We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little place where you can relax”

Merchants Wine Cellar
Ranked #513 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Merchants Wine Cellar is a friendly, Australian owned and operated wine bar/cafe/bistro. Open from morning till late, serving great coffee and brunch/lunch during the day, and wine bites and fresh, modern cuisine in the evenings. Merchants is unique in that it only carries boutique, small producer wines - no big brands. The winemakers are business partners and sell their handcrafted wine by glass/bottle and case direct to customers. The prices for our quality wine are far lower than anywhere else in Singapore as the winemakers decide the prices. Merchants hosts regular wine tastings and dinners when our member winemakers visit Singapore. Merchants has branches in Duxton Road, Joo Chiat Road and Pasarbella at Bukit Timah.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky little place where you can relax”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice wines from small, boutique wineries, nice snack menu. Buy a bottle of wine and sit outside and watch the world go by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloom_New_Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barossa Valley, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I found this great wine bar/shop while walking close to my Hotel (Amara). They do all day breakfast with other great food available till late, and the best thing was the price and quality of the wine they were selling. Very affordable for Singapore. A great place to sit relax and drink some fantastic wines or take back to the hotel room. I will certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great selection of wines by the glass + good food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a wine merchant + restaurant that stocks wines from smaller Australian and New Zealand wineries. Worth checking out for the wines alone. Decor is low key, the menu is simple, but good quality, the coffee is excellent and the location in 'old' Singapore is a big plus too. Look it up, you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amateur night”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Merchants concept is great in theory but not in practice. You go into their extensive wine cellar of mainly boutique Aussie winees, choose a $30 - $40 bottle that would cost $80+ in a restaurant and enjoy it with your meal. Frankly, my ideal place!
The execution, however, leaves something to be desired. If your specialism is wine it might be a good idea to have serving staff who know something about wine. We asked for their suggestion for a oaked Chardonnay (old fashioned I know) and I ended up reading the labels on the back with the server to find one - which was good, if more by luck than judgement. We spent most of the night watching bemused staff looking at labels on bottles trying to figure them out. Mind you they didn't emulate Jones The Grocer in Ion who gave me a glass of Pinot Grigio when I asked for a Pinot Noir!
To eat, we chose a medium rare steak with bernaise sauce & fries and a medium steak sandwich, also with fries. The steak came stone cold and almost well done and the sandwich was at best rare. Unusually for us we sent them back and they left one of the portions of fries for whilst we waited. The steak came back at best medium but with no fries so just a piece of meat staring at us on the plate. The steak sandwich was medium and returned with the original fries, by now cold. We did eventually get some extra fries which they tried charging us for.
Merchants are like some other restaurants in Singapore serving Western food, they don't train their staff, who were polite but knew little about what they are selling. In short if you fancy a good bottle of wine with some nibbles or share some cheese & meats, it's a good place after work. If, you are looking for dinner, you've got far better options on Duxton to choose from .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PXJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Amazing Cafe with great Ambience and Serivce”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

These people have great food, atmosphere and service. They were very friendly and helpful all day, when I had to find a "digital nomad" office in Singapore. they even remembered what I liked when I came back and brought out specialty condiments. You must eat here or have a drink!

Nick

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Wine Cellar also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Merchants Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing