor - always a quirky something somewhere, whether in the bar, in the gym or in your room! Hotel facilities are named for ease of recall eg 'Flaunt' for the gym and 'Breeze' for the rooftop bar.
Furniture commands attention with its gaudy colours , frills and baubles and bohemian fabric , all part of the rich artistic tapestry that makes The Scarlet unique.
With respect to the rooms, the sizes conform to the definition of 'boutique' so no complaints please but in some, you'd better have only brought your rucksack as there's not place for much else. And only one rucksack!

It's a lovely little gem manned by pleasant and efficient staff. The only occasional downside is the noise from the narrow alley behind the hotel or fellow guests being inconsiderate through apparently paper-thin walls, but this isn't common to many rooms.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Aquarius23
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for taking valuable time to give your many observations and lovely review! We sincerely regret the noise disturbance from the back alley, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, we'll be happy to assign one of our quieter rooms upon request. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happly to handle them personally! We look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is really dirty with black mildew around the shower and moisture marks all over the walls. The curtains are broken with mystery stains and so don't block out the verandah light that is permanently on outside. (there is not way to switch it off I asked) The carpets are dirty and smell of cigar smoke and the air conditioning is so loud that you can't sleep. The bathroom door had dirty marks around the handle and muck all over the glass. On top of that they tried to say that this was an upgrade. What a dump its a horrible place. The restaurant smelt of garbage as you walked in.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel and not in chinatown
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear catie d
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your personal review of The Scarlet. We regret that you have found some aspects of your accommodation to be lacking and appreciate your kind patience and understanding. As a Deluxe room with window was not available upon your arrival, an upgrade to Executive with balcony room was accorded for your stay. We are pleased to advise that The Scarlet will be undergoing refurbishment by third quarter of this year. We have an ongoing preventive maintenance in place to rectify room defects at the moment. The hotel's air conditioning and carpet will be replaced during the refurbishment. We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit to Singapore and i will be happy to handle your reservation personally.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

When people asked me where I will be checking in at Singapore, and I said Chinatown, they gave me a look. See, people always book their hotels either in Orchard Road or Marina. I read the reviews, saw the price and gave it a try. And, I SO love the hotel. The hotel is an attraction by itself. I love the complimentary red back scratch, the room decor, the welcome drink, free wi-fi. Everything was well though of. Across the hotel is one of Singapore's best hawker center, Maxwell. Love the food there. There are several chicken rice stalls and I tried 2 having limited time and stomach. I must say that with Ah-Tai, there's practically shorter queue and price is cheaper and better quality than the long queue Tian Tian. Reason being that AhTai's chef used to be the chef of Tian Tian. Then there's Beauty Empire for spa and facial. And so many nice shopping in the area. And it's not too far from Orchard Road. I am definitely going back to this hotel when I go to Singapore again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bossrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear bossrose

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing us a lovely review. We are pleased that you've had a wonderful stay with us as much as enjoying Chinatown and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. It also came to me as a surprised that you have found the history of Ah Tai chicken rice! You must have loved this all time favourite local meal! It's a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home at The Scarlet soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel located near the complex of china town but its not inside the complex itself. For me who travel with my 60 years old mom with walking disabilities, this is very perfect. We almost stay in the hotel inside the china town but when we see it, we were glad we changed our mind. As the environment was very busy, loud and pack. Scarlet is quiet enough but close enough for us to walk there. I like the corky decoration in the lobby, never forget about the big chair in the lounge area. Due to our mom disability, we are given the first floor hotel, so she can easily has short access to the lobby. The room is ok and not too cramped for me. We still have enough space to store our luggages and shopping bags (which quite a lot!!). But the room we got has no window. I actually don't mind at all, but if you do, you should ask and check first. As we wasn't given info about this earlier. But since the room was clean and ok, we didn't mind at all.
One thing that I noticed is that the room in the first floor is not decorated as corky as I saw in the website. Was actually expecting to experience a more surprising ambience. But our room are quite standard. Maybe its because we did say we were bringing our 60 years old mom. And she has no problem at all, so far she was very happy
The people there are also nice and very friendly. I come from Indonesia and they greet me with Malay language.
The breakfast is ok, is standard as any 4-5 star hotel can provide. Im also happy with the amenities in the hotel.

All in all, Im pretty satisfied and will go back there again next time I want to browse china town and will ask for room with more unique ambience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilaSepang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear LilaSepang
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our team will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. Do try one of our signature suites on your next visit for an unforgettable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i'll be happy to handle your reservations personally. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good that hotel rooms will be due a upgrade this year since its showing signs of ageing.
Service was good. Restaurants fine. Public areas nice.
I'd rate this as good. Not v good. Will be interested to stay again and see the refurb.
Good relatively central location. Taxi about gbp3 to the business district. Check out the nice handicraft place along from the spa near the china town side streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear P T

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to share with us your many observations and comments. It is very much appreciated. We too are excited about the refurbishment and do look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happy to handle them personally.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Furama City Centre
#46 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing