We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design hotel in chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #64 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Perfect location. The rooms are small but the design is gorgeous. The ventilation in the room must be approved, after taking a shower the whole room is humid. And I think that breakfast should be included for this price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Carlo _Jeannette
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us for for taking time to write us a review. We have noted on your comments and will strive and excel to meet your expectations. As we are scheduled for a refurbishment soon, please be assured that we have placed your suggestion of the ventilation issue in the rooms as our priority and thank you for your patience and understanding. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. interior decor is great and for me doesn't feel dated. In fact together with its exterior facade,felt classy.Although they were not able to provide a room with windows, they gave us a bigger room. be sure to get maps from the mrt to the hotel as it could get a little confusing. you probably wouldn't get lost but may take extra time to find the hotel by asking around. Only strange thing was on both nights there were loud banging sounds heard from other rooms...but overall was a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prawnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear prawnz
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking valuable time to give us your many observations and comments. We are pleased to advise that we will be going through refurbishment from the second quarter of the year and do look forward to your continual support! Have a fantastic week ahead and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future! Thank you

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visit Singapore regularly and try to stay in a different area each time, I like the Chinatown area and have stayed in a few hotels there. This time a friend and I chose The Scarlet Hotel which is close to some great restaurants in the Club Street area and a fantastic hawker food court across the road. The Chinatown MRT station is only 5-7 minute walk away. There is a 7-11 next door and some great bars within an easy walk.

The staff were very nice, welcoming and helpful. Having stayed in the Chinatown area before I expected my room (Room 308) to be small but it was very cramped. If a couple were sharing it I think it would become very annoying. My friend's room was larger. If you want a room with a window you pay extra. It's hard to beat the location but I don't think I would choose the Scarlet again. This is a personal view but I prefer a larger room. Other hotels I would recommend in Singapore include The Quincy (off orchard Road), Wangz (near Outram Park), Swissotel The Stamford (above City Hall MRT) and Swissotel Marchant's Court (near Clarke Quay).

You may find the smaller rooms just fine. The staff were wonderful and the decor is just great in the public areas but it deson't seem to transfer to the rooms.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear MarkLaurence
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your many oberservation and comments. For hotels converted from conserved buildings like The Scarlet, each room are of different size and configuration. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we will be happy to handle your requests and preferences. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A small, and fairly priced hotel in a great Singapore location-- one block away from Chinatown.
Rooms were small, but OK fort he two of us. Taxi driver was not too sure of where the hotel was, but after a quick phone call, we found the place. Our room did not have windows, so it was a little difficult in figuring out what time of the day or night it was. However, overall, a very good place.

Room Tip: Great location at the edge of Chinatown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Dav_9
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a review. We hoped that you've enjoyed your stay with us as much as we had having you. Have a great year 2013 and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent 3 nights here in December 2012 following a 23 night cruise and can enthusiastically recommend the property if, as I did, you book a Superior room as standard rooms may lack windows and would be unacceptable. My room faced the back and was quiet. While the room was not large the size was more than adequate, the bathroom had a tub and sparate shower stall (though hot water was never quite hot enough), was kept extremely clean (with turndown service) and the wi-fi was fast and reliable. I love its location in Chinatown and taxis were readily available if I wanted to go elsewhere. The staff was welcoming and friendly. My only disappointments were the hotel restaurants: the upscale, expensive somewhat chic roof restaurant lacked table cloths, used small paper napkins and had a limited selection of food, which was decent but certainly not great while "THe Corner", there ground level cafe, had unprofessional service from what appeared to be student waiters and had a somewhat depressing atmosphere (ok for a club sandwich but nothing more and S$30 for breakfast is way overpriced) (neither restaurant meets the grade for inclusion in the 2013 Makansutra Restaurant Guide, which is the bible for Singapore restaurant reviews, with competitive hotels in Chinatown having their restaurants lauded).

Room Tip: Choose Superior Quality or better for having window and size, facing rear for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear VaCavalier
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your many oberservations and valuable comments and thank you for your patience and understanding. It is through these feedback like yours that allow us to continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with the respective departments to ensure of such reoccurances. We hope that your experiences have not marred your impression of The Scarlet and do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Wishing you a fantastic New Year 2013 ahead!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

They say that the smell of a hotel says it all, and the perfume that greets you at the scarlet is certainly a wonderful start to your stay. The rooms are small, there's no getting away from that, especially if you happen to be tall and rangy europeans like us. But they do have glamour and the beds are very comfortable. It's probably better to ask for a larger room (and I think the air con. is quieter too) but you cannot fault the charm of the staff. We have been to Singapore on other occasions, and it was great to be so close to chinatown. There is a great European restaurant in the street at the back of the hotel and also a very chic wine bar and restaurant - I wish I could remember the name! The rooftop bar is great, the breakfast is wonderful, but best of all is the fact that you can shower and change after a long day exploring if your flight is after checkout! Bliss.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the bigger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Alasdair R
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay at The Scarlet and for taking time to write us this wonderful review! we are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your continual support in the near future!
Happy New Year!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

There are lots of big name hotels in Singapore and luxury is the name, so the concept of The Scarlet is good and unique. The room are very small, and I had a larger room with a balcony. I still had to move my suitcase around a couple times in the day to use the room. The service is hit and miss. The desk and door staff are very good, but the bar staff is not good. I tried to get a drink at 6 pm and was told there was no availability - the entire bar was empty. I had to have a reservation - this was delivered with a fake and sticky smile. Although this seems like a small thing, it made it so I tried to ensure I didn't send another dollar in the place. I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear ThatchersBiscuit
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking valuable time to give us your thoughts on our service. It is very much appreciated. Allow us to sincerely apologize for your experience at the bar and thank you for your patience and understanding. The respective department has been informed and will take this opportunity to fine tune our procedures and services. For conserved buildings converted to hotels like The Scarlet, all rooms are of different sizes and configurations. Please do not hestitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and i'll be happy to handle them personally, tailoring to your needs and preferences. We hope that your experience have not marred your impression of The Scarlet and do sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Wishing you a fantastic year 2013 ahead!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,287 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 317 in Singapore
691 reviews
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $123 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing