We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinatown's Best Kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #55 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chinatown's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

When people asked me where I will be checking in at Singapore, and I said Chinatown, they gave me a look. See, people always book their hotels either in Orchard Road or Marina. I read the reviews, saw the price and gave it a try. And, I SO love the hotel. The hotel is an attraction by itself. I love the complimentary red back scratch, the room decor, the welcome drink, free wi-fi. Everything was well though of. Across the hotel is one of Singapore's best hawker center, Maxwell. Love the food there. There are several chicken rice stalls and I tried 2 having limited time and stomach. I must say that with Ah-Tai, there's practically shorter queue and price is cheaper and better quality than the long queue Tian Tian. Reason being that AhTai's chef used to be the chef of Tian Tian. Then there's Beauty Empire for spa and facial. And so many nice shopping in the area. And it's not too far from Orchard Road. I am definitely going back to this hotel when I go to Singapore again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bossrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear bossrose

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing us a lovely review. We are pleased that you've had a wonderful stay with us as much as enjoying Chinatown and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. It also came to me as a surprised that you have found the history of Ah Tai chicken rice! You must have loved this all time favourite local meal! It's a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home at The Scarlet soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    608
    173
    63
    41
See reviews for
95
759
176
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel located near the complex of china town but its not inside the complex itself. For me who travel with my 60 years old mom with walking disabilities, this is very perfect. We almost stay in the hotel inside the china town but when we see it, we were glad we changed our mind. As the environment was very busy, loud and pack. Scarlet is quiet enough but close enough for us to walk there. I like the corky decoration in the lobby, never forget about the big chair in the lounge area. Due to our mom disability, we are given the first floor hotel, so she can easily has short access to the lobby. The room is ok and not too cramped for me. We still have enough space to store our luggages and shopping bags (which quite a lot!!). But the room we got has no window. I actually don't mind at all, but if you do, you should ask and check first. As we wasn't given info about this earlier. But since the room was clean and ok, we didn't mind at all.
One thing that I noticed is that the room in the first floor is not decorated as corky as I saw in the website. Was actually expecting to experience a more surprising ambience. But our room are quite standard. Maybe its because we did say we were bringing our 60 years old mom. And she has no problem at all, so far she was very happy
The people there are also nice and very friendly. I come from Indonesia and they greet me with Malay language.
The breakfast is ok, is standard as any 4-5 star hotel can provide. Im also happy with the amenities in the hotel.

All in all, Im pretty satisfied and will go back there again next time I want to browse china town and will ask for room with more unique ambience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilaSepang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear LilaSepang
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our team will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. Do try one of our signature suites on your next visit for an unforgettable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i'll be happy to handle your reservations personally. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good that hotel rooms will be due a upgrade this year since its showing signs of ageing.
Service was good. Restaurants fine. Public areas nice.
I'd rate this as good. Not v good. Will be interested to stay again and see the refurb.
Good relatively central location. Taxi about gbp3 to the business district. Check out the nice handicraft place along from the spa near the china town side streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear P T

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to share with us your many observations and comments. It is very much appreciated. We too are excited about the refurbishment and do look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happy to handle them personally.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in room 106 for 1 night on a business trip. I will just list the things that were wrong with this hotel.
- No alarm clock
- No hot water. It took more than 30 minutes to get it going in the shower. Totally unacceptable.
- Shower water just flooded/leaked out onto the floor of the bathroom.
- Big red stain on carpet. It just looked disgusting even thought it was probably just wine.
- ants were visible in the bathroom and around the TV. There were not many of them, but still. Any ants are kind of disgusting.
- Some of the amenities - like the lotion - was not sealed closed. Not quite sanitary.

There were some positive aspects of this hotel:
- The staff were really friendly
- There was free internet which worked fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Steven R

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your many observations and feedback. We regret that you've found some aspects of your accommodation to be lacking and do allow us to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that we do take all feedbacks seriously and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. As we will be going through refurbishment soon, we hoped that your experiences have not marred your impression of The Scarlet and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It has to be said: Scarlet is a flirt.
When entering the lobby of the Scarlet hotel one is reminded of nothing so much as the dark, seductive, refined hedonist stylings of a Shanghai nightclub in the late twenties of the last century: Scarlet enjoys seducing you with chandeliers, dark reflective marble, semi-naughty figurines, high-rise leather chairs and Chinese Red everywhere.

The clean, stylish rooms are creatively laid out and decorated (although you may need to walk nigh endless corridors to reach them!), and fully stocked with a great assortment of personal hygiene products (including even mouth wash!). All the expected amenities are available, and then some: we were presented daily with the morning paper (The Straits Times), and the room includes shopping bags and an umbrella (not a superfluous luxury: as always in the rain season, when it rains, it pours!).

Our umbrella happened to be missing, but the friendly concierge quickly provided us with one. The concierge incidentally is very knowledgeable: he’s *the* man to ask about the city, how to get around, travel back to KL (by train) and even Singapore’s history!

The staff are very friendly and the drinks in either the stylish brown lounge bar or the breezy rooftop bar are original and lovely, though not cheap! But the surroundings, the ambiance and the view certainly make up for it and make for a lovely few hours to spend there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roosterdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Roosterdragon

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing us this exhaustive review! It is very much appreciated and encouraging! We will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations and do look forward to your continual support. Have a wonderful year ahead!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Probably the most helpful staff ever. Standard rooms have no windows but were so well equipped you did not notice. Food was really good and location perfect for all sorts of places and transport. On the edge of China town. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear shehook

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us for this encouraging review! We will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happy to handle them personally. Have a wonderful day ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back home at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Scarlet Hotel is fantastic little hotel in a beautiful and hip part of Chinatown (Erskine Rd), a very convenient location.

The room was very spacious (Premier room), well appointed, nice large/deep bath, large separate shower with rain shower and great water pressure. The stand-out are the staff, in particular the front desk and bellman, they obviously enjoy their jobs because they went out of their way the entire time to make sure everyone was enjoying their stay.

The only thing that they can improve on is their breakfast selection and quality, a slight let-down in comparison with the rest fo the hotel and service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteFeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear PeterFeran

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us a wonderful feedback! We look forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us for your future reservations and i'll be happy to handle them personally! Have a fabulous year ahead!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#12 of 314 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Hotel YAN
#54 of 314 in Singapore
374 reviews
Naumi Liora
#109 of 314 in Singapore
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#51 of 314 in Singapore
3,542 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#86 of 314 in Singapore
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing