We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #51 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not a business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nice hotel for a holiday but not appropriate if you plan to hold business meetings there. It is 4 or 5 blocks away from the MRT station. The hotel is too small to have a taxi rank so waiting for a taxi can take more time than expected.

Unless you want to feel like you are in the centre of the party do not book a room with a balcony or near the jacuzzi!!! There is a hotel next door and it has a night club that is open until 4 am on weekends. If you stay in the rooms with balconies you will feel like you are right in the middle of the night club. People using the jacuzzi on the 2nd floor deck seemed completely unconcerned that people in the rooms nearby were sleeping at 2 am. I didn't get to sleep until after 4 am on Friday night and moved rooms first thing on Saturday morning.

The rooms aren't bad...they are pretty and functional. The staff is terrific-helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in an interesting neighbourhood-great for good street food and visiting the sights around the Chinatown neighbourhood.

Could be a fine place for a weekend away....

Room Tip: No to 305 or 306. No to 206 or 207. Rooms in the 230's are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyandRobinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    593
    167
    60
    39
See reviews for
90
730
168
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We only stayed one night, and had no complaints. The room was small but clean. The location was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall it was average, probably let down by the big price for the small room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princessipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed for two nights as a stopover between Australia and UK. Booked through SLH, and chose the largest numbered room (the suites are named), which was the right decision as we saw into some of the other rooms as they were being serviced and they were very compact! Our room was perfect, spacious with lovely bathroom, large tv, desk etc.. and the bed was super comfortable, the pillows amazing. No problems at all sleeping, we had windows onto the street but heard no noise and the air con kept the room very comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful, booking transfers to the airport and arranging complimentary late checkout as part of our SLH club membership. Our flight was delayed, so it was after midnight when we arrived, but we were still greeted with a smile.

The location is great, we'd recommend the airport shuttle bus service at $9 per person to get you dropped off at the door (for a larger group a private hire may work out better), as although there are MRT stations close by they would still be a bit of a walk with bags in tow. For exploring the city however, they are ideal. We loved Chinatown, the food was delicious and we bought loads of souvenirs and gifts. It was also walking distance to the other attractions of Raffles Hotel/City, Merlion, Fullerton Hotel etc... although its less effort to use the very efficient public transport system.

We loved our two days in Singapore, we highly recommend a visit (and if you have an awkwardly timed flight out don't worry about getting to the airport early there is a huge amount to do!), and we also loved The Scarlet!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a larger room.. they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Great hotel in Singapore - beautiful interior design with choice of bars and restaurants. Would recommend room with balcony as these are slightly larger than standard rooms.
Has small but functional gym and free wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Scarlet itself is a charming hotel in a great location in Chinatown with easy access to downtown. Our room in particular was a little worse for ware in need of a paint job and a shower refurbishment. We paid for the smallest room available so while the room was teeny- they really made efficient use of the space. I was impressed! We had a cute balcony that opened up the room a bit so it didn't feel as enclosed. The bedding is wonderful and you will get a deep and restful sleep - guaranteed. The bar/restaurant are very hip and happening as is Club street nearby. We spent 2 nights in Singapore and 2 nights on Sentosa and paid the same price for both hotels. The Scarlet was definitely the loser in the value for the price. That being said, I did poke my head into other rooms as they were being cleaned and they looked NOTHING like ours. They were spacious and beautifully appointed. So when staying here, make sure you know what room you are selecting:)

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in room 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Park-n-Rove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place has really interesting decor throughout and has the feel of a design hotel. Situated in China town there is quite a buzz about especially at night. Rooms are compact but with all the facilities you would need and thankfully air conditioning for the humid weather. Breakfast was buffet style and very nice. Lunch in the main restaurant was delicious with huge portions. Idea place for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel has a number of rooms without windows. They sell it at the same price of the rooms with windows, which is a very bad behaviour, and they do not let you know, until you enter your room and find it out yourself.

Room Tip: Request in advance if the room has windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandro c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#100 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing