We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and romantic for couples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #55 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy and romantic for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The main drawbacks of this place are the tiny rooms and the lack of parking.

Other than that, this place makes for an extremely cosy and romantic getaway for locals and traveling couples alike.

It's next to Maxwell Hawker Centre, which is above average as far as hawker centres in Singapore go.

Walk ten to 15 minutes on and find yourself at the fringes of Chinatown, which is pretty darn fascinating whether you are from this country or not.

The decor is retro chic and the rooms are fantastic. Ours had a skylight and though it didn't have any windows at all (no loss, in this locale), it felt almost like some country cottage to us.

Bathtubs and swimming pools would be nice, but if amenities are a priority, you shouldn't even consider this place.

For the atmosphere and ambience alone, this gets my vote.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Shawn_Ang
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your stay with us and for taking time to wrtie us this wonderful review. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    589
    164
    60
    39
See reviews for
87
724
165
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The lobby is really striking when you walk in. Chandeliers, gold and red fabric. The location is nice, right by Chinatown. There's also a fair amount of bars, restaurants, outdoor dining very close by on club street. We had a free breakfast included and it was a good deal of either a buffet or ordering off a menu. Good coffee. Our room was at the end of a very long hall on the first floor that snakes down the hill. Just the right size for a couple. Very romantic! Minor quibble. The king was two twins put together and quite hard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Rohjay
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us a review! We hoped that you've had a wonderful stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Scarlet hotel in Singapore is attractively located in an historical building in China Town. The staff is very friendly and this contrasts highly with a lot of the very big and impersonal hotels this city counts. However, many of the rooms have no windows. When I asked for another room with a window, the only alternative was a room with a small glass pane in the ceiling. When i quizzed the staff on how to make sure that I could have a room with a window next time, they were rather elusive on that part. The corridors resemble a street and are also windowless. Imagine a power failure (or worse: a fire) in this building, you are completely disoriented as where to go. Both rooms I saw were absolutely cramped, once your suitcase is inside no more room for maneuver. The rooms are not in a perfect state as one could expect for this price. The breakfast was rather disappointing. The hotel is part of the Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) an I really wondered how they passed the test. When asking SLH about this on their FB website, my posts got immediately removed without explanation. Sure enough SLH is no guarantee whatsoever for a pleasant and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you really still want to stay there, I suppose you will need to take the more expensive rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear RinDK
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing us a review. For hotels converted from conservation building like The Scarlet, we have many restrictions which explains the different room sizes and configuration. It is stated on all portals that the standard rooms are without windows and that the deluxe rooms are with skylight. Rooms with windows are subjected to requests and availability. This can be found under each room description. Please be informed that all buildings in Singapore are subjected to yearly checks for fire safety and please be assured that our building is safe. We regret that you have found some aspects of your accommodation to be lacking and we appreciate your patience and understanding. We will be monitoring our room defects and an ongoing preventive maintenance have been scheduled to minimize such occurance. While we have received several compliments on our breakfast spread, we regret that it did not suite your liking. However, we wil continue to improve in this area. We hope that your experiences have not marred your impression of The Scarlet and do sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happy to advise a room category that best suites your needs and preferences. Thank you

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had three nights at the Scarlet before moving on to a large impersonal hotel for a conference. The staff were very friendly and wonderfully helpful. The room was great, although if I was staying again I would pay more for a room with a window. Breakfast was a delight - dim sum is much better than a British fry-up.
If we go back to Singapore I would have no hesitation in staying in the Scarlet again.

Room Tip: Check your room has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFC_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear SFC_Edingburgh

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for choosing us as your host for your recent visit to Singapore! We are pleased to learn that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and would also like to thank you for taking time to give us your fabulous review! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future stays and we'll be happy to assist you.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Spent two nights at The Scarlet Hotel and every part of my stay was perfect. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My room (a premium) was spacious and well appointed. Had plenty of charm and warmth. The bathroom had both a shower and bath. Plenty of toiletries provided. Towels large and thick. The bed is huge (king size) with great pillows and a firm mattress. There is a large screen modern TV showing a good range of channels. There is also a DVD player in the room. The hotel is exceptionally well located near Chinatown so you are spoilt for choice for food and shopping. While I did not eat at the hotel, the Breeze on the top floor looks fabulous with a great view and great ambience. I was very fortunate to pick up the room with a great online deal. Regardless I would have no hesitation to stay here again and will be recommending it to others.

Room Tip: My room did not have a window so if that bothers you, best check at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyaisiebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear babyaisiebarb

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for this great inside review! We are pleased to have been of service to you and do look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and i'll be happy to handle them personally! Have a great day ahead!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel was a real find. My husband and I incorporated it into our round the world travels as a bit of luxury after trekking in Vietnam and Cambodia. The Scarlet is full of charm and ambience, within Chinatown - the one part of Singapore that we felt had real atmosphere, and with great places to eat. The room was small but plush and comfortable, and the service was welcoming, even though we were dusty from our travels and flight, and carrying rucksacks! We were lucky enough to have a room facing the street with a window. I would stay here again as felt that it had a lot of character and was easy to walk into the city from here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TItravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear TltravellerLondon

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your great review! We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable stay with us and do sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and i'll be happy to handle them personally!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Love e uniform/costume of e hotel staff. Whole concept mimicks that of a dracular's dwelling. Std room is really small, do note dat if u book online via hotels website (eg cheaphotels.com), it is not true that 'some' rooms come with bath tubs. All std rooms do not have bath tubs. The room is fairly new and come with a DVD player with complimentary drinks from e mini-bar..toiletries are from Molten. Some of e rooms overlook the roofs of other building,do request for a wing with nicer view. For a boutique hotel and at its price, it's awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear PennySingapore

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your great review! All our rooms have standing showers expect the Premium room category and the Suites have bathtubs as well with our very own Flair products for the bathroom amenities. We hoped that you've enjoyed our complimentary welcome drink that is placed in the minibar before your arrival. Have a fanstastic week ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#82 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing